We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Chocolatine

La Chocolatine
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Chocolatine is an authentic French Patisserie which serves breakfast, lunch and afternoon teas/coffees Our specialities, viennoisseries( croissant, pain au chocolat, brioche etc...) Quiches, crepes, sandwiches with our home-mede baguette are among others. We also make cakes, larges gateaux, savoury and sweet petits fours for all occasions For Christmas, we even make the famous French Christmas gateau or "Buche de Noel" (Yule log) and home-made chocolate During Epiphany period, we make "La Galette des Rois" the delicious puff pastries filled with almonds based creme..(Marzipan) At La Chocolatine, we only use quality ingredients, most of them imported together with our chef's know-how which give us our real high quality and of course authentic finish products. To conclude, we always strive to give our customers the best and the highest quality French food.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely selection of cakes and pastries. Freshly made rolls were delicious. Great value for an extremely nice lunch. Also free wifi which was a bonus. Highly recommend this little piece of France in Langkawi

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    134
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very French....and so is the owner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Mom saw this bakery on a nightly walk, so decided to try it...coffee's were good, croissants were exquisite, but the cheese baguette was incredible!
This is a must go to....if your in Langkawi.
The owner is very french...take that as you will...but I think it adds to the "French charm".

Helpful?
Thank Terri222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place is run by a French fellow, who does give off the air of being quite French--take that as you will. However, the food was good and the service was fine. We particularly enjoyed the chocolate mousse. The prices are a little steep, but if you're looking for a nice dessert treat or a place to lazily enjoy a cup of coffee, I'd recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wjcgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
서울, 대한민국
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing hidden jewel place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

All of items are great yummy and healthy.
Wifi is fast
Toilet was clean
You can choose cool air-conditioned tables or nice outdoor terrace.
Lovely shy kind staff and owner.

Look! There is no reason not to go and try there!!

Helpful?
Thank thisislonghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a Sweet Surprise.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Despite the overwhelming previous beautiful photos and gushing reviews, one wonders how many of them were from friends and associates of the joint.

For a start, there are tastier croissants in Cambodia and many other parts of Malaysia. Secondly, it is just a hole in the wall, another retirement project for a very tired Frenchman who refuses to acclimatise to SE Asia. Acting friendly and then putting on a superior air after the order and payment have been made is so post expat colonial.

In fact, the pastries, if one could still really call them that, on display screams BLASE and looks a tad old. The sweet snacks from the Pasar Malam in Kuah beat the presentation, prices and taste anytime.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jounaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chocolatine also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to La Chocolatine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing