We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great, and not really lobster” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At the seashore the giant lobster makes appointments with mermaids and Landlubbers. He waves his large claws, attracting the desire to be in the company of starfish and lumbfish. The village's corrugated iron houses, located just above its harbour, smack of ocean fragrance and seahorses. The village is named Stokkseyri and it sits just sixty thousand metres from Icelands capital, with a view of volcanoes, the ocean and endless hayfields. Under the stars, an even more important journey takes place - across salivating tongues, beautiful stomachs and joyful minds...
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but not great, and not really lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped for lunch at this reastaurant; did not need a reservation. The speciality is NOT lobster but langoustines, about one ounce each.
A few of them were mushy. They tasted good but do not compare to real lobsters,
If you're not really big eaters, for two persons, consider sharing the soup as a main course and 400 gr langoustines (about 15 pieces) with trimmings. If desired, desserts (which were not that wonderful) a la carte. This would save you almost $40 compared with two 300-gr menus, and dining is quite expensive in this country.
The young service team was very friendly.
Would stop here again - the south coast of Iceland is wonderful. - but would not make a special trip to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    121
    40
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akranes, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great soup!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the three course meal, which included the lobster soup as a starter, lobster as a main and then you could choose from an assortment of cakes for dessert.
The starter was lovely, very nice lobster soup and I wished I had that as the main course.
The main was a disappointment for me, the lobster wasn't very exciting flavour wise and it hadn't been opened to clean it so the first thing you had to do was to take the dirt away before eating it.
My husband enjoyed the flavours more then I did though.
We chose the chocolate cake as a desert and the staff were friendly enough to let us have it as a take-away since we had our 3yr old with us which didn't share our interest in sitting and eating a lovely meal. I also thought it was a little bit on the expensive side, given I didn't enjoy the food more than I did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ide86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just... wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was good - not excellent, perhaps, but good. The thing is, that doesn't matter at all. Because the langoustines here - we had the ones simply cooked in butter, garlic and parsley - are probably the best you will ever taste. Anywhere. The rest - salads, potatoes, couscous - was fine, but to be honest, most of us barely touched anything except the langoustines and bread (for dipping in the sauce once the langoustines were finished). Definitely worth the drive out from Reykjavik (45 minutes or so). Would go back in a hear beat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Lobsters ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had the lobster soup, which was delicious. We then had the 400 gr of tail lobsters sauted in garlic and butter for two, those were the best lobsters ever, perfectly cooked, it was just amazing. The trimmings though were not at the same levels, would not recommend them. Would come back to Iceland only for the lobsters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andromedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lobster tails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been recommended by an Icelandic friend, did not disappoint. Soup was good, lobster tails excellent! Service was pretty nice compared to some other places we went. We got there early for dinner around 6pm. Got quite full by 7 so would recommend calling ahead for a booking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VanTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Selfoss, South Region
Eyrarbakki, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing