We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It may be small but The Eating House is big on quality, choice and service.”
Review of The Eating House

The Eating House
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Calver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at The Eating House we believe in offering high quality food in a homely, cosy environment. Whether you love traditional British fayre or have a taste for something more modern you will find something to delight your taste buds on our menu.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a lovely surprise. Fantastic food, with that home cooking appeal. But don,t be fooled, there are some fantastic flavours going on. The kedgeree was delicious, the rice just perfect. Had to try that lemon meringue too! And those speciality coffees! Staff were lovely. Thank you so much. Will be coming back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuartc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Small but outstanding. Home made food at its best. Sandwich meals with all of the extras. Yummy Cakes and scones. Oh and good prices. What else do we want?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iansheffield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Excellent choice of fillings for jacket potatoes. Salads always excellent with good dressing. Changing range of mains and cakes and traditional tarts and pies.

Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We walked in mid morning and we were all thirsty, however on seeing the large selections of cakes on offer, we were now hungry and spoilt for choice. The specials on the blackboards looked very inviting, so a definite revisit is on the cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tilley057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Usually excellent however today I asked for a scone with clotted cream and jam with a cup of tea. The scone was a little on the flat side and the cream was whipped not clotted (I was not told that this would be the case) still tasty but unfortunately not up to the usual high standards although I didn't recognise any of the staff today (21/12/13) so will be back to give them the benefit of the doubt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank knitteronwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LydiaAnn, Manager at The Eating House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Hello! And sorry for my tardy reply!

We were disappointed when we read of your experience back in December. About the cream, we never keep clotted cream in stock as we don't sell enough and we end up throwing a lot away (or eating it ourselves! And that is no good!) You certainly should have been informed that it would be whipped cream, and I can only apologize that you weren't.

The staff on the day were a mixture of part time holiday relief staff and a new member of staff, due to full time staff sickness. The new member of staff is no longer with us.

I do hope you have returned to us since posting your review! And that if and when you did you had a lovely experience! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eating House also viewed

Calver, Hope Valley
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing