We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robinson Crusoe”
Review of Six Senses Laamu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six Senses Laamu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

If you ever dream of an island atol with blue on blue skies and sea, pure white coral beaches swaying palm trees and pampared luxury then Six Senses is for you. Some people might balk at paying extra for food and drink in an ever more popular all inclusive environment but Six Senses keeps the riff raff out by charging for meals and drinks and why not the food is superb and there are plenty of complimentary things on offer like the amazing 38 flavours of the icecream bar all made on the premises. I truly think we found a paradise and its hard to say that these days. Our room on stilts over the lagoon had a glass floored
bath and loo. The appointments in the room wanted for nothing and the view from our bed was truly breathtaking. Six Senses. It awakens all of them. Try it you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Russell D,

Thank you very much for sharing your very positive endorsement of Six Senses Laamu with our TripAdvisor readers and we are naturally delighted that you much enjoyed your stay and have left with great memories of a wonderful stay at our island paradise! In behalf of the entire team, a very sincere ‘Thank You’ and know that your feedback is much valued and appreciated by the entire team. It makes us proud to know that we were able to awaken all of your senses and it certainly serve as encouragement to the team to know we have succeeded in creating a wonderful experience for you.

Thank you again very much Russell and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

With kind regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our Family decided to spend Christmas in a warmer climate than here in Norway, and after some research decision fell on Six Senses Laamu.
We were 20 persons; my four children with spouses and their altogether 11 children of ages between 20 to 4, and myself "Granny".
The long travel of almost 22 hours were forgotten the moment we landed on the Arrival Jetty and were told to remove our shoes!
From that moment we were in the middle of paradise, and during our almost two week stay there was nothing that could destroy that wonderful feeling of peace,enjoyment and pleasure!!
Our Beach villas; Perfect in every detail, the delicious, well-perpared and spectacular food at all meals, the snorkeling and diving on the reef including the guided night-snorkeling; exciting experiences for everyone, and not to be missed; the day trip with boat to the Deserted Island with picnic-baskets filled up with all sorts of temptations including salads, chilled wines, fruits and juices for the children. And not to forget: the Spa treatments; relaxing, in quiet surroundings.
We had so much fun, and the setting was perfect for everyone from grownups to teenageres to the smallest children. Dinners in the evening were no problem with the smallest ones; we took them along, and once they got tired there was a little mattress with pillow and a blanket right there in a corner!!
What is my strongest memory of these unforgettable days? There is no doubt: what made it such an extraordinary experience was the staff: the most service minded, smiling, attentive and friendly people I have ever met.
We were so well taken care of by everyone from the general managers to our two GEMs, Waheed and Afrah. My wish is to be back one day, maybe on my own, perhaps stay in a water villa with a heap of good books. There was very little time for reading this time; days just seemed to fly away!

Room Tip: Lagoon villa nr. 88
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Kari_A,

It was a great pleasure having you and your family with us during the Festive Season and we are very much delighted to have the privilege of looking after you all. Please know that it was a great pleasure to be of service!

Your GEMs, Afrah and Waheed, enjoyed the interactions with your Family and yourself and they are incredibly grateful for your kind words. They very much value your feedback and means the world to them to have been appreciated and recognized by you. Likewise, the whole team is so proud that we were able to make your holiday truly unforgettable and that you were able to take back home lots of wonderful memories of your stay at Six Senses Laamu.

As shared with you during your stay, know that we would be absolutely delighted to have you back with us once again – either alone for some quality R&R time, with your whole wonderful family or with friends; whichever way, you are always welcome! Until then,

Sincerely yours,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We’ve stayed at Six Senses Laamu in June 2013 and it was a wonderful experience!
First of all, all our accommodation requirements were appropriately met. We wanted to stay at Jetty C, which is far from main facilities, but offers a total seclusion! The villa is wonderful – spacious, beautifully decorated and conveniently furnished. The view from the terrace is breath-taking!
Main facilities are within 3 minute ride from Jetty C (the road is well-kept, but definitely requires better lighting). All restaurants deserve visiting. Just a few tips:
- Leaf at lunch serves Vietnamese menu and is highly recommended!
- I was really surprised by the variety and quality of home-made ice cream! It’s delicious and so-so unique – orange marmalade&goat cheese and blueberry&yoghurt are my personal favorites.
- Juice menu at breakfast and in Juice bar is wonderful and meets different tastes!
Snorkeling at house reef is fascinating – it was my first time to see a sea turtle and it’s a great experience!
My husband went to Spa almost every day and really enjoyed it! I’ve opted for personal yoga classes with fantastic, inspiring Emily!
The hotel is wonderful, worth the money you pay and it’s definitely the place you’ll want to return to!
Special thanks to our GEM Mastuq who was very helpful , delicate and friendly!

Room Tip: If you opt for watter villa - stay at Jetty C for seclusion and at Jetty A for wonderful snorkeling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga_G2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Olga_G2011,

Warm greetings from the sunny shores of Six Senses Laamu!

On behalf of the entire team, a sincere thank you for your wonderful feedback and for sharing with our TripAdvisor readers how much you have enjoyed your stay at our little paradise. It is great to learn that you were pleased with your villa accommodation, the food and beverage offerings, the Spa treatments your enjoyed, and of course, your GEM service from Mastooq, who is more than happy to know that he has made your stay special.

Thank you once again Olga and we truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Laamu in the not so distant future.

With kind regards,
Marteyne van Well
General Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I were fortunate enough to travel to the Maldives in January 2014. I would have to say that I would have invested hours and hours researching other islands and resorts to make sure I was making the right choice. After speaking to my agent, I finally decided on Six Senses Laamu for the Robinson Crusoe experience and because it was the only hotel in the atoll which my wife and I really wanted to experience.

Laamu blew us away and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Transfers- we were met outside the gate by a Six Senses Rep and taken to the lounge and offered, tea, coffee and food. The rep then proceeded to organize our domestic check in whilst we lounged about for the next hour or so. A lounge attendant then collected us 10 mins prior to the flight departure time and within 50 mins we touched down at the domestic airport close to Six Senses. After a short 15-20 min speedboat ride along with some ice tea we arrived at Six Senses. I can still remember the feeling I had when I first saw the resort and the amazing over water villas jutting out into the lagoon. Ridiculous!

Staff- We were greeted at the arrivals jetty by the general managers and a whole range of people including our GEM (Guest Experience Maker) Masthooq. Masthooq proceeded to welcome us and gave us the full tour of the resort. One of the first stops is the free ice cream parlour. That’s right totally free ice cream. After getting our first double scoops, we continued on the tour and were just gobsmacked by how beautiful the resort was with the majority of it over water. There was the main restaurant, reception, Zen the Japanese restaurant and the Chill bar all on stilts sitting above the lagoon. Words fail to describe how cool this place is. Masthooq was outstanding and took care of absolutely everything for us. From our experiences to our spa treatments and restaurant bookings, there was no request too large for him.

Villas- incredible! Masthooq dropped us of in the golf buggy to our villa which was located at the very end of Jetty A. The first thin we noticed was our bikes which had our initials JT and MT on them. So cool. Don’t know if they do this for everyone but this was our honeymoon and I thought it was a nice touch. We then stepped into the villa and looking out at the horizon all we could see was the lagoon, Indian ocean and a small sand bank. Ridiculous! The villa is absolutely stunning with a big indoor/outdoor feel. The sliding door leads you out to the huge deck where you have your own day bed, sun loungers, hammocks and eating area. The lagoon right off your deck is deep enough for you to just jump right off and into the beautiful crystal clear waters. Snorkeling can be done right off the villa as you can swim toward the reef right in front of you. The bathroom is outdoors and is probably the coolest bathroom I’ve ever seen. Very well executed!

Food- so many options with In Villa Dining and a huge choice of meals, we ate dinner at Zen and the food was to die for. We also did two dining experiences one of which was the Jafaai Dinner on a neighbouring island. I can highly recommend this as the experience was very cool and a local family cooked dinner for us and we ate it in their back yard. Not a 5 star dining location but we absolutely loved it. The food was so good and we got to talk to the locals and found out a bit about Maldivian life. We also did a dinner on the sandbank which was also a very cool experience. We chose the steak and seafood menu and absolutely loved it.

Others- the spa at Six Senses is incredible, the treatment rooms and therapists are outstanding. I think our room was called the nest and it was like you were in this enclosed birds nest- such a cool concept and great experience. We also joined in on the Jungle Cinema and watched a movie under the stars with free popcorn. The bikes are a great idea as getting around the resort on foot can take a while particularly if you are on Jetty B or C. We went for runs around the island and it is perfectly set up for exercise with a great gym too. The snorkeling along the reef was great and you could see stacks of fish and we also saw some rays.

We can’t wait to get back to Laamu and would like to thank all the staff there for making our honeymoon such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTandMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear JTandMT,

Thank you very much for choosing Six Senses Laamu as your holiday destination. We are truly glad that you have considered us the right choice and you have made our day by sharing that you were completely blown away by our paradise island, warm service and unique experiences. Your feedback means the world to our team and on behalf of all of us, a very sincere ‘thank you’ for taking the time to share this with our TripAdvisor readers.

Your comments to your GEM, Mastooq, were shared with him and he is very grateful and appreciative of your recognition! Again, the whole team very much appreciate your kind words and very positive feedback.

JT and MT, you made us all proud and we will all be waiting for your return to Six Senses Laamu!

With kind regards,
Marteyne van Well
General Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family (including 2 children, age 6 and 8 yrs) spent one week at Six Senses, Lamuu, in December 2013. The occasion was to celebrate a special birthday and - although we wanted the kids to have fun - our 1st priority was not to have a children-minded hotel. Instead the idea was to show them how to swim and snorkle on a reef - not in a pool - and for the adults to dive together again - since it had been 10 yrs.

The hotel was truly amazing - it really just SO lived up to our expectations!

Not only was the water villa we stayed in exceptional beautiful an comfortable. The food and the overall service was execellent! Regarding the kids, one of which is more than challenging regarding food, the staff really did (much) more that we could expect to keep them happy! And Jewel and his icecream-bar is really just a childrens-paradise!

And the diving! Well, maybe only expecting to try and dive again made it easy for the diving center, Ocean Dimensions. But still, we had 4 dives and we saw SO much more than we could have hoped for. Would have never dreamed of diving with 12-15 manta rays! We found both the staff and equipment really good - safety always came first. Heard them politely tell a guest, that he couldnt have an extra dive the next morning, due to his flight the following day. I can remember quite a few other diving operators, that would have sold that one...

But even if it wasnt meant to be a "childrens"-vacation, of course we would have been reluctant to do more than one dive, if the kids werent happy at the Den (kids club). Although quite dark and cool inside, it was a place the kids loved to go for a few hours while we went diving.

And the kids learned and LOVED to snorkle. They could litterally spend hours snorkeling on the beautiful housereef, and didnt mention a pool once.

So all in all: We had a fantastic stay! I remember being a bit worried beforehand, if is was gonna be too much of a honey moon-place. But although there certainly were quite a lot of newly wed couples, it really proved to be the perfect place to go for a family with young children!

The only thing that struck me as a little strange, was the re-use of the cucumber-slices from the dinner-salat-bar on the breakfast buffet the following morning. Really no need for that - however we survived!

About the cost we had a deal including halfboard for adults and full board for the kids. Cant say the stay - or the diving - was cheap. However I think the board deals were really great and I can assure, that we think the stay, including the diving, was worth every cent!

Cant wait to go back - and will do so as soon as we have worked and saved some more :o)

H. Bloch

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bloch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Bloch2014,

The team and I are thrilled to have read your very positive comment regarding your recent stay at Six Senses Laamu. We are very happy that we were able to cater all your needs as a family and that our warm-hearted service has exceeded more than what you have expected from us.
It was also nice to know that you had a great time off and had fantastic dives while the kids were also enjoying their own kiddy time at the Den. We always aim to provide the most memorable and amazing time for our guests and we are extremely happy that we have succeeded in delivering this to you and to your family.

We were puzzled by the perception that we were “reusing the cucumber slices from the dinner salad bar for breakfast buffet on the following morning” and can wholeheartedly assure you that this is not the case. The cucumber slices are 100% fresh for every meal period albeit that they are always cut in the same shape. We can see how this may erroneously create an impression as if they are reused and, again, can assure you that this impression is wrong. To avoid a repeat wrong perception, the Chef and his Culinary team have immediately started to use different shapes of cut cucumber slices to ensure all guests understand these are freshly cut and renewed each meal period. We thank you though for sharing this with us and allowing us the opportunity to clear the wrong perception.

Once again, thank you very much Bloch2014 for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon at Six Senses Laamu.

With sincere regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager
Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 9 days in a water villa at Laamu. This is our second time to the Maldives having stayed at Six Senses closer to Male. This place is paradise! Great snorkelling off the reef, great food, dolphins passing by the restaurant daily, beautiful accommodation and above all else amazing service! I was 6.5months pregnant and we told the resort in advance - everyone was made aware to ensure my food was safe, the speedboats slow etc etc - just unbelievable service.
Yes it is some what of a journey but well and truly worth it if you want the feeling of being far from the crowd and in true paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hitch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear hitch78,

Greetings from Six Senses Laamu and thank you very much for having taken the time to share this very insightful review with TripAdvisor readers. It is wonderful to know that our numerous experiences and great service made your recent stay truly worthy.

The entire team always strive to provide our guests with genuine care and best experiences and we make it our goal to ensure each and every guest has a most comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Reading that we succeeded in our mission certainly makes for the entire team to have a big smile on their face and reinforces to us that the efforts were valued and appreciated; it inspires us to continue to improve and innovate upon our offerings, our services and experiences.

Thank you again very much for sharing! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This is our first 5 star stay, usually opting for more rustic or indigenous accommodations. While missing being immersed in the local culture, the trade off for pampered luxury was worth it. Great food, attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful surroundings, and an overall feeling of wellness and happiness amongst the employees and guests alike. From the shoe free policy to bikes at your villa, much of it was a reminder how taking it simple can be so relaxing.

We had a few days of rain that dampened a few spirits, but it also opened up a couple of interesting alternative activities. One was a facilities tour by the resort engineer that was very enlightening. How the resort uses a desalination system for all their water needs down to how they run the herb and vegetable gardens, the infrastructure is a marvel of what it takes to efficiently run something this big on a small island.

Once the weather cleared, it was snorkeling and water activities on and around the resort. A beautiful reef right off of the restaurant kept us busy for a couple of days.

Would we return? You bet!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear George P,

Thanks very much for your feedback and greetings from the team at Six Senses Laamu!

We are tremendously pleased that we were able to provide you a “truly world class” experience! Your review gives the team great pride and it is fantastic for all of us to know that we were able to WOW you and deliver experiences which leave lasting memories to you.

Thank you very much for sharing the details of your wonderful experiences; from the natural and relax surroundings of Six Senses Laamu to the great food offerings in our outlets as well as the attentive service from each staff. It was also a wonderful to know that you had a very enlightening back-of-the-house tour with our Chief Engineer Rodksie and that you got a chance to see desalination system in the resort.

Thanks again for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor and the team and I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future! Until then,

With kind regards,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
11.3 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
32 reviews
12.5 mi away
Reveries Diving Village
Reveries Diving Village
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
94 reviews
10.9 mi away
Nazaki Residences Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Pallazo Laamu
Pallazo Laamu
#2 of 4 in Gan Island
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Laamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Laamu

Address: Laamu Atoll, 20015
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Laamu Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range: $902 - $2,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Laamu 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins spin all along the shores of Six Senses Laamu, located in the pristine Laamu Atoll. From Male’ Airport, it is just a forty minute flight along the beautiful Maldivian coastline followed by a short speed boat trip. Offering 97 villas, both overwater and on the beach, and an abundance of dining options, water sports, spa and other great activities. Service is second to none with your butler overseeing every need from arrival to departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Six Senses Laamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Laamu
Six Senses Laamu Hotel Olhuveli Island
Six Senses Laamu Laamu Atoll, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing