We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hornbill Hangout Steps away from the Andaman Sea”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I used to sit in lovely wooden armchairs on the veranda of our room listening to hornbills squabbling in the trees above. That and the breakfast in the elegant open-air lounge were my favorite times at the Tropical Resort. At first, we regretted not to be on the sea-side but we got to appreciate the well-manicured and shady vegetation in front of our room on the other side. Everything at this hotel is simple but ultra-clean and optimally efficient. The free WiFi worked well in the lounge and even in our room (#6). The location of the Tropical Resort is excellent. In less than five minutes on foot (no road to cross), you reach Pentai Tengah beach and you can walk in the sand for miles. We did not stay long enough (4 nights) to see all that Langkawi has to offer but wherever you are on the island, whether you turn to the sea speckled with islets or to the mountainous interior, the landscapes are spectacular. Clearly Langkawi is developing very fast, but there is still some time before it becomes overbuilt. It is a treat to enjoy Langkawi at the delightful Tropical Resort!

Room Tip: At first, we regretted not to be on the sea-side but we got to appreciate the well-manicured and sha...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MinouBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 432 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is pretty much on the beach, which is not easy to find in Langkawi. It is about a 3 dollar taxi to the main area with most of the restaurants. The sunsets were amazing. The room is basic. There is a fridge and hot water in the shower. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFool88005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

First impression? It's ok , but give it another day and you will start to appreciate this small "resort".
Waking up and it's time for breakfast. The breakfast place is an open space between beautiful plants and friendly staff will ask you how you want to have your eggs. There is coffee, tea, bread,cheese fruit and cakes. Simple but you don't need more to enjoy your breakfast. Our room was at the back right in front of the walking pad to the ocean. Quite and after a day in the sun you could sit on your small deck and enjoy the sounds of the birds . Rooms are tiny, but clean.Across the street little store for beer,chips and liquor and other stuff, a very good restaurant and a little further you can bring your laundry to pick it up next day for a very small price.next door they just opened a new restaurant where you can taste the real Malaysian food but we did not have time to try it out. Rent a scooter, it's fun . Little walk, 5 minutes and you're in main street with tons of shops and restaurants.
So this is not a 5 star resort but we really loved it! So for us this was all we needed! One thing I did not liked was the junk on the beach ! The beach is with high tide very small but if you walk a little bit you will find some better spots. If we will visit Langkawi again we definitely will stay there again ! We stayed at the resort for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed only one night at this resort and loved it! Very warm and nice staff. Super close to the beach (have to blame the people and not the resort on how unclean the path to the beach is). Room was spacious enough, clean and comfy even had a small fridge. The garden around the rooms is very nice and gives a great atmosphere. Cute little geckos can be found outside the room at night :). The breakfast was great and tasty. Nice location since, although a bit secluded to keep it peaceful, is a short walking distance from many shops and restaurants. Overall great stay and no complaint would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeDee n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here in June 2013 as we were on our honeymoon and we were looking for a good but inexpensive place. Good location with a small beach located at the back of the hotel about 5 mins walking distance. Rooms were nice and clean, with AC and super fast WIFI. The main street with the market, restaurants and attractions are located about 5-7 mins away.

Hotel was very peaceful and the staff was nice and friendly. We wanted to book an extra night and we had contacted the owner directly before reaching there. He was really helpful and responded to all our queries over email. When we checked out and were prepared to pay for the extra night, we were given a very pleasant surprise that the extra night was complimentary for us. So thank you Tropical Resorts for a very nice stay in Langkawi.

Room Tip: you can get fast WIFI in your room if your room is close to the recreation area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samanda701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed in the hotel as the hotel was a bit out of the most happening market area, but still at walkable distance away. The hotel is very average hotel and breakfast is quite simple. No restaurant in the hotel, so you need to go out for food, except breakfast. No room service on call, as no phone line in the room.

The hotel doesn't have any private beach nor it has a beach front. You need to walk 150 meters through some bushes to reach to the beach. There is no proper way even to access the beach, and of course sea view room doesn't exist, as the sea is blocked from the hotel by another hotel and trees.

The water force from the shower should be fixed. It takes ages to wash soap from body with the provided shower.

The hotel staffs are cordial and happy to help with your query. That's the real good about the hotel.

The price is reasonable or may a bit expensive considering the amenities the hotel offers.
I would recommend this hotel moderately, neither very good, not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

TROPICAL RESORT
We spent 5 nights at this lovely accommodation which was clean quiet and more than adequate for a budget hotel. The location is fantastic at the Tropical, the beach on your doorstep, peace and quiet and the shops and restuarants a stone throw away. We booked two rooms facing the beach and had wifi tv fridge hot shower ceiling fan and air con. The air con is a necessity.All electrical sockets were UK style 3 pin so no need for travel adaptors if you are from the UK. You get a kettle and two mugs but no tea coffee sugar or milk. We brought our own and bought a small carton of milk .
Mosquito coils are put out by the staff every evening but we would still usied mosquito repellent.
The breakfast is served until 11 a.m. which was fruit, eggs, toast cakes and either noodles or rice.It is the same everyday, very tasty and adequate. There is no restaurant and no food is sold at the resort.
We hired a car from a place opposite the Hotel called Kasina for 126 MYR per day including insurance. There is also a small duty free shop opposite the hotel.
The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Special mention to Rosli the Manager who was very good humoured and a really nice guy. Musa the Manager also very nice.
The resort is situated on Tengah beach which is quieter than Cenang but still has parasailing, jet skis and banana boats for those who want it. The sea is clean – there is some rubbish on the beach at the entrance but nothing too outrageous when we were there.
Plans for a Malay Restaurant, shop and Pool are in the pipeline.
We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a good base to chill out and relax. It is without doubt good value for money and exceeded our expectations !

Room Tip: We had Rooms 19 and 20 and we were able to access good WIFI connection, right next to the path with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
511 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range: $73 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing