We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Milwich, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janfrankb...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed two nights for special birthday treat for two friends... Seven of us in total! what a delightful place.....ticked the box for everything you could possibly want....we wished we could have stayed longer.. David the owner very pleasant and welcoming.... Lovely little pub just down the road and surrounded by beautiful countryside....did a lovely 4mile walk around Millwich...and called in at the church just up the road which is well worth a visit... They were preparing for the harvest service...Stone 4 miles nice eating places bars pubs....very few nice shops though....Stafford 8miles...used Taxi service from Stone...finished the weekend off with nice Sunday Lunch in Stone...ideal weekend away....great place ...highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely secluded secure property
Liked least: Lack of downstairs loo!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arounce81
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The best holiday yet! There was 9 of us. 4 adults and 5 children that were aged 1, 3 and 6 years. The cottage had everything we needed and if we need any help David was always around to help. Lovely touch with the fresh eggs every morning. The place was really clean and loads of space for us. The children especially loved all the outdoor activities that were available. The adults loved the hot tub in the evening. The kiddies didn't want to leave and said it was the best holiday yet. Thank you David for making our holiday so special. Hopefully see you again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review, we are absolutely thrilled that you had a fabulous holiday at Squirrel Barn. It certainly sounds like it was a great place for all the family, with something to keep all ages happy, and we must admit, fresh eggs to start the day and relaxing in the hot tub to end it sounds perfect! We certainly hope you all make a return visit soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John2739
1 review
“Hen party”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I had a fab weekend with the girls at squirrel barn the barn itself is absolutely amazing thank you so much David for all your help with any questions we had. I ended up staying for an extra couple of days where my husband and children joined me. There was plenty of things for our children to do they even had a go in the hot tub as we let it cool to bath temperature, swing ball in the garden and plenty of other games to play thanks again will hopefully have another trip here one year and would definitely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curlyhair...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great week away”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from squirrel barn. Fantastic time away with the family. Barn has plenty to do on site, lots of Garden games and a play area for the kids (2 & 4) they loved the sand pit.

The scandanavian wood fired hot tub was fantastic for the adults to relax in after busy days, and great for the kids to cool down after being out. This was their favourite part of the barn!

David the owner was on hand for any questions we had, and was very helpful.

Phone signal is poor at the cottage, however with a good wifi connection you can still make calls and keep in contact with the outside world!

In a small village, with a local pub 100yds away, visited for lunch and sat in the garden had a lovely afternoon. Locals were all friendly.

We fitted in lots whilst we were away as the location meant we were within an hour of lots of attractions. Twycross zoo was fab and on a sunny day the water park kept the kids entertained and cool for a while.

We visited Alton towers and CBeebies land which was great, again lovely weather and just outside of school holidays so queue times not too baD.

Fab holiday lovely cottage and lots to do in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lis197420...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen Party Heaven”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Brilliant location if you want a proper catch up. Plenty of room and to a high standard. Dave the owner was very welcoming and explained all, also helped set up hot tub which was amazing once cooled down as we got it too hot! Location not far from Stone for meal, not sure what locals thought of 10 dressed up hen's though. We will defiantly return in the future.

Only real bad point was no phone reception so struggled to make contact when we first arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: no network reception
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at Squirrel Barn, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your girly catch up there. The hot tub sounds like it added that extra bit of luxury to the occasion too, what a way to unwind! We certainly hope you make a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just got back from a week at Squirrel Barn. Lovely barn with hot tub on deck. Fantastic. Great children's play area, safe and well equipped. My 3 year old granddaughter loved it. Lovely family kitchen for congregating in. Had a great week. David, the owner, was very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic hit tub
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at Squirrel Barn, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like the property was a great place for all the family, especially with the play area for little ones to let off steam! We certainly hope that you return to enjoy it all over again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing