We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”
Review of Six Senses Laamu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Six Senses Laamu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went here in late October 2013, and it was more disappointing than anything. I would not recommend to go here.

PROS:
The island is visually stunning. The over-water villas are also beautiful and make for amazing pictures. The weather is always somewhere between 25-35 degrees (Celsius). The staff is friendly despite the language barriers of most. The snorkeling is awesome. The spa was also fantastic! We got Oriental Massages and my wife got a coconut wrap which were brilliant! By the way, they have spa deals if you book within 48 hours of arriving.

CONS:
There isn't the value for the money here. In this price range you should be able to find TONS of other resorts that do a much better job. First of all, the food situation here is terrible! We tried many times to correct the problems but had to just give up. Some issues we had: My wife ordered the "spinach" and "chicken" salad 3 times and she only actually recieved 2 leaves of spinach on all three total with very little chicken. The lettuce used was something else besides spinach. The eggs cannot be cooked properly - dripping wet (even after sending them back). The veal I had was fatty with a bone in it... don't understand that. Those were just a few food issues. I wouldn't care or be picky but it is so unbelievably expensive (about $25 for a hamburger, $5 for water) that it bothers me that the food isn't better taken care of - really sad. There is also such a major language barrier between the servers and guests that most servers have little idea what you are saying. Another issue I had with this place was that guests have no idea about snorkeling etiquette. I constantly saw people standing on reefs adjusting their gear! I distinctly remember NO ONE at the Dive Center asking us or telling us anything about how to snorkel. I complained about people standing on reefs and they just said that that is a problem... Lastly, the resort claims to be eco-friendly, but they have no problem disturbing the eco system when erosion threatens to remove an island-based villa. They also spray for insects regularly - again, playing with the ecosystem. The resort should say "eco-friendly compared to other resorts".

All in all, if you are going to pay this much for a resort you are better off trying other ones. Perhaps Six Senses WAS great, but it is showing signs of wear now.

As a side note, October isn't a good time to go in my opinion. It is the end of their rainy season and at night it rains like fury from the heavens! That can be scary in the middle of the ocean in pitch blackness. The wind shook our villa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank mike100274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Mike100274,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we greatly appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Six Senses Laamu. It is great to know that the beauty of the island and our unique water villas have captured your eyes. It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your Spa treatments and your snorkeling experiences and that you have truly appreciated the friendly service from our hosts.

However, your comment regarding our food offerings is very concerning and we are thankful that you have provided us with a detailed feedback regarding this. Be assured that our Executive Chef and his deputy personally ensure quality and quantity of ingredients in every dish we serve is checked and meets the standards. Our Executive Chef and his team also make it a point to check on guests’ preferences and ensure that it is always given attention and is prepared and served as per guests’ request. However, we have taken all your comments on board regarding your food experiences and we sincerely apologize for these shortfalls.

In regards to our pricing, please be assured that our menu prices are certainly competitive with the other resorts in the Maldives. As most of the holiday makers in the Maldives know, costs of services, food & beverage and resort experiences are a little bit pricey compared to other lesser remote locations. This is due to the high costs and logistics of items used in the resorts which are mostly imported and the regulated mandatory tax and service charge system of Maldives add up to it.

I would indeed agree with you that some of our hosts can benefit from further communications training and providing the right tools and training to them is one of our top priorities. Regular English Classes for our hosts are in place to enhance their language skills and to improve their English competence which will benefit the host personally and also the guest contact and service skills.

Protecting our house reef is very important to us and it is indeed one of our major concerns as we cannot totally avoid for some guests to stand on the corals while snorkeling despite the information we provide in the rooms, at our Dive Center and at the regular weekly presentations being conducted by our marine biologist to educate our guests on how to preserve the coral reefs. We are continuously looking for more effective ways and we will be putting up signage not to stand on the corals to provide more awareness for our guests.

We also take on board your comment regarding the beach erosion issue and currently we are in process of restoring the shoreline. While unfortunate, please know that the beach erosion problem is very common in most islands in the Maldives including other resorts. For Six Senses Laamu, we will be using a shoreline protection system utilizing robust geotextile tubes strategically placed below waterline at some distance from the resort to break power of the waves and currents. These actions are aimed at protecting the shoreline and prevent further beach erosion. In addition we are creating reefs which will provide a base upon which marine organisms can grow and such growth will provide food for the marine life and is necessary for the health and diversity of the marine environment. Hence, we can assure you that the method we are using does not disturb the eco-system but rather will contribute positively in improving the condition of marine life as well in protecting our shoreline to preserve the island. Know that we are continuously working on this issue with the environmental consideration in mind and hopefully we would be able to resolve this very soon.

Pest control via fogging and spraying is being done regularly to control spread of mosquitoes in the resort as well as to eradicate their breeding habitats. As you may know, Maldives has a tropical climate hence mosquitoes can easily breed in this type of weather pattern. Note however that the products we used for fogging and spraying are entirely harmless to your health and to the environment and the smell normally dissipate within minutes.

Again, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and leaving with such a feeling of disappointment for our resort. We do appreciate that you have taken your time to share with us your experiences during your stay that will allow us to have a greater understanding and also a better ability to focus on immediate improvement in all the areas of concern that you have kindly pointed out.
However, we are hoping that you would prefer to stay with us again and will give us a chance to prove to you that our service is far much better than what you have experienced on your last stay as we do continuously strive to improve on our F&B offerings, Resort Experiences and Services. We would be very much delighted if you will give us another privilege to welcome you back to our resort.

Yours sincerely,


Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 days trip to Six Senses Laamu atoll in the Maldives. It is difficult to find words that can express the beauty and exquisite service we received on this trip. The trip contained pure luxury from beginning to end. The staff, with no exceptions, were wonderful people. They all seem to have only one thought in their mind, how can we make the guests' visit as comfortable as possible? They certainly knew the answer! Our GEM sometimes even knew what we wanted before we did!

If you are looking for a trip to really relax and enjoy good food, clean and beautiful nature, a relaxing atmosphere you can probably not find a better place than this.

I found no issues to point at that was negative, so in deed, have you found this place, you do not need to search more, you can feel comfortable that this trip will be better than you expect!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children I would recommend a beach villa, as the water villas are best sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidar_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Reidar_71,

Our warmest greetings from Six Senses Laamu!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and delighted to hear that you had a most relaxing and memorable time from the beginning till the end of your stay.

We at Six Senses Laamu always endeavor to deliver top-notch service and to create the most unique experiences for each and every of our guests and we are so proud that we were able to deliver same to you.

Your appreciation and kind words inspire us more to keep striving for perfection!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thanks again for being our guest.



Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Before deciding where to return to the Maldives for the 4th time, we searched out resorts with a difference. Being in the southern Atoll with fewer resorts, Six Senses Laamu offered a number of key attractions: more isolated, wide range of activities including surfing, generous water villas and variety of amenities. For seasoned Maldives visitors, we were still completely bowled over. The island is beautiful, well-thought out, meticulously planned and natural. We spotted turtles, rays and (small) sharks in the reef outside our amazing villa (Jetty A, no. 17). We rowed to a local sandbank to see the cleanest sand and water in the world. We went night-snorkelling on the house reef with torches and hired a boat to go to the best local reefs and swim with turtles. F&B was amazing with simple, healthy options and great ingredients - came home feeling refreshed and recharged. The only let down were some of the more adventurous water sports, like surfing and kitesurfing, where the reality was less than promised. Unless you're after these specifically, then this is a very wise choice for a Maldivian holiday.

Room Tip: We definitely recommend the last water villas on any of the jetties, for their privacy and unobstruc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xilofono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear xilofono,

We are extremely happy that we were able to surpass your past experiences with other resorts in the Maldives and we are truly grateful for you for taking the time to post such very pleasant review.

On behalf of the entire team, a very sincere Thank You!

We regret though that we were not able to deliver to you the water sports activities that you were so keen to do, particularly the wave and kite surfing, as we cannot always guarantee the size of the wave nor the speed of the wind required to do these watersports activities as these elements are beyond our control. Though we no longer promote kite surfing lessons as we cannot also guarantee the availability of instructors, equipment rentals are available for experienced kite surfers. And wave surfing lessons and boat rentals to our famous Yin-Yang waves are available upon request considering of course the size of the wave required for this activity!

You recommendation of our resort is highly appreciated and please let me know of your next planned stay at our little paradise and I will personally assist you on your next booking.

Again, thank you and see you again soon at Six Senses Laamu!


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this amazing trip to Six Senses Laamu after reading a lot of reviews on TA.
We weren't disappointed. Great staff that always go out of your way to help, sensational food, we felt that we were the only ones on the atoll even though it was fully booked. Ocean dimensions diving was good to dive with. very safe and willing to make your experience extra special. Thanks SS. Stuart and Belinda.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Stuart and Belinda,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor and we are very happy to know that you have truly enjoyed our service and food offerings and that your diving experience with our partner, Ocean Dimensions, has made your stay extra special.

We appreciate you finding the time to share your experience with Six Senses Laamu and we would be very much delighted if you will give us another privilege of welcoming you back soon to our resort.


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having been to dozens of other islands in the Maldives, it is rare that an island completely exceeds my expectations. Six Senses Laamu is a resort I have been interested in since its opening, but I never booked because of various concerning elements past travelers have reported in their reviews. I am glad i finally visited because many of those concerns were unwarranted. It is not perfect (no island is), but several elements of the resort are the best I've seen among all the other islands I've visited in the Maldives.

Accommodations: The villas are simply beautiful. Very rustic with a real Robinson Crusoe atmosphere throughout. They may not be the largest or most luxurious in the Maldives, but they are very spacious and well designed. If you've ever stayed at Soneva Fushi, the villas at Six Senses Laamu are very similar in appearance and feel. Natural materials abound, and the villas perfectly capture the essence of a desert island paradise- without compromising on luxury and comfort.

We stayed in a water villa, but the beach villas are pretty much the same as far as the interior is concerned. The deck of the water villa is incredibly private compared to other water villas in the Maldives and boasts many unique features. The sunken dining area with glass panel was a joy to use, as were the comfortable sunbeds perched right at the water's edge. The upper level consists of a small sitting and viewing area, but this largely went unused aside from the novelty factor.

Service: Staff were excellent as has been reported in many of the previous reviews. Six Senses Laamu utilizes a personal butler system called the GEM or Guest Experience Maker. Each villa gets one, and they are there to meet all requests and ensure a wonderful stay. The resort receives quite an ethnic mix of guests, and it is admirable to see the staff members adapting to treat each guest with the kind of service they prefer and expect. The reservations department also deserves praise for taking careful note of our requested villa numbers. Due to the rather unique layout of the resort, there are certain villas that are more ideal depending on your specific preferences. We are very happy that the resort made a real effort to allocate the villa that we would most enjoy. With so many guests requesting the same ones, it is not easy.

Dining: Six Senses Laamu has a very large overwater dining complex. It is quite unlike anything I have seen in the Maldives. Some people have complained about it being an eye sore in the natural environment as it is also one of the first things you see upon arriving at the resort. Despite that complaint, the complex follows the same rustic design found elsewhere in the resort. We ate mostly at Longitude and Leaf and found the quality of food to be excellent and comparable with other luxury resorts in the Maldives. The ice cream parlour was also a welcome retreat in the scorching Sun, especially since the treats were complimentary. Overall, the resort offers a varied mix of restaurants (you can find both à la carte and buffet dining) that is sure to please.

Setting: The resort is located in the Laamu Atoll (as its name suggests), which is one of the southernmost atolls. Six Senses is the only resort in this atoll, which means there is no traffic like seaplanes and speedboats passing by on a regular basis like in the Ari and Malé Atolls. It is the quietest resort I have ever visited along with Park Hyatt and Robinson Club in the even more southern Huvadhu Atoll.

The resort sits on an island that is quite large in size and fairy densely vegetated. Bicycles are provided to get around, but I didn't feel the island was large enough that they were a necessity. There are a handful of islands visible in the distance from the resort. Most of them are inhabited islands, but they were not visually intrusive at all (unlike the one adjacent to Soneva Fushi). A bigger issue is the erosion along the lagoon side of the beach. This has rendered many of the beach villas unsuitable for use and also required the construction of unsightly sandbag structures. This is an unfortunate consequence of nature but hopefully one that can be mitigated with time. I do hope the resort comes up with better alternatives than the eyesores that currently line that section of the island. We really missed having the ability to walk on a powder soft beach all the way around the island. But perhaps the most impressive thing about the setting of Six Senses Laamu is the stunning lagoon. The lagoon is one of the largest I've seen and certainly the most beautiful. The brilliant and intense turquoise of the lagoon is guaranteed to take your breath away, and it is perhaps the most amazing vista I've seen in the Maldives yet. It more than made up for the disappointment of the eroding beach and sandbags.

House Reef: I was extremely surprised by the house reef. Many of the reviews suggested that it was poor or unimpressive. This could not be further from the truth. I suspect this is due to the fact that the house reef is not marked on any map of the resort and that people are not actually exploring the proper areas. There is very little to see in the lagoon around the island, and the area around the Chill Bar is also unimpressive as far as corals and marine life. The proper house reef lies to the west of Jetty A and extends all the way to the resort's private Sandbank. Even after snorkeling the very best house reefs in the Maldives like Park Hyatt, Robinson Club, Mirihi, Angsana Ihuru, and W Retreat, I would probably rate Six Senses Laamu in the Top 3 house reefs in the Maldives. The only minor fault is that the house reef doesn't surround the entire island (it's more of a straight line) like all the other top house reefs I've snorkeled. But quality beats quantity any day in my book, and the house reef at Six Sense Laamu is absolutely pristine.

The coral growth is incredibly dense, healthy, and large along the drop-off. Just gorgeous to look at if you're into corals (mostly hard corals) as much as fish. That being said, the abundance and variety of marine life is also one of the best I've seen in the Maldives- possibly due to the resort's location at the edge of the atoll. Huge schools of fish are regularly sighted, along with the usual reef fish you find in the Maldives. Sea turtles were frequently spotted on the house reef, and there is also a nice mix of larger fish like sharks, rays, moray eels, Napoleon wrasse, etc.

Conclusion: Overall, Six Senses Laamu was one of our best experiences in the Maldives yet. Aside from the minor complaints listed above, we really loved everything else about the island. We are happy to have had the opportunity to visit the resort rather than putting it off again based on the expectation we would be disappointed with the house reef and natural setting of the island (both of which amazed us). It is definitely a resort I would visit again and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to those seeking a world-class house reef and barefoot luxury in a stunningly beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Water villas would be my choice over beach villas due to the beauty of the lagoon. Jetty C is the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmaldivestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear jpmaldivestraveller,

We are more than happy to know that after reading and considering the TripAdvisor reviews for Six Senses Laamu, you have decided to spend holiday with us and we are even absolutely thrilled that you have now written your own experience and have given us a perfect review after your stay! A big thank you from the Six Senses Laamu team!

Your detailed feedback and very positive comments regarding our villa accommodation, F&B offerings, facilities, services and resort experiences, as well as your positive recommendation and endorsement for Six Senses Laamu are very much appreciated.

I have shared your wonderful comments to the whole team and we are all grateful that we have succeeded in creating a lifetime memories for your holiday.

Though we are indeed having issues with beach erosion as most of the islands in the Maldives are facing, we sincerely hope that our challenges on the erosion and the unsightly sandbags did not cause any impact on your holiday. Please know that we are continuously working to solve this environmental issue and we have finally come up with a better solution and this will be implemented soon.

The vast variety of corals and coloured fishes in our own house reef is something that we pride ourselves of. And if you are lucky enough, you would even get a chance of swimming along with our friendly turtles, rays and baby reef sharks. And you are absolutely right in saying that one must really get to the proper spot or area for snorkeling to experience and see the abundance of the marine life that our pristine coral reef has to offer.

Again, let me sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests’ satisfaction and the desire to return to our little piece of paradise.

Please let us know when you intend to come back and it will be our pleasure to help you plan your next visit.



Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our honeymoon at Six Senses Laamu exceeded my expectations. My spouse and I went to Maldives for our honeymoon but also, we wanted to learn to dive. This was our first time diving and we were really excited!

When we arrived at Six Senses, we visited the Ocean Dimensions dive center right away. We enrolled in the PADI Scuba Diver course and our instructor was Harvey Edwards. Harvey was knowledgeable, skillful and most importantly, passionate. I am not going to lie, the first few dives were a little bit of a challenge (especially trying to practice buoyancy control with congested sinuses!) but with much patience and understanding from Harvey, I was able to push through and had a blast. I never would have imagined that I would have found such a wonderful instructor - in every way a professional!

The resort itself was truly a luxury 5 stars experience. It felt like paradise and the resort staff were extremely accommodating. I woke up surrounded by crystal clear ocean water and blue sky. It was definitely an experience that I won't soon forget!

Room Tip: Villas on Jetty A (or Jetty where Villa #13 is located) is closest to the restaurants and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear wpaks,

Warm hello from Six Senses Laamu!

We are so delighted to hear that we were able to provide you a most memorable honeymoon and that we have surpassed your expectations of your stay at our resort.

It is also great to know that you have enjoyed your diving experience with Harvey and that he has taken care of you well. Laamu Atoll is a great destination for diving and there are still spots out there yet to be discovered. The dive sites are great for everyone – beginners, photographers and advanced divers! You will find lots of varieties of corals and coloured fishes! You can expect to find butterfly fish, fusiliers, trumpet fish, surgeon fish, clown fish, bat fish and of course turtles. Every now and again, you might also meet white and black tip reef sharks and rays.

Hope we can have you back soon for more dives. You may also check out some of our dive photos at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.496016577118708.1073741827.158241767562859&type=3

Thank you once again for visiting us and see you soon at Six Senses Laamu!


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 14 wonderful days at Six Senses Laamu in September. 14 days with sun and only 2 hours with rain, considering this is the monsoon time we were positively surprised! The place was just beyond imagination, really an excellent luxury five star Robinson Crusoe experience in the most turquoise water! Yes it is pricy, but hey, it is a five star luxury resort in the Maldives, what did you expect? We definitely will recommend this place, especially to couples.

The Island:
The resort is situated on a relatively small Robinson Crusoe style island, only 750m x 200m. In fact you keep wondering how they can keep all necessary infrastructure on such a limited space without it being visible? However, it feels so much bigger and you can easily find private spots along the beach side. This feeling of having the entire island for yourself is remarkable considering it housing close to 400 staff and an additional 150+ guests. You just never feel overcrowded! Yes there is some errosion but it seems like the management are taking action on this, it did not bother us at all. The island has a long beautiful beach on the southwest side and a huge lagoon on the opposite side, where the villas are located. Along the East side where the bar and dining accommodations are situated you will find a very good house reef to go snorkeling. Just remember, if you snorkel from the villas on jetty A it is easier to reach the reef during high tide or else you will be just above the corals on your way in/out. It can be a challenge to maneuver safely through the corals in waves and current against you back to the villa on low tide. Best place to snorkel is outside Chill Bar, around the pinnacle midway to the sandbank, and around the edges of the sandbank. Incredible diversity of species to be seen including black tip/white tip sharks, turtles and rays. Every guest is provided with a bike, a very good way to get around the island. The atmosphere is relaxed and there is a non-shoe policy, which is great!

Staff/food:
The service is just magnificence. You are treated by well trained staff that will do whatever it takes to make you feel good, they always look after you and make sure everything is ok. They remember your name and what your favorites are and accommodate your wishes just perfectly. We had especially good experience with Banto, Java, Ismaed and of course Yoosuf that were just outstanding! Food is of good quality at both restaurants, Longitude and Leaf. The buffet nights with Asian and Seafood theme at Longitude are just great. If we should highlight something the chicken noodle soup at Leaf is just fantastic. Delicious complimentary ice cream and sweets is served by a kind Japanese lady at the ice bar, more than 60 different ice creams/sorbets are available!

Activities:
It goes without saying; water related activities are on top of the charts. Actually I would go so far to say that if you don’t love water and feel comfortable with being surrounded by it you should not consider the Maldives in the first place. All non-motorized activities were complimentary, including sailing, surfing, kayak etc.. Snorkel equipment was free of charge and good quality (Cressi). Other activities such as native island visits, private Island trip for two, private dining, diving, snorkel trips, etc. is pricy but worth it. All guests are dedicated a GEM (Guest Experience Maker) that will take care of your wishes for activities during the stay. Our GEM, Ali, arranged every request that we had perfectly. The Six Senses Spa is known to be outstanding, although we did not try it.

Room:
We stayed in an Ocean Water Villa at Jetty A on the sunset side and were very pleased with the location. The villa itself was huge with all necessary equipment, water boiler, coffee pot, minibar, tea and coffee. A BOSE hifi system is covering both the living room and the outdoor bath room. Further a Samsung flat screen is turnable so that you can watch it from either the living room or the bath room. Bath tub is made of glass and you can see the fishes below when soaking in, same with the toilet, glass floor. I counted at least 15 different species of fish one day! Along the beach side, covered behind the vegetation, you will find the Beach Villas. They all look great but we did not stay in one so I cannot really tell how they are.

Tips:
Take a kayak ride to the sandbank, if the umbrella is closed you can enjoy the tiny island for yourself, if it is up someone have paid for the solitude. Bring a floating mattress, awesome to just float outside in the lagoon. If you favor chips instead of sweets consider taking some along with you, small portions and pricy in the minibar. A snorkel trip to the surrounding reefs is recommended. Bring a waterproof camera, so much to capture under water! (it can also be rented in the diving shop). Spend some time at Chill Bar before sunset in the afternoon or be an early bird at breakfast, you might see the spinner dolphins on their way in (morning) and out to the ocean. Take a trip to the neighbor native islands, always good to see the contrast and learn about the culture. It is a docking station for Ipod in the villa, power adapter is also provided. Bring a repellent cream if you are sensitive to mosquitos, not much of it around but.. Watch an outdoor jungle cinema movie, a surrealistic experience in a positive sense. No need for overdressing at dinner, shorts and pique shirt is just fine. Sun lotion is a must (30 protection), you are just 256 km from the equator! Above all, just relax, that is the very essence of Six Senses.

Room Tip: If you want to stay close to the house reef choose jetty A, sunset side. Best villas from 10 to 18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBandER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear CBandER,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for choosing Six Senses Laamu as your holiday destination! We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at our resort and that our team has taken care of you well.

Your recognition for the team, particularly to your GEM Ali, to Bandor, Yoosuf, Javaa and Chef Ismath from Longitude and to Miho, our Japanese Attendant in Ice, has been shared with them. They are very much appreciative of your kind words and are really happy to know that they have made your stay special.

Your excellent and very detailed review of your stay at our little paradise will definitely give our readers a very positive insight of what our resort has to offer and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience to the whole world.

We thank you once again and we truly hope that we will have another chance of welcoming you back to Six Senses Laamu in the not so distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
11.3 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
32 reviews
10.9 mi away
Nazaki Residences Beach Hotel
12.5 mi away
Reveries Diving Village
Reveries Diving Village
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Pallazo Laamu
Pallazo Laamu
#1 of 4 in Gan Island
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Laamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Laamu

Address: Laamu Atoll, 20015
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Laamu Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range: $839 - $2,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Laamu 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins spin all along the shores of Six Senses Laamu, located in the pristine Laamu Atoll. From Male’ Airport, it is just a forty minute flight along the beautiful Maldivian coastline followed by a short speed boat trip. Offering 97 villas, both overwater and on the beach, and an abundance of dining options, water sports, spa and other great activities. Service is second to none with your butler overseeing every need from arrival to departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TravelUp, Prestigia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Six Senses Laamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Laamu
Six Senses Laamu Hotel Olhuveli Island
Six Senses Laamu Laamu Atoll, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing