We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncrowded waves, epic staff, delicious food. GO NOW.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Sandino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Uncrowded waves, epic staff, delicious food. GO NOW.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the place to be if you're thinking about taking a trip to Nicaragua. If completely uncrowned waves, off-shore conditions and beautiful tropical weather doesn't convince, I don't know what will. Josh and staff at PSSR make your trip absolutely worthwhile. They are constantly customizing each and every day around your wants and wishes- taking you to secret spots, epic barreling Freight Trains, and racing lefts outside their front door. Oh and the food- deliciously satisfying after being surfed out. No shortage of food and beer there. They're also extremely accommodating to non-surfers as well- giving surf lessons and doing adventurous land excursions. Can't wait to go back- I honestly wouldn't go anywhere else in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtynhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
6
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The staff at PSSR had the experience of Nica down. We were surfing everyday-eating bomb meals-heading intown for steamy salsa. And the surrounding areas rural landscape is beautiful. I know where I'm going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfriedman009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love everything about this place and miss it dearly already. Can't say enough about my wonderful experience there. Josh and staff were awesome and took care of me every step of the way from airport pick up to getting me to the best surf spots to keeping me entertained throughout my time there. Chef Paolo is excellent and the food is healthy as well - always a plus. The cost of everything was very reasonable too and once you're there, extras such as beer are cheappp!

Now the other important bit - the waves! 4 different breaks all within walking distance and all super rippable and barreling. The gem is the 5th, Freight Trains, one of the longest, consistent lefts you will find. There are few surf spots in this world where I think you can experience offshore winds all day and just about everyday. I was easily surfed out everyday and wished I could keep surfing because the waves just kept coming.

Had the time of my life and will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Best room in the house is the private room up front with a view of the ocean. Check out the dorm roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The rooms get an average score, but you wont be needing much but a comfy bed which it has. This is only because you arent paying to stay in doors. Theyre still nice but its no 5 star. I like to rough it yet it was far nicer than roughing it entails. It was comfortable and had a great view, and ac when it was hot. The workers worked their tale off to accomodate me, yet still found a way to be my friends in the process. Surfing knowledge and recommendations for conditions were top notch. Totally recommend this spot to anyone. Even had time in between swells to see some sites. PSSR went above and beyond, were extremely professional, made me feel safe in a foreign country, and kept the stoke instilled in me each day. I totally recommend, this location to any man, woman, or child!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j12wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

excellent trip, the resort is very clean and confortable. excellent food and cool beer. the owners are very great people, and all efforts were made to atend us. all day they put the boat in the sea to go surfing, with all included in a cheaper taxs. congratulations for the beautiful and amazing dog, named hungers, that lives there. excellent waves, salinas and puert sandino. i recommend, thanks for all josh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luiz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great place, good food and nice people, fells like at home.
The house is very well located and the area is quiet and safe.
All of the team is very kind and all of the time are looking at you.
I recommend, if you are comming to Puerto Sandino don't forget to contact Josh Orwig!

Room Tip: Ask the beach view ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I could not have had a better stay! Great accommodations, amazing food and Josh and his crew were beyond knowledgeable and hospitable. We were only going for a couple of days but ended up staying the week. We scored great surf (Freight Trains via Josh's boat and the numerous beach and reef breaks within walking distance) as well as a few cool day trips in and around Leon. If you're looking for fun and easy, PSSR is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Sandino
19.9 mi away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
22.3 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#11 of 15 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
9.5 mi away
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
Somar Surf Camp & Lodge
#1 of 1 in Salinas Grandes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
SOLID Surf & Adventure
SOLID Surf & Adventure
#2 of 4 in El Transito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
23.1 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#2 of 10 in Las Penitas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
22.3 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Sandino Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Sandino Surf Resort

Property: Puerto Sandino Surf Resort
Address: Calle Principal Miramar, Puerto Sandino, Nicaragua (Formerly AST Puerto Sandino Surf Resort)
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Puerto Sandino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Sandino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all inclusive and a la carte Nicaragua surfing experiences. We are the best value in Nicaragua. Great staff, accommodations, and waves! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing