We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class friendly Turkish Restaurant”
Review of Kusadasi Taverna

Kusadasi Taverna
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Rainham
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
upminster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top class friendly Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

You do not expect to find such a fabulous restaurant in this part of the world. Entering via a kebab shop and going upstairs does not fill you with confidence but once inside a wonderful experience begins in this very friendly family run establishment. Busy at weekends but more room midweek, the dishes are extremely tasty and well cooked. Drinks range is not vast but this is acceptable given the quality of the food. This is a regular for our family functions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great evening”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Really enjoyed our Saturday evening at this restaurant. The restaurant was full but the service was efficient and friendly. The food was excellent and served piping hot. I am vegetarian and there was plenty of choice for me, as well as for the rest of my family. The belly dancer gently persuaded a couple of diners to join her on the dance floor but there was no pressure if they didn't want to! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiegee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This makes you ashamed to be Turkish”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Only good thing you will get here is friendly face. The worst turkish food i ever had and yes i am turkish! Just go to your chippy instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and a good selection”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Being a coeliac I can find it very difficult eating out, however the Kusadasi had a good selection of food that I could choose from. We will be back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfoale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Upstairs downstairs.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm surprised there have been no reviews of this popular Turkish restaurant before,it's been running for twenty years now & whenever we have been it's always busy.
The entrance is via the downstairs Kebab shop & is a bit unprepossessing,but once up the stairs and into the first floor restaurant it's much better.
As it's the run up to Christmas there were mainly large parties (we were one of them) but the service was still friendly and efficient.
All the usual Turkish food such as meze,slow cooked Lamb shank,kebabs are on offer,so quite a bit of choice.
On a saturday night they have a belly dancer,which is great fun (not that I was looking of course)
After dinner it's all onto the dance floor,no rushing you out so a second sitting can be fitted in here!
This is a good venue for families or groups of friends & booking is definitely recommended.
There is a flight of stairs to negotiate,so perhaps not suitable for the elderly,& young women with high heels need to take care when leaving,after a "few" drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigworldsmallwallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kusadasi Taverna also viewed

Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Upminster, Greater London
 

Been to Kusadasi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing