We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On!”
Review of Derwentwater Arms

Derwentwater Arms
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Calver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Derwentwater Arms is a warm & friendly Pub / Restaurant set high in the village of Calver it has great views of the surounding peaks and edges.It is set back from the main road in the 'old' village, a real hidden gem.
Rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the cottage next door over the weekend of 22nd - 24th November and booked a meal on the Saturday.
Service was excellent, food was amazing. Best steaks myself and my Father in law have had in a long time. It's nice to get a steak exactly as you have ordered it. All meals ordered on the night were spot on! Many Thanks.
Children were well catered for and we had a lovely evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    60
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PERFECT PUB!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I love this pub, had a few meals here now after staying at a B&B down the road. The food is gorgeous - great choices and really well cooked, the atmosphere is just right and the staff are really friendly.
This is the perfect pub to go to. If only it were my local!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very disappointing restaurant”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times, the food as always been very good. This visit was very disappointing, when the food came it was virtually in edible and was sent back. The chips were stale just as if they had been reheated for a previous day, the crab cakes and the fish main course were disgusting. The only good thing was they gave us the money bak for the disgusting main course. We will definitely not be going back..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Derwentwater - a great village pub”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Calver. Good to see a village pub used by the locals (it won't survive otherwise). Had a few pints in there one evening. Booked for an anniversary meal the next, base don some good reviews, and the fact it was a short stroll home. We could not have found a better place. Excellent food. Good service. Really good value. A nice mix of food pub and drinks pub. Go there if you're in Calver. Go there if you want a good meal and fancy a drive over.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nealdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second visit to The Derwent Water Arms, and it was so good we went back the following night as well. The service can be a little slow at times but this is because the food is cooked fresh to order and BOY does it's show.

The quality of the food is incredible, especially when you consider the price and the type of venue. The food here rivaled some restaurants I've eaten in but paid three times more for.

There is a good selection of wines and beers and the specials board offers some real treats. Portion sizes are generous but sensible, and meal deals on smaller meals help with the bill.

You'd be mad to pass up a chance to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spongmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwentwater Arms also viewed

Calver, Hope Valley
Stoney Middleton, Hope Valley
 
Calver, Hope Valley
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Derwentwater Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing