We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortably and Relaxing”
Review of The Eyre Arms - CLOSED

The Eyre Arms
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Comfortably and Relaxing”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We dined at the Eyre Arms after spending a day wandering around in the cold. The bar was very warm with its open fire and most relaxing. The lady at the bar was very friendly and the service was great. The food was standard pub fayre.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    44
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“amazing”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

we pop into this pub last week. was greeted wi a very warm welcome. was seated at a top in the reaturant and was served all night frm v table. the food was amazing. the staff coundnt do enough for u. one of the best pubs iv eaten at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123kimberli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tough Luck!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stopped here as it looked a nice pub from the outside. Ordered a Sirloin Steak and Beef & Ale pie. Pub was fairly quiet and service was quite slow. Steak came out sizzling & hot. This turned out to be the toughest and most inedible steak I have ever tried to eat. Having complained I was told there would be no refund, not even any discount. They offered me a pudding which I refused or a glass of wine which I couldn't accept as I was driving.
They tried to defend themselves by saying the steak was medium in the kitchen and must have continued cooking on the plate?!
Would not recommend this pub to anyone, ever!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unfriendly, nice building - poor service and food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My 9 y.o. son and I today popped in for a pub meal, driving back home from Manchester way. The building looked nice, inside we were shocked to see a large board-warning "NO CHILDREN BEYOND THIS POINT" - extremely unwelcoming! However, there was a "families with children" area at the back, which we were sent to, it was poorly lit, cold and empty. I asked the lady at the bar if we could still sit at the main area, as it was well lit and much warmer with not many visitors in. She insisted we sit in a "depressing" area - at that point we should have left, but we had to eat. We ordered a quick soup and a pot of tea - both were awful. We felt completely alienated while there, left with heavy feeling. I will not recommend this pub, and will never, NEVER go near it again. Could be such a nice place - a total waste of a building! :(

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The food here was awful, we left after the main course to get pudding in another pub because it was so bad! Would never revisit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaatiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eyre Arms also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing