We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Pari-Pari Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We just got back from 5 days on Langkawi. In advance, we just booked one night at La Pari Pari, because we wanted a nice beach resort with an ocean view - but couldn't decide on one based on online info.

Upon arriving at LPP we were actually pleasantly surprised by the calmness of the place, the super friendly staff and the great room (see all the previous reviews). After spending the night we rented a scooter and spend a day touring the island and checking several resorts. There were some good ones but none of of them matched the atmosphere of LPP, its great location or its stadd and we realized we wanted to stay there and didn't regret booking three more nights!

BUT, a few tips though as LPP is not on the beach and has a tiny pool.
1. rent a scooter (or a car). LPP staff knows the best place for this.
2. just go to a different resort each day. The best beaches are private, but if you say you come for lunch or drinks, they'll let you in and you can enjoy the resort! We especially enjoyed Tanjung Rhu Resort and The Datai. They both have superb food and the prices are much lower than you'd expect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Scheffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi!

Thank you for your review :-) We're a very small establishment, so it's always nice to know when we've managed to pleasantly surprise our guests :-) Am very glad you decided to extend your stay with us - we enjoyed hosting the both of you very much too!

We hope to see you back again some day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    101
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
102
156
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have been watching the progress of this new boutique hotel for some time so when we pulled up in our taxi I was intrigued to what we might find. My first impression was of a tranquil oasis set back from the main road of Pantai Tengah. We were greeted with big smiles and enthusiasm. We had changed our flight and arrived 8 hours earlier than we had told them but they were cool about it. So while the staff busied themselves getting our room ready Jeremy one of the owners of Fat Cupid (on-site restaurant) looked after us with genuine interest in our current trip and an endless supply of iced drinks.
We choose to stay in one of the Kingsize rooms which are at the far end of a row of 6 rooms. The room is very spacious and painted white inside and out which gives it a cool crisp feel. The rooms are simply dressed and uncluttered which suits the whole ambience of this mini resort. The bathroom was huge compared to many rooms I have stayed in and the walk in shower is more than big enough to share with your partner ;-) But beware the floor tiles can become alittle slippery when wet. The sink unit is made from cement and tiny black, grey and white stones which fits in with the theme. If you have small children I would be aware of the potential for sharp corners.
The mini terrace is enclosed for privacy which has two funky chairs and table so you can sit outside and listen to the birds, insects cows etc.. There is also a drying line under the eaves.
At the far end of the resort is a small pond and beyond are paddy fields and trees so there are plenty to see for wildlife lovers. At the restaurant end is a small pool and sun loungers.
The staff are very friendly and willing to help with every aspect of your stay, whether it be helping with your Malay Translation, suggesting a local restaurant, a good spa/massage or simply recounting their island life – the list is endless. We left feeling relaxed and that we had made some great new friends.

Room Tip: If you love wildlife ask for one of the end rooms (only 2) as you will be rewarded with plenty to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kawidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Kawidawn

Am so glad you finally got to stay with us. You have been one of the folks who has followed our progress closely and supported us through out the years it has taken for us to develop La Pari-Pari into what it is today, so it was a great pleasure for us to have a chance to share our dream come true with you and J.

We loved having you over, and hope that we don't see the last of you yet!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A really good place to relax, away from the crowds. Rooms are clean and new. There is a safe to store your valuables in your room. Not sure about what happened with rpmjunkie (see review below), but we got our towels for free when we requested for it after using the pool. We also got extra toilet paper on request. The pool while small, is sufficient for a quick dip - you are in Langkawi, head out to the beach for a real swim!

The staff are friendly and made the effort to prepare breakfast for us early the night before as we were checking out early the next morning. They were also helpful in helping us arrange for our scooter rentals, transport to airport and making recommendations on places to eat.

If you are looking for sumptuos buffet-style breakfast, look somewhere else. The breakfast here is simple, with toast, muffin and fruits (I must admit the muffin is delicious). This is an area which can be improved on but I understand their constraints as a small establishment.

The location is not very near to the main beach, about a 5 minutes ride to Pantai Cenang. But this quietness is what attracted me. In any case, you will not be able to enjoy Langkawi anyway without a vehicle, so renting a car or scooter will easily get you anywhere from La Pari Pari.

For now, this is still a fairly new property and I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in Langkawi. I just hope the owners keep up the good work and maintain this place well, knowing that many hotels in Malaysia started off well, but very soon became decrepit due to lack of maintenance and neglect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wai005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Wai

Thank you for your review.

We too share the same thoughts as you do with regards to our pool - its purely there just to enable guests who want a quick dip to cool off. Mother Nature's natural "pool" is hands-down to us a much more amazing choice for a swim, and it is within easy walking distance :-)

We certainly do work hard to maintain and improve our standards of service, so we do hope that if you come back again you will find our rooms, amenities and service levels on par with your previous stay.

While we note your comment on our breakfasts, we do try and keep the basic offering to guests simple as we try our best not to encourage wastage of any kind, in keeping with our ecologically-oriented principles. Folks who are a little hungrier have the option of ordering a full-service breakfast from the restaurant :-) We even offer a small discount for hotel guests who want to upgrade their morning meals :-)

We hope to see you back here again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

LPP is like going to a friend's place and they happen to have rooms for you to crash in... the atmosphere is fantastic - a delicate balance of warm and non pretentious service, yet with abundant electric charm! Where else can you wade in the pool, and request for 80s music while you cajole the staff to play charades with you?! And they actually accommodate! The rooms are very practical & comfortable, with large bathrooms that you actually LOOK FORWARD TO HAVING THAT SHOWER... when does that happen on a holiday?! The restaurant is so homely - food cooked to perfection. Thank you LPP for being simply awesome!

Room Tip: Don't worry about room locations. It's so well-planned that all rooms are in the 'premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaBugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear DaBugster

Am glad you had a good time at La Pari-Pari. The hotel and restaurant are in many ways home to all of us who work here and we like getting to know our guests - in fact, many have become friends.

As for charades... well, we must admit you two were a little hard to resist - after watching you both attempt a round or two of charades in the pool, it was kinda hard for us not to jump in and contribute! :-)

Do come back soon OK?? We miss you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed there few weeks back.

Pro's :
Large bathroom.
Clean rooms and beds.

Con's :
No toilet roll provided!
No toothbrush provided!
Size of a kids pool! It looks much smaller in size compare to the pictures.
No pool towel service! They expect you to RE-USE the towels for shower and would CHARGE for EXTRA towels.
Room aircond took a while to function.
OVER PRICE RESTAURANT!! Even kl serve's cheaper food for that kind of place.
LOUSY BREAKFAST! ( Only 2 piece of bread and butter, one muffin, a piece tiny piece of fruits ) that's all??? For the price they charge per room, you could get better breakfast at a motel along cenang beach.
Please do not stay in room no.6! It's creepy and scary because the rooms are facing the jungle.
The grass at the garden look like a jungle.

In conclusion, expensive! Overprice place! Un helpful! And secluded place. The place looks like white houses build on a piece of jungle.

Please don't be fool by the reviews below.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rpmjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We must admit, as a small, specialised accommodation choice, we may not be to everyone's taste. Generally, we are probably better suited to folks who want something different from the cookie-cutter chain hotels and enjoy natural surroundings a bit more than built-up concrete environments.

We are a little puzzled however as to why you were not provided with toilet rolls - we replenish those daily in every room and guests who require extras have always been obliged.

Re: the towels, please be advised that we are guided by our ecologically oriented principles, and this extends to our linen policy. While we change linens and towels every other day, to reduce water and energy wastage, we are happy to oblige guests requests for one additional towel change a day, as we understand that folks will want fresh towels after a swim. Any further requests are chargeable, as we want to encourage guests to make more considerate decisions during their vacation with us. We live on a small island, with very limited resources, so every little bit counts. It is very important to us that we help preserve the island's natural resources, as part of our way of ensuring that its beauty remains.

As stated on our website, every room comes with complimentary Continental breakfasts only. Again, this is to limit possible wastage - we provide guests with a standard Continental (toast, fruits, muffin, coffee/tea) and encourage those who would like something extra to order it from our a la carte menu. We try very hard to keep our rates competitive by offering the basic amenities and giving customers the option to pay for any extras they may individually require, instead of averaging the costs of a few customers' requirements at everyone else's expense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Tucked away from the road this little gem of a place really should be kept secret. If everybody knows about it it'll be fully booked when we want to go back.

Room Tip: There would not be much difference in selecting a room, they would all be equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumahputih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
We're sorry you only got to stay just one night too!!

I was actually looking forward to having a bit of a chat with you, as you were one of our first guests in the beginning of our operations. But I think my schedule didn't permit at the time :-(

I do hope you will come back some time, so we can catch up and I can say thank you properly to you for being so kind and staying with us in our early days :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Honestly, before my staying in La Pari-Pari, I suspected some of the great reviews for this hotel were written by someone related to this hotel. But after 2 nights staying there, I can say all those good comments are real!!

I fell in love with La Pari Pari in the first sight because of the relaxing atmosphere (white decoration, open air restaurant beside the swimming pool) & the friendly staff. Well, the word 'staff' did not describe best. They're more like my friends. After day of outing, sitting in the restaurant having a glass of cocktail, fish & chips & chitchatting with my new friends was the best moment I had in Langkawi.

Okay let me talk about the things that usually people concern when selecting a hotel. La Pari Pari does not locate right beside the beach, but close enough. Pantai Cenang is a small area so no matter where the hotel is you can't be too far away from anything in the area. The room is spacious & clean. The restaurant - Fat Cupid - is wonderful. No matter you live there or not, it worth to go just to have a drink or meal.

I'll definitely stay with La Pari Pari again if I go Langkawi again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKGTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at La Pari-Pari Langkawi, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hi!

The feeling's mutual - we too felt like you were our old friends by the time you left! :-)

We are glad we managed to make your stay in Langkawi a pleasant one and hope you both do come back some day!!! Either that or we'll just have to come and visit you! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
0.2 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
7.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
1.4 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
0.9 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pari-Pari Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pari-Pari Langkawi

Property: La Pari-Pari Langkawi
Address: 2273 Jalan Pantai Tengah | Kampung Tasek Anak, Pantai Tengah, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pari-Pari Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island of Langkawi, Malaysia, La Pari-Pari provides guests with the luxury of a secluded, intimate setting - right in the heart of the Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tengah district. Our hotel has only 12 rooms with private courtyards spread over one-and-a-half acres of lush gardens, ensuring guests can always count on the personal attention from our friendly staff and a peaceful hideaway to retreat to after a long day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your La Pari-Pari Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pari-Pari Langkawi Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing