We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Senses Laamu
Nearby Hotels
$67
$60
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bina Surf Camp(Thimarafushi)
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reveries Diving Village(Gan Island)(Great Value!)
$87
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,445 results
Traveler rating
1,289
117
32
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
117
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonfishdomestic flightmale airportwater sportshalf boardother resortsmarine lifeparadise on earththe general managerlaamu atollindian oceanspecial thankseagle raysevery mealworld classbeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,445 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 days trip to Six Senses Laamu atoll in the Maldives. It is difficult to find words that can express the beauty and exquisite service we received on this trip. The trip contained pure luxury from beginning to end. The staff, with no exceptions, were wonderful people. They all seem to have only one thought in their mind, how can we make the guests' visit as comfortable as possible? They certainly knew the answer! Our GEM sometimes even knew what we wanted before we did!

If you are looking for a trip to really relax and enjoy good food, clean and beautiful nature, a relaxing atmosphere you can probably not find a better place than this.

I found no issues to point at that was negative, so in deed, have you found this place, you do not need to search more, you can feel comfortable that this trip will be better than you expect!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children I would recommend a beach villa, as the water villas are best suited for people that are comfortable swimmers.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reidar_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Reidar_71,

Our warmest greetings from Six Senses Laamu!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and delighted to hear that you had a most relaxing and memorable time from the beginning till the end of your stay.

We at Six Senses Laamu always endeavor to deliver top-notch service and to create the most unique experiences for each and every of our guests and we are so proud that we were able to deliver same to you.

Your appreciation and kind words inspire us more to keep striving for perfection!

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thanks again for being our guest.



Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Before deciding where to return to the Maldives for the 4th time, we searched out resorts with a difference. Being in the southern Atoll with fewer resorts, Six Senses Laamu offered a number of key attractions: more isolated, wide range of activities including surfing, generous water villas and variety of amenities. For seasoned Maldives visitors, we were still completely bowled over. The island is beautiful, well-thought out, meticulously planned and natural. We spotted turtles, rays and (small) sharks in the reef outside our amazing villa (Jetty A, no. 17). We rowed to a local sandbank to see the cleanest sand and water in the world. We went night-snorkelling on the house reef with torches and hired a boat to go to the best local reefs and swim with turtles. F&B was amazing with simple, healthy options and great ingredients - came home feeling refreshed and recharged. The only let down were some of the more adventurous water sports, like surfing and kitesurfing, where the reality was less than promised. Unless you're after these specifically, then this is a very wise choice for a Maldivian holiday.

Room Tip: We definitely recommend the last water villas on any of the jetties, for their privacy and unobstructed views. We stayed on Jetty A, Villa 17 facing the open sea and it was amazing. Jetty C faces the surf break which is an amazing view but doesn't have the same reef to swim to right from your room. Jetty B is more suited to families with younger children as it's on the resort beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xilofono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear xilofono,

We are extremely happy that we were able to surpass your past experiences with other resorts in the Maldives and we are truly grateful for you for taking the time to post such very pleasant review.

On behalf of the entire team, a very sincere Thank You!

We regret though that we were not able to deliver to you the water sports activities that you were so keen to do, particularly the wave and kite surfing, as we cannot always guarantee the size of the wave nor the speed of the wind required to do these watersports activities as these elements are beyond our control. Though we no longer promote kite surfing lessons as we cannot also guarantee the availability of instructors, equipment rentals are available for experienced kite surfers. And wave surfing lessons and boat rentals to our famous Yin-Yang waves are available upon request considering of course the size of the wave required for this activity!

You recommendation of our resort is highly appreciated and please let me know of your next planned stay at our little paradise and I will personally assist you on your next booking.

Again, thank you and see you again soon at Six Senses Laamu!


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this amazing trip to Six Senses Laamu after reading a lot of reviews on TA.
We weren't disappointed. Great staff that always go out of your way to help, sensational food, we felt that we were the only ones on the atoll even though it was fully booked. Ocean dimensions diving was good to dive with. very safe and willing to make your experience extra special. Thanks SS. Stuart and Belinda.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Stuart and Belinda,

Thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor and we are very happy to know that you have truly enjoyed our service and food offerings and that your diving experience with our partner, Ocean Dimensions, has made your stay extra special.

We appreciate you finding the time to share your experience with Six Senses Laamu and we would be very much delighted if you will give us another privilege of welcoming you back soon to our resort.


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having been to dozens of other islands in the Maldives, it is rare that an island completely exceeds my expectations. Six Senses Laamu is a resort I have been interested in since its opening, but I never booked because of various concerning elements past travelers have reported in their reviews. I am glad i finally visited because many of those concerns were unwarranted. It is not perfect (no island is), but several elements of the resort are the best I've seen among all the other islands I've visited in the Maldives.

Accommodations: The villas are simply beautiful. Very rustic with a real Robinson Crusoe atmosphere throughout. They may not be the largest or most luxurious in the Maldives, but they are very spacious and well designed. If you've ever stayed at Soneva Fushi, the villas at Six Senses Laamu are very similar in appearance and feel. Natural materials abound, and the villas perfectly capture the essence of a desert island paradise- without compromising on luxury and comfort.

We stayed in a water villa, but the beach villas are pretty much the same as far as the interior is concerned. The deck of the water villa is incredibly private compared to other water villas in the Maldives and boasts many unique features. The sunken dining area with glass panel was a joy to use, as were the comfortable sunbeds perched right at the water's edge. The upper level consists of a small sitting and viewing area, but this largely went unused aside from the novelty factor.

Service: Staff were excellent as has been reported in many of the previous reviews. Six Senses Laamu utilizes a personal butler system called the GEM or Guest Experience Maker. Each villa gets one, and they are there to meet all requests and ensure a wonderful stay. The resort receives quite an ethnic mix of guests, and it is admirable to see the staff members adapting to treat each guest with the kind of service they prefer and expect. The reservations department also deserves praise for taking careful note of our requested villa numbers. Due to the rather unique layout of the resort, there are certain villas that are more ideal depending on your specific preferences. We are very happy that the resort made a real effort to allocate the villa that we would most enjoy. With so many guests requesting the same ones, it is not easy.

Dining: Six Senses Laamu has a very large overwater dining complex. It is quite unlike anything I have seen in the Maldives. Some people have complained about it being an eye sore in the natural environment as it is also one of the first things you see upon arriving at the resort. Despite that complaint, the complex follows the same rustic design found elsewhere in the resort. We ate mostly at Longitude and Leaf and found the quality of food to be excellent and comparable with other luxury resorts in the Maldives. The ice cream parlour was also a welcome retreat in the scorching Sun, especially since the treats were complimentary. Overall, the resort offers a varied mix of restaurants (you can find both à la carte and buffet dining) that is sure to please.

Setting: The resort is located in the Laamu Atoll (as its name suggests), which is one of the southernmost atolls. Six Senses is the only resort in this atoll, which means there is no traffic like seaplanes and speedboats passing by on a regular basis like in the Ari and Malé Atolls. It is the quietest resort I have ever visited along with Park Hyatt and Robinson Club in the even more southern Huvadhu Atoll.

The resort sits on an island that is quite large in size and fairy densely vegetated. Bicycles are provided to get around, but I didn't feel the island was large enough that they were a necessity. There are a handful of islands visible in the distance from the resort. Most of them are inhabited islands, but they were not visually intrusive at all (unlike the one adjacent to Soneva Fushi). A bigger issue is the erosion along the lagoon side of the beach. This has rendered many of the beach villas unsuitable for use and also required the construction of unsightly sandbag structures. This is an unfortunate consequence of nature but hopefully one that can be mitigated with time. I do hope the resort comes up with better alternatives than the eyesores that currently line that section of the island. We really missed having the ability to walk on a powder soft beach all the way around the island. But perhaps the most impressive thing about the setting of Six Senses Laamu is the stunning lagoon. The lagoon is one of the largest I've seen and certainly the most beautiful. The brilliant and intense turquoise of the lagoon is guaranteed to take your breath away, and it is perhaps the most amazing vista I've seen in the Maldives yet. It more than made up for the disappointment of the eroding beach and sandbags.

House Reef: I was extremely surprised by the house reef. Many of the reviews suggested that it was poor or unimpressive. This could not be further from the truth. I suspect this is due to the fact that the house reef is not marked on any map of the resort and that people are not actually exploring the proper areas. There is very little to see in the lagoon around the island, and the area around the Chill Bar is also unimpressive as far as corals and marine life. The proper house reef lies to the west of Jetty A and extends all the way to the resort's private Sandbank. Even after snorkeling the very best house reefs in the Maldives like Park Hyatt, Robinson Club, Mirihi, Angsana Ihuru, and W Retreat, I would probably rate Six Senses Laamu in the Top 3 house reefs in the Maldives. The only minor fault is that the house reef doesn't surround the entire island (it's more of a straight line) like all the other top house reefs I've snorkeled. But quality beats quantity any day in my book, and the house reef at Six Sense Laamu is absolutely pristine.

The coral growth is incredibly dense, healthy, and large along the drop-off. Just gorgeous to look at if you're into corals (mostly hard corals) as much as fish. That being said, the abundance and variety of marine life is also one of the best I've seen in the Maldives- possibly due to the resort's location at the edge of the atoll. Huge schools of fish are regularly sighted, along with the usual reef fish you find in the Maldives. Sea turtles were frequently spotted on the house reef, and there is also a nice mix of larger fish like sharks, rays, moray eels, Napoleon wrasse, etc.

Conclusion: Overall, Six Senses Laamu was one of our best experiences in the Maldives yet. Aside from the minor complaints listed above, we really loved everything else about the island. We are happy to have had the opportunity to visit the resort rather than putting it off again based on the expectation we would be disappointed with the house reef and natural setting of the island (both of which amazed us). It is definitely a resort I would visit again and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to those seeking a world-class house reef and barefoot luxury in a stunningly beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Water villas would be my choice over beach villas due to the beauty of the lagoon. Jetty C is the most private, while Jetty A is closest to the house reef and restaurants.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmaldivestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear jpmaldivestraveller,

We are more than happy to know that after reading and considering the TripAdvisor reviews for Six Senses Laamu, you have decided to spend holiday with us and we are even absolutely thrilled that you have now written your own experience and have given us a perfect review after your stay! A big thank you from the Six Senses Laamu team!

Your detailed feedback and very positive comments regarding our villa accommodation, F&B offerings, facilities, services and resort experiences, as well as your positive recommendation and endorsement for Six Senses Laamu are very much appreciated.

I have shared your wonderful comments to the whole team and we are all grateful that we have succeeded in creating a lifetime memories for your holiday.

Though we are indeed having issues with beach erosion as most of the islands in the Maldives are facing, we sincerely hope that our challenges on the erosion and the unsightly sandbags did not cause any impact on your holiday. Please know that we are continuously working to solve this environmental issue and we have finally come up with a better solution and this will be implemented soon.

The vast variety of corals and coloured fishes in our own house reef is something that we pride ourselves of. And if you are lucky enough, you would even get a chance of swimming along with our friendly turtles, rays and baby reef sharks. And you are absolutely right in saying that one must really get to the proper spot or area for snorkeling to experience and see the abundance of the marine life that our pristine coral reef has to offer.

Again, let me sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests’ satisfaction and the desire to return to our little piece of paradise.

Please let us know when you intend to come back and it will be our pleasure to help you plan your next visit.



Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our honeymoon at Six Senses Laamu exceeded my expectations. My spouse and I went to Maldives for our honeymoon but also, we wanted to learn to dive. This was our first time diving and we were really excited!

When we arrived at Six Senses, we visited the Ocean Dimensions dive center right away. We enrolled in the PADI Scuba Diver course and our instructor was Harvey Edwards. Harvey was knowledgeable, skillful and most importantly, passionate. I am not going to lie, the first few dives were a little bit of a challenge (especially trying to practice buoyancy control with congested sinuses!) but with much patience and understanding from Harvey, I was able to push through and had a blast. I never would have imagined that I would have found such a wonderful instructor - in every way a professional!

The resort itself was truly a luxury 5 stars experience. It felt like paradise and the resort staff were extremely accommodating. I woke up surrounded by crystal clear ocean water and blue sky. It was definitely an experience that I won't soon forget!

Room Tip: Villas on Jetty A (or Jetty where Villa #13 is located) is closest to the restaurants and bars.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear wpaks,

Warm hello from Six Senses Laamu!

We are so delighted to hear that we were able to provide you a most memorable honeymoon and that we have surpassed your expectations of your stay at our resort.

It is also great to know that you have enjoyed your diving experience with Harvey and that he has taken care of you well. Laamu Atoll is a great destination for diving and there are still spots out there yet to be discovered. The dive sites are great for everyone – beginners, photographers and advanced divers! You will find lots of varieties of corals and coloured fishes! You can expect to find butterfly fish, fusiliers, trumpet fish, surgeon fish, clown fish, bat fish and of course turtles. Every now and again, you might also meet white and black tip reef sharks and rays.

Hope we can have you back soon for more dives. You may also check out some of our dive photos at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.496016577118708.1073741827.158241767562859&type=3

Thank you once again for visiting us and see you soon at Six Senses Laamu!


Yours sincerely,

Marteyne van Well
General Manager, Six Senses Laamu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews