We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay for a budget trip to Langkawi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent stay for a budget trip to Langkawi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for three nights during a very busy CNY holiday weekend on Langkawi (January 2014.) Our experience was wonderful. The hotel is a set of duplex cottages, well-shaded and kept very clean by the staff. The breakfast spread is excellent: standard western fare is set out when it starts at 7:00, and they refresh those items while also preparing various local dishes during the breakfast hours. The reception desk is only open for 12 hours, but the owner of the property is available during breakfast hours as well. He and the rest of the staff were very kind and courteous on all of the occasions we had to interact with them.

We were doing this trip in a very cost-conscious manner, and decided against staying at an inclusive resort for that reason. The key to doing this sort of trip successfully is having a clean and quiet base of operations, and this hotel was perfect for our needs. Tengah Beach is much more conducive to laying out and relaxing than the busier Cenang Beach to the north.

This hotel is especially well-suited for travelers who are hiring a car or scooter: there is ample parking, and the street is quiet enough that you won't get stuck waiting for an opening to leave (unlike on the main drag that runs down Cenang). At the same time, you're close enough to the bustle of Cenang that it's a pleasant walk, especially in the evening breeze.

I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family in Singapore and would definitely stay there again if our travels return us to Langkawi.

Room Tip: If you reserve your room far enough in advance, ask for one of the rooms closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    166
    41
    9
    8
See reviews for
74
218
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

What a lovely place for a chilled holiday, the room was big enough the bed very comfy and plenty of hot water in the bathroom.
All the staff without exception tried to help when asked. Some of the cleaning staff spoke little English but still managed to meet our needs.
We were right next to the breakfast/reception area and were never disturbed by noise, we has neighbours in the next room but we could not hear anything through the walls.
There was a short walk to the beach and beach mats and towels were available at reception. The beach on some days had debris washed in by the tide, but toward the end of our stay there were workers out raking this up along the entire beach and it transformed the beach from OK to fab.
We had a TV but the all of the content was Malaysian. The fridge worked and kept the beers chilled.
We only stayed 5 night we did not want to leave and could have happily spent another week
Definitely on our must do again list.
We hired a car from Anuar (My Kereta Sewa) in the arrivals hall at the airport for 60 Ringit's a day, 30 Ringit's less that at the car hire booths, a cracking little car very economical.

Did not try the hotel breakfast, mostly ate lunch at the Tomato and bought our evening meals from the night markets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights and found this was best value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The owner was very friendly and chatted with us at breakfast and even took my husband for a drive in his expensive car. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trequanda, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I will remember the Tropical Resort as here I did an awful experience. It was in the second evening of my staying: as the WiFi connection was not working, I went to the reception just to enquire whether the router was switched on. The young receptionist seemed not to understand my question so that I moved two paces in the direction of the modem to show her what I meant.
Of course I touched neither the router nor anything else. In that moment the resort's owner came in and suddendly began to shout and offend me heavily. I tried to explain the origin of the problem but the man, clearly upset, was not ready to understand. All the more he became aggressive and stepped on my foot. His red eyes, his smell and breath let little doubts about his status. While muslims are supposed to refrain from drinking, the owner (a muslim) was drunk. I chose not to insist and left the hall leaving the horrible man and the astonished receptionist. The following day I checked out. Before leaving, both the receptionist and the manager came to apologise for all that had happened. The manager pointed out that the resort's owner has serious family troubles. True or not, I would sincerely recommend to avoid this resort which, by the way, is rather a modest lodge.

I'm seeing that other guests have had similar experiences.

Incidentally, I wish to add that Langkawi is a duty free island and some local people have made some money by smuggling cigarettes and liquors towards other Malaysian regions or abroad. During my staying there, I carried out some researches (always useful to my travel reports) and came to know that some resorts owners are in fact smugglers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marco z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a fortnight on Langkawi, and having started off with the budget option (Rainbow Lodge, not good) we decided to finish our holiday staying in some nice accomodation. We were drawing a bit of a blank until Tropical Resort came up on Trip Advisor. We got really lucky as they had a room available for the last 6 days of our holiday.
The resort feels like it was built quite recently and it is well maintained. Staff water the grounds daily and the rooms are cleaned regularly. The breakfast staff are cheerful and helpful and in the evening staff come round to put mosquito coils on the small terraces outside the rooms.
The location is good as well. It's a short walk to Pantai Tengah, and by short I mean about 200m. There's shops, restaurants and spas nearby, and Pantai Cenang isn't far. After about a week around Pantai Cenang it was nice to move somewhere quieter, especially given the amount of building now going on around Pantai Cenang.
There is cheaper accomodation available, but if you make use of the breakfast then I don't think there's much better value to be had.
Criticisms? The breakfast is limited to western food - a choice of eggs, cereals, toast etc. I doubt everyone would see that as a downfall though. Other than that it is very hard to find fault with the place. If your budget can accomodate it, this is a really good choice for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whats_for_tea_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Loved the location. A stone's throw from the beach, but close enough to all the attractions/restaurants and town centre. We needed to have a place that was private and quiet and this did the job. This place is not high end luxury, but comfortable. We were in the rooms by the beach, which were lovely. If you need wifi connection, then choose a room by the restaurant. We just needed peace and quiet. We didn't take the breakfast option as there were a number of place locally to have a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lankawi is generally more expensive than elsewhere in Malaysia for budget options so we decided to 'splash out' and spend 150RM a night to stay here including breakfast. It's in a great location at the quiet end of the beach away from the hustle and bustle of Pantai Cenang but only a short walk to the bars and restaurants when u need them. The owner and staff were lovely and friendly, they made us great omelettes for breakfast every days and cleaned our room and made our beds every day. It's only a short walk to the beach (less than 100m) and the sunsets are fabulous and the beach is clean. The chalet rooms are spacious with nice front porch seating area in a beautiful garden setting. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Property: Tropical Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing