We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly what any tourists need”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

the room was clean,complete basic amenities,large enough for two or maybe 3. expect no highly equipped gym or a swimming pool. very close to the beach.the surrounding was beautifull,clean and quite too. The staff was very helpfull and polite.Personally i found mr Rosli and his friends at breakfast was very friendly,professional and attentive. this definitely complete the 'feel like home' atmosphere during stay. The room rate is very affordable. Simply the most valuable resort to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haikal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Recently we had been to Langkawi for a short 3 days trip and had chosen Tropical Resort as our haven. The place is very conveniently located with a nice cafe just accross the road, car rentals around and a pretty decent market place within 10 to 15 minutes walk. Two things that impressed us the most were : 1.Warm and amiable staff, ever ready to help and 2.The perfectly serene ambience around the small cottage like rooms, we experienced the moment we walked in.

The Pantai Tengah beach which is a bit secluded and not much crowded ,is just two minutes walk from the hotel.

If someone is looking for a quiet retreat in Langkawi with basic amenities and within budget, then Tropical Resort is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the tropical resort from 2nd to 6th October.
This is the perfect place to stay in Langkawi for a budget stay.
Rooms were really clean, staff was really helpful (I accidentally jumped in a sea urchin and they helped by providing me lemon and trying to remove the spine from my foot).
They arranged the taxi very early for us and were there to make sure that everything was okay.
Breakfast is cheap and good.
The beach is one minute walking and it's very close to many restaurants.
I will definitely recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a simple, good and cheap but VERY CLEAN accommodation.
THANKS VERY MUCH to ALL tropical resort staff!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elenaweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

You are welcome Ms Elena. It is our pleasure to help our guest when they need. We are happy that nothing bad happen to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there on 2nd october.Great location and just nearby the famous Alun-alun spa.Topical resort guest will get a discount of 15% at Alun-alun spa! Room was so clean,complimentary breakfast,and the guy that served us breakfast was so friendly! Book through email and they did responded fast!:-) i did get a seaview room and it take only 5 minutes by walking to the beach.This place is quiet and suitable for couples.They did say that their resort is on renovation for family room and will be open next year! I enjoyed my stay there and will be back soon! :-):-)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yenosista_yen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We would be delighted to welcome you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay here - the rooms were really good value for money and right by the beach. It was in a nice quiet location but you didn't have to walk far for lovely food and shops. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the man who served us breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for the compliment. It was an honour having you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The resort is very nice and has its own beach (even though there are better ones in the next town). Due to the fact that its very cheap the rooms and the location are absolutely reasonable. A little bit odd was that I had to transmit my credit card details via phone and the manager. Moreover we asked to change the room from queen size bed to two separate beds and the manager answered very rough which was a bit disturbing. Neverthenless the hotel is worth its money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at on 21 September. I wanted to try it out as I booked another place 2 months in advance. Tropical Resort was 4 times more worth than the other hotel I booked (and a lot cheaper too). Everything was close: beach, cheap food, expensive food, shopping, etc -- all at a walking distance. I got 1-bar of wifi from my room -- but it doesn't matter when everything else fit into place. I had a rare occasion to make friends with a Hornbill that was playing at the tree near my room. All in all, will come and stay at the same place again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Manager at Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking a moment to provide your feedback. We really appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing