We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobsters ever”
Review of Fjorubordid

Fjorubordid
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stokkseyri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $90
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the seashore the giant langoustine makes appointments with mermaids and landlubbers. He waves his large claws, attracting the desire to be in the company of starfish and lumpfish. The village´s corrugated iron houses, located just above its harbour, smack of ocean fragrance and seahorses. The soup is magical. It is suitable for numerous occasions and happy moments on ordinary days, but Fjöruborðið takes no responsibility for consequences or stirring adventures that could result from ingesting it. It has a will of its own and, as such, it is risky for those who don't want to venture beyond the average. This is the most famous langoustine soup in the Republic of Iceland, prepared by handsome cooks who step naked out of the ocean at Stokkseyri with their catch.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Lobsters ever”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had the lobster soup, which was delicious. We then had the 400 gr of tail lobsters sauted in garlic and butter for two, those were the best lobsters ever, perfectly cooked, it was just amazing. The trimmings though were not at the same levels, would not recommend them. Would come back to Iceland only for the lobsters!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andromedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    131
    47
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lobster tails”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been recommended by an Icelandic friend, did not disappoint. Soup was good, lobster tails excellent! Service was pretty nice compared to some other places we went. We got there early for dinner around 6pm. Got quite full by 7 so would recommend calling ahead for a booking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality food and a cozy location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went for dinner and left totally satisfied. Fresh food and good seasoning. The three course menu is very generous, no worries about about small portions. The soup is great as well. (it comes with the three course menu as well).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was top of my list of Icelandic restaurants because of the guidebook recommendations and the reviews here. So at the first opportunity, we drove from Reykjavik, booking for lunch along the way. It was just as well, because a large tour bus pulled up just before us, taking up one dining area. We were in the hall with the large whale on the wall. The four of us ordered 2 three course lobster meals and topped with with two more soups and more lobster. Service was cheerful and timely. The soup was good and tasty, but no epiphany. The mini-lobster tails, looked and smelled delicious and indeed they were - some of them. Too many were mushy - I guess from bad freezing. Some were nice and firm, (not ultra fresh and sweet like steamed live prawns, or chilli/pepper crab as I don't think they are kept alive until the point of cooking). Others were in between. This lobster roulette took away some of the enjoyment.

Dessert was very decent and the portions are huge. I decided not to take our friends who were flying in later that day for a return visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kuaychap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deliciuos lobster soup”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were recommended to visit Stokkseyri and have lobster Soul with extra lobster at the Fjorubordid. The food and the service was far above our expectation. Very friendly and service minded staff. The soup and the lobster/ creyfish were exellent and must be tried if you visit this little place. Definetly worth a drive from Reykjavik especially if you do like we did. Prior to visiting Stokkseyri we drove to Hveragerdi and hikied for about 1 hour and enjoyed the warm creek (about 37 degrees) in fantastic sorroundings. The tourist office in Hveragerdi is very service minded and will provide necessary guidance/ information prior to the hike.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esvaStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjorubordid also viewed

Eyrarbakki, South Region
 
Eyrarbakki, South Region
Selfoss, South Region
 

Been to Fjorubordid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing