We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Resort Langkawi”
Review of Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tropical Resort Langkawi”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this resort in September 2012. The hotel is a great location but really needs redecorating.It could be so nice.There is no pool or tea and coffee making facilities. The TV was ancient.
The short walk to the beautiful beach is totally littered with rubbish.No one seems to be disturbed by this.i would have thought that someone would be assigned to collect it !
The linen and towels were so old I would have thrown them away years ago.
The entrance to the resort is lovely and the chalets could be made so nice with a bit of effort.
The property has such potential.It is sad to see it let go.
After two days we moved next door to Frangipani which is worth every extra cent.There is no litter there !! It was so clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback.

First and foremost, allow us to extend our sincerest apologies. It is indeed unfortunate that your experience with us wasn't a pleasant one.

That being said, we would like to point out we never claimed to have "a pool or tea and coffee making facilities."

Also, let us explain about the "short walk to the beautiful beach is totally littered with rubbish.No one seems to be disturbed by this."

Fact is, that land doesn't belong to us. Furthermore, we'd like to point out the "rubbish" that you meant were in fact: fallen dried leaves, twigs, small branches, animal droppings and grass.

Yes, admittedly the linen and towels have seen better days, but, to be fair, why didn't you mention it to me when I came round, to one of your rooms, to look at the bed that was allegedly broken?

Everything would have been sorted out without the slightest bit of fuss.

Interestingly you stated "..after two days we moved next door to Frangipani which is worth every extra cent." Our records showed that you booked through a third-party, 2 twin-sharing-rooms for 2 nights and left after those 2 nights. And, the every extra cent was in fact 25,000 extra cents.

Finally, thank you for stating that "the property has such potential."

And, the truth is that we are trying to live up to our potential. We are in the process of upgrading and renovating, and to keep costs down, we have had to do them in phases, and at snail-pace.

The good news is that 3 double-deluxe-rooms have recently been renovated and are ready for occupancy. But, the bad news is that we have another 7 to go.

Once again, we are deeply sorry that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    174
    46
    9
    9
See reviews for
83
227
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Tropical Resort is on Pantai Tengah, which is just a couple of minutes walk from the bustly Pantai Cenang. I was pleased to find the pretty resort in a peaceful location. The deco of the room wasn't great, but its got all the basics - a tv, air conditioning, hot water and a mini bar to store your duty free goodies. No mineral water, cups or kettle though. I found it pricey for RM150 a night for a basic room (queen sized bed) and no breakfast.

To access the beach you have to walk through some rather long grass in between some trees - the walk isn't far but its not very inviting. Once I got to the beach I was dissapointed to find it littered with plastic bottles. But the resort next door had a nice clean beach and lounge chairs and were kind enough to lend me a spot for sunbathing!

Service was friendly, the proprietor chatted with me and gave me some travelling tips.

Overall this place was only just average!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yo_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Regarding the price, please bear in mind that you booked through a third-party.

Regarding cups or kettle... for the time being, they are available upon request.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just wanna let people know that this is a great option for a place to stay slightly outside the main area. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. He dealt with any request in a friendly and efficient way.The rooms were basic and clean, hot showers with a clean bed. What more do you need? There are some good places to eat on the same road without going towards the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We will strive to be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The bungalows do have everything you need and are very clean. Although there is no breakfast included and no swimming pool or restaurant. You can sit in front of your bungalow and relax a bit. Furthermore the service is great. The guy who is running the place is doing a great job. The nicest and friendliest person we met.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamielE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We must constantly endeavor if we are to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My review is late coming even though I promised Shukri (the gentlemen on reception) I would post a review as soon as i got back to the UK that was back in April 2012 !.

If you are looking for 'resort life' - piano bar, gym, spa and conicerge then this is not the place for you. However if you are like me who wants to explore the island for all its beauty, discover different experiences then this place is perfect.

The Tropical Island Resort is exactly what it says on the tin ! its quiet; away from the noisy night clubs and bars but 5 mins drive away from the market, restaurants, shops and spa treatment parlours.

The rooms are large and spotless, cleaned everyday and AC is standard in all the rooms. Im very picky about cleanliness but had no complaints about the room and bathrooms.

The beach is a 50 mtr walk the thru a short shrubbed area, but its perfect for the kids to play on. Its a lovely stretch of sand and goes on for miles - no complaints about the beach. In fact its a better stretch than the beach at the 5 star Marriot resort.

There is a library in reception and wifi is free.

All in all its the ideal spot for a young family like ours, we had 2 chalets next to each other and the kids loved it. We spent a week and did different things each day from horse riding, to para sailing, cable car and eating out trying different cuisines.

A special mention goes out to Shukri a gentlemen and a scholar ! always at hand to provide tips and advice on places to eat and discover - Thanks Shukri and apologies for the late post !!. Arshad, Preston, England

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arshad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your glowing feedback. Better late than never.

We must constantly endeavor if we are to succeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Langkawi and we choosed the tropical Resort.
It was very simple (a small chalet) but clean and well situated. The receptionist was really nice, we spoke a moment with him. I recommand this place especially for the attractive prices.
Just a word about Langjawi Island : we didn't love it, beach was dirty and water not very clear. We advice you Perhentian Island or Tioman Island in the east cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We will strive to become better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This resort is quite nice, especially in terms of the location to quality eateries and the main Pentai Cenang strip (it's close enough to get the benefit but far enough away to avoid much of the crowds).

The proprietor, who I am assuming this person was, was very nice, friendly, and chatty. I'm also certain that if there were any difficulties these would have been solved easily. There was wireless and internet access but you can only do so from the reception desk, which I find to be better than having it in my actual room.

The rooms were quiet, clean, and tidied regularly. I would have liked more pillows but that's just me. I didn't ask for an extra pillow and maybe if I did they probably would have given me one.

The resort is quite rustic with some renovations. There is a cleared pathway through to the beach which is long but lacking cover. The vegetation around the rooms was packed with all kinds of wildlife so this was nice to sit around in the evening watching the birds etc.

All of this was very nice, however, the air conditioner wasn't very good and we had to leave it on all night with the fan to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

I also thought that the room was too expensive for what you got, and that's probably the main reason why I'm not giving it an extra star.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank conor_o_reilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalResortMan, Owner at Tropical Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you...

As for the pillows... yes, if you had asked, we'd have given you 2.

New air-conditioner units will be installed soon.

Although, the week that you were here, the weather was unusually too warm.

Thanks again for your candid comments... the kind we value most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Tengah
7.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.6 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.1 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
6.9 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Resort

Property: Tropical Resort
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Pantai Tengah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Tengah
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pantai Tengah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Langkawi
Tropical Resort Langkawi/Pantai Tengah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing