We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jan is the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Verzeille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colours of Pays Cathare
Ranked #2 of 3 Verzeille B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights here at the end of a 2 week vacation in southern France. Jan has a depth of knowledge about the area and is very willing to make suggestions based on your interests. We spent time in Carcassonne and at the Cathar chateaux at Lastours, and took a drive to Leucate on the Mediterranean returning along the Corbieres vineyards route with a brief stop at the medieval village Lagrasse. Our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. And Jan makes the most wonderful buttery croissants and her own jams for breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I finished our two week honeymoon in Southern France by staying in this cozy "chambre d'hôte." We spent four nights and used a rental car to tour the Languedoc region. Jan is an excellent host with tons of information on regional sights and restaurants. She prepared breakfast for us every morning and we ate in her garden. The rooms are spacious with large showers and king size beds. It is a relaxed lodging among the countryside.

If you are travelling to this region to see Carcasonne, forget the hotels in and around La Cite, and opt for this charming place. It is within a ten minute drive of the city and lies among the beautful Cathare region.

We were recommended this place by a friend, and I will continue to recommend it to everyone I know visiting this part of France.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank France201239604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

What a beautiful location, stunning quaint traditional French house. Breakfast amazing and Host, Jan was just fantastic.Jan is so knowleagble about the area and such a warm lovely person.Room was gorgeous with traditional French bedding -plenty of space with an ensuite. Two beautiful white cats, full of character ,lazed around the pretty garden where we had breakfast each day .Will definately stay here again as it was so close to Carcassonne-train takes just 15 minutes, but surrounded by beautiful scenery and in such a quaint village..

Room Tip: The large double room with ensuite was terrific for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BARBARADICARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived in Verzeille after a seemingly endless drive across the Pyrenees and along D118. With the surrounding Pays Cathare firmly in darkness, Jan's house radiated warmth and welcome. With all the restaurants and shops in the area long closed for the evening, you can imagine how thrilled we were when our host treated us to a simple late-night dinner of duck confit, home-grown tomatoes, bread and wine. The next morning we woke up to the sun shining into an artfully decorated room and climbed down the stairs to a breakfast set in a garden overflowing with flowers and vegetables. Like no other B&B on our route, Colours of Pays Cathare united an artful, almost magical interior with modern amenities.

Lisa & Andreas.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuZusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Lovely kind hostess, very quaint rooms, nice breakfast,very pretty village great place for a base to explore area

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed with Jan at Colours of Pay de Cathare three times now. The welcome is always warm and the accommodation first class. The colour schemes and art reflect the superb scenery of the region and Jan’s artistic sense. She is also eager to suggest appropriate destinations for day trips and is well equipped with maps and brochures of the region. I would unhesitatingly recommend this Chambres d’hotes to all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed with Jan whilst travelling on my own and can't recommend this place enough.

Set in the heart of a quaint French village, 20 minutes or so outside Carcassonne or Limoux, depending on which direction you head. Jan is very welcoming and her knowledge of the local area is impressive, she can always recommend activities for to interest you, whether it be a local art sculpture trail, white water rafting, horse riding or cycling.

Breakfast is delicious, complete with fresh bread from the local village store and homemade jams and cakes.

The surrounding area is just stunning, think picturesque vineyards...if you want to experience quiet french village life but be on the doorstep of two interesting towns then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Front room is probably the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice123palace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colours of Pays Cathare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours of Pays Cathare

Address: 1 rue du Sol, 11250 Verzeille, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Verzeille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Verzeille
Price Range: $65 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic charm and character house with timbered ceiling, log fire, comfortable and individually styled bedrooms with traditional French furniture. Colourful lounge with books/drinks bar,woodburner and perfumed garden to relax in. 13kms from the stunning Medieval City of Carcassonne in the heart of beautiful Pays Cathare. Vineyards, mountains, ancient villages and chateau. Host is historian and art lover and can advise an itinerary to suit your interests. A warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colours Of Pays Cathare France/Verzeille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing