We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad meal and won't be returning”
Review of The Eyre Arms

The Eyre Arms
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Calver
Price range: $9 - $26
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad meal and won't be returning”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

To be fair, our visit was around 5 p.m. and possibly the outcome might have been completely different had we visited in the evening. The food was disgusting. Chicken breast cut up into small slices and impossible to cut, cauliflower swimming in water, brocolli which had lost all its colour and completely overcooked. Only the potatoes were edible. Will definitely not be giving this place a second visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    46
    20
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Called in for a meal on arrival in Derbyshire - food was very very tasty and delicious. Very friendly staff and good atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Opps Wrong Pub”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stumbled across this pub while looking for The Eyre Arms Hassop 2 miles up the road closer to Bakewell & discovered our mistake on the way home. We found this pub to be OK for what it is but not what we were looking for to be fair. Don't make our mistake, if your after an old fasioned pub serving all home cooked food this is not for you. I wonder how many reviews on here are for the wrong pub.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gsjsrlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice traditional pub”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely old traditional pub with good pub grub, charming hosts.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nige911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food with a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The food and service is excellent. The choice is vast and everything is cooked fresh, using excellent ingredients.

The family room and play toys keep little ones happy and everyone makes you feel very welcome.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank PinkSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eyre Arms also viewed

 
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Eyre Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing