We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and Hospitable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Playhatch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Excellent service both in the hotel and the restaurant, food quality excellent. Only negative was the room whilst superficially clean would benefit from a thorough clean - particularly the bathroom. Should the occasion arise we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    154
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
92
312
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
yup_the_ace
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have been regulars at the Crown for the last few years and had a great stay as always. Had dinner with friends and it was really good, and the rate for the bedroom was an unexpected bonus. Even though there was apower cut in the morning, the staff made a fantasic effort to still serve us a lovely breakfast.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yup_the_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here after getting married locally and were disappointed. No allowances were made for us, not even to say congratulations. The rooms, well, they were a chalet out the back. Insects had made their home in there before us, the lampshade was torn to pieces, and when having a shower the entire bathroom becomes soaked. The duvet was far too large for the cover, so about 1/2 metre of it was sticking out the end. Basically, finishing touches were appalling. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4starhotellovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Have stayed at The Crown several times in the past but not for about a year until we stayed a couple of weeks ago. What a difference from our previous visits. The standard of the rooms, restaurant & bar have slipped considerably. Our room, particularly the bathroom, was dirty (toilet looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned for ages) & the sink plug was missing. There were cobwebs in bathroom & berdroom. The restaurant looked very sad & neglected - dirty walls, broken blinds & gruby chairs/tables. Menues were just sheets of paper printed off a computer & were dirty. One member of staff seemed to be doing all the jobs, ckeck-in, bar & waiter. Breakfast was awful - no toast or cereal and one disinterested waiter.
Redeeming factors were that it was only £55 for B & B & the actual food at dinner was OK. It is such a shame as we always looked forward to staying at The Crown but will not go there again even if it is only £55!
I understand The Crown is under new ownership/management & from what we observed they are not running it anywhere near as well as the previous owners.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suffolk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for best part of a week. Fantastic food, good rooms, found the staff and management extremely friendly and very helpfull. Made for a great stay during Henley Regatta week, brilliant option away from the madness (and very pricey) Henley hotels. Cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opsboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed there this weekend as an affordable option for visiting nearby Henley. Booked online at their own website and got a good deal, significantly cheaper than available by calling directly.

The pub itself is very nice and as other reviewers have mentioned the rooms are well designed and spacious. Unfortunately ours simply had not been cleaned adequately. There was a pool of sticky residue on the desk and the bath and shower recess were simply vile. Mildew, brown scum and other nameless staining caked onto the Walls, grout and fixings. I would find it hard to believe that sort of muck had accumulated from one previous guest so suspect the rooms are not cleaned well at all.

My wife found the bed itchy and is convinced there were bedbugs though we recognise that might have been anxiety post the bathroom experience.

To their credit we complained and they made an effort to clean the bathroom while we were out but were unable to do s properly as the hygiene standards have obviously been ignored for some time.

It is a shame because a the price available online this should have been a gem, one that we would have gone back to repeatedly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikandnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I booked The Crown for a long weekend for my parents to visit us. We needed somewhere local and I had visited here a couple of times for dinner in the past and found it to be very nice.
We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation, which was tucked out of sight around the rear of the building. Lovely modern clean rooms with a small private patio for each - perfect for my Dad to have an evening smoke without upsetting Mum or other residents!
They stayed on a bed,breakfast and dinner package and we joined them for dinner on the first evening. The food was out of this world.
We had main courses of fillet steak, house burger, sea bass and Thai beef all washed down with an outstanding Shiraz (Very Sexy Shiraz)
I would certainly go back here again and recommend it as a great venue for accommodation, food, wine and hospitality.
Five stars and a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playhatch
7.0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Property: The Crown Inn
Address: Foxhill Lane | Playhatch Nr Reading, Playhatch RG4 9QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Playhatch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playhatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 17th Century country inn with an excellent restaurant close to Reading and Henley on Thames. Set within the grounds of the Crown, the well appointed contemporary rooms offer a relaxing and peaceful nights sleep with the added advantage of an excellent renowned restaurant and bar just a few steps away. All rooms have full en-suite facilities and large flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Playhatch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing