We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden restaurant and friendly staff!”
Review of Sheela's - CLOSED

Sheela's
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful garden restaurant and friendly staff!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sheela's is slightly different from the usual beach cafe you will get in Langkawi, it is actually a restaurant in a garden. They served a lovely steak and drinks in a beautiful garden and they can get pretty busy in peak season so to avoid disappointment, is best to call ahead for reservation!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    70
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner in a nice garden”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Had the perfect dinner tonight in Sheela's nice garden. A good mix of Malay and international cuisine. Nice, relaxing music. And all this very reasonably priced. We paid 100RM for a good dinner for two, including wine and dessert.

A small remark: a liquor to go with the coffee would be nice. (Amaretto, drambuie, grand marnier etc). But that's the only thing! Other than that: more than perfect!

Helpful?
Thank DavedeBie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect ambiance”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The setting in this garden was lovely, the food was great and not expensive. We came back here for desert almost every night ;-). As it was my birthday nov 3rd they gave me a big slice of home made apple pie (candle included) and sang me a song, very sweet. Would def recommend to others and will come back to eat here.

Helpful?
1 Thank VSAMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Special occasion - special dinner.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We emailed Sheela's a week before travelling to Langkawi to book a table for our 2 year anniversary after reading good reviews on trip advisor and doing some Google searching. Sheela herself replied to my email which I found to be a nice touch. Sheela reserved us a beautiful table in her amazing garden and even kept us a back up table as the weather forecast suggested it may rain. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and, once again, the lovely Sheela herself.

After ordering some drinks, Sheela came and sat with us and helped us decide what to eat by suggesting several items and picking a few of the herbs for us to smell right there from the garden in which we were sat!

We started with the best chicken satay we have had in Malaysia so far. After which we moved inside because of rain. we were then served our mains and although I don't quite remember the names of the dishes I do recall that we decided to have fish and seafood as our proteins. Our food was propt and absolutely delicious. The balance of flavour and spice mixed with perfectly cooked proteins shows a true passion for the food and a real care and love for the dishes being served here.

After mains and a chat with Sheela (who is genuinely interested in how the meal is going throughout) we were treated to some perfectly executed chocolate fondants (which we are told will be making an appearance on the christmas menu)

After such an amazing meal I had expected to feel my wallet ache to be honest, but I was pleasantly surprised as the meal was far less than I had anticipated.

So overall, great food, great hospitality, great company, great scenery, great great great!

Thank you Sheela for making our experience a memorable once and we hope to be back soon!

To those of you who have left bad reviews after not having made a booking, here's a tip, make a booking!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a beautiful garden, friendly lady of the house”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a nice dinner at Sheela's. Between all the restaurants next to the road there is one restaurant in which you can sit in a beautiful garden. Even when it is raining, enter the place and walk to the end, where you can sit in the restaurant itself and have a nice view at the garden. Food is good. The lady of the house is extremely friendly and makes sure you feel welcome as a guest.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheela's also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing