We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget place for family stay”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a budget hotel. So our expectation was a clean hotel with a nice bed! We got it!! Only if the shower is strong and wash basin is a bit bigger i would rate this 5/5.
Medium sized clean room with comfortable bed and ok bathroom. Hotel positioning was nice as it was very near to tengah beach. Also many restaurants were available within 2 minutes walk.
As we were travelling with kids, friendly reception staff provided us hot water kettle proactively. Also the garden inside the resort is properly maintain. In summary neat and clean.
If you are looking for a budget hotel you can stay here.
I would suggest the hotel authority to take care of the bathroom shower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank war_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This resort is just what they say about themselves, basic and clean. Location is great just a few seconds walking distance to the beach. The surrounding garden is indeed very refreshing. Staff are very helpful and cordial. Just one problem was that the shower has irritatingly low pressure. Other than that I must say it's an excellent choice in Langkawi for budget travellers. We truly enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pushpita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Loved Tropical Resort, great accommodation which was spotlessly clean with really lovely staff, when I asked if they had a kettle to borrow they delivered one within moments with a couple of mugs and teaspoons. Our bungalow was seconds from the beach which was great for a morning swim, beautiful sandy beach, although the water can be a little rough at times it suited us well. As our bungalow was also close to reception we were lucky enough for the wifi to connect from our room and balcony but there is a lovely library area with free wifi. Also discovered a brilliant French patisserie just across the road for breakfast and a very reasonable laundry. Will definitely recommend Tropical Resort and intend to book again next year. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed there only for 1 night but the room is really clean..Walking distance to beach, clean and we will come back for our next trip..Excellent for those who are in budget and want to experience staying in a nice comfy and clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adilah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great time there. The room of Tropical Resort was very very clearn. The floor was shiny like mirrors. and our room face to a beach. The beach was beautiful and clean, and offers many water sports.
the staff here are very nice and helpful. They were always willing to lend a helping hand. Our cell phone couldn't use local SIM card. When the manager here learnt that, he offered to lend us a cell phone to use during our stay! And the reception girl was very nice too. My 2 year old boy loved to play with her. Thanks to these lovely person and nice place, we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a good experience with this hotel even before I made the booking. I sent them a couple of emails asking for information about the hotel and local facilities and always received a prompt reply. We found the staff to be very helpful and polite. Our room was large and the bed comfortable. It was on the beach side and faced into bush so was very quiet. We enjoyed watching the birds in the trees and it was only a short walk through the bush to get to the beach. We walked into the main part of Pentang Cenang each evening for dinner. We hired a car so were able to drive to one of the breakfast cafe's at the northern end of Pentang Cenang each morning. The WiFi did not reach our room however we could access it easily from the library which is near the office. I even found that my iPad stayed connected to the WiFi for a short time after returning to our room from the library area. We were given a kettle and coffee cups at no extra charge and could had the use of an iron and ironing board if required. The water from the shower wet the whole bathroom floor hover this did not concern us because we dried our feet on the bathmat as we walked out.

Room Tip: Room on side facing the beach. Rooms closer to the office may be able to connect to WiFi.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I can't really fault the place at all. The location at the southern end of the main Jalan Pantai Chenang is actually beneficial. It is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the main Street, but walking distance from all of the shops, eating establishments and everything the island has to offer.

The staff are very friendly, service is attentive and met my every needs, the rooms are simple but has everything that I needed, very clean and most importantly about 50 yards to the nice sandy Tengah beach.

What more can you ask for based on the price you pay. Thanks and certainly would recommend theis to my friends if they were looking for a place to stay...

Oh lastly try the Alun-Alun spa next door - delightful too!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing