We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Raspberries in just about every dish - Yum”

Christmas Hills Raspberry Farm Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Elizabeth Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Raspberries in just about every dish - Yum”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perfect cafe to drop in for morning tea or lunch. Part of a big raspberry farm and right on the highway.

We had a raspberry waffle and a raspberry crepe, both also came with raspberry ice-cream and fresh raspberries. The coffee was also excellent. We enjoyed a prime spot in front of the open fire.

We would love to also try their lunch menu next time we are travelling in Northern Tasmania.

Don't go if you don't like raspberries!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank horsefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    184
    51
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice enough but not anything overly special”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived in Tassie just after lunch and it had been recommended that we stop here for lunch. It's about a 3/4 hour drive from the airport if you're heading West so a good place to stop. Its a very pretty place with outdoor tables, lawns, and walks around the farm. We chose an indoor table but in the glassed in verandah area and it was lovely and sunny, very pleasant. the staff were very friendly and helpful, they also assisted us with directions when we left which saved us quite a bit of time on our journey to Strahan.
My husband had a raspberry milkshake which he said was really good. I had hot chocolate with raspberry which was quite tasty but nothing over the top.
My husband chose a cornish pastie which came with some salad. I had the scrambled eggs with sweet potato hash browns and bacon and onion jam. The hash browns were so saturated with fat I couldn't finish them and I suspected the bacon also may have been deep fried. The eggs were creamy and tasty but it really was a cholesterol overlaod. We didn't have room for dessert which by reading the reviews may have been a pity.
We purchased some raspberry jam and sauce to take home. The jam's nice but the sauce is really really good. Wish I had bought more!
I also sampled their chocolate coated raspberries on the way out, also really really good.
Worth a stop for lunch and especially if you want a walk in the garden and farm, but nothing to rave about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A little disappointed this time”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Christmas Hills is always our first stop when arriving in Tasmania and today was no different. Service was excellent with the waitresses looking like they enjoyed their job, even when cleaning tables there was a smile. However, although the food I ordered was very nice ( scrambled eggs with sweet potato hash browns) it was what I would expect to find in any reasonable cafe anywhere. So my lesson from this and remembering previous visits - order anything with berries!!! That's when you get the really good food! Prices are very reasonable, service good, big open fire, and the raspberry Hollandaise I ordered on the side was ' to die for!' Shame they don't bottle that for sale! as I said, good food, good service, friendly staff, but if you want great? Order anything with berries!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Enjoyed lunch here a few days ago. Nicely located, efficient staff. Great stone fireplace, not on when we were there. Very child friendly. Obviously well known on the tourist foodie trail. Good range of menu options, nothing gourmet, but fresh salads included. Extra points for not offering hot chips or soft drinks, raspberry/ apple refreshing 'soft drink' juice is lovely. We ordered 4 mains (ribs, lamb wrap, chicken salad, chicken burger), 2 wines, 2 milkshakes, 2 coffees, 1 drink, 4 desserts.. total less than $150. Good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overrated but nice”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Super slow service, a bit pricey but nice anyway. The $13 large raspberry crepe was just a crepe with plain fresh raspberries and ice cream, a bit sour. Nice atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank JTinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christmas Hills Raspberry Farm Cafe also viewed

 
Elizabeth Town, Tasmania
 
Elizabeth Town, Tasmania
 

Been to Christmas Hills Raspberry Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing