We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Senses Laamu
Nearby Hotels
$67
$60
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,135
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Honors Residence(Gan Island)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Bina Surf Camp(Thimarafushi)
$60
$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Bambukeyo Villa(Dhaalu Atoll)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reveries Diving Village(Gan Island)(Great Value!)
$87
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,445 results
Traveler rating
1,289
117
32
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
117
32
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonfishdomestic flightmale airportwater sportshalf boardother resortsmarine lifeparadise on earththe general managerlaamu atollindian oceanspecial thankseagle raysevery mealworld classbeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 1,445 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We chose Six Senses, Laamu for our 2nd Anniversary.

Rate experience? - GOOD but NOT WOW.

Transfers:

From Male Airport - you are transferred onto a 1h flight followed by 30 min boat ride. If you are going for a long trip - it won't matter but if it's short - you have to leave resort pretty early in the morning to get your day started.

Room: Water Villa

-Neat, clean, well-kept villas

-Amenities were excellent (They have lovely shower amenities which were fantastic from great scented soaps - Lemon Grass, Mint etc)

-Plenty of drinking water in room. Take note the resort charges for drinking water in all the restaurants - we were informed that 50% of the cost was donated to charity.

-60 seconds away from the crystal beautiful ocean – Which makes waking up in the morning an amazing experience.

Food:

How we rate the food starts from our introduction to the Head Chef of the resort Mr Charmindra Rohan. From the time we arrived at the hotel - he went out of his way and looked for us (We indicated vegetarian food was needed) and he took brilliant care of us.

-Room Service: Excellent - I had special request and he accommodated and even sent a little extra (sampler) of a different dish for us to try for the meals in coming days.

-Longitude Restaurant: Breakfast is served here everyday and it simply is a MUST go. The variety is fantastic ranging from a wide variety of eggs, fresh juices ect. (Chef even made us special surprise breakfast for us on our last day to bid us Bon Voyage)

-Leaf Restaurant: We only went for lunch (Vietnamese cuisine) and can say having been to Ho Chi Minh only a few months ago - the food was quite authentic. I highly recommend the Vietnamese spring rolls - Absolutely delicious. We didn't go for dinner (It switches to Mediterranean for dinner) as the menu lacked vegetarian options.

-Zen Japanese: We decided to pass on this for two reasons - lack of vegetarian food and EXTREMELY expensive price.

-Ice & Chocolate Studio: It's on par with being at Ben & Jerry's for ice-cream flavors (Unique ones too might I add) and it's a real treat on a hot sultry day!

-Chill Bar: PROBABLY the BEST place to hang out on the island. Great music, amazing staff ….. and best of all FABULOUS DJ who can sense the mood of the crowd and truly rock your night! Only one thing we did find ODD that the hotel charged US$9 for a Vodka (And when you ask for a mixer i.e. Soda they added another US$6 to the bill) It seemed absurd that the hotel charged separately for drink/mixers especially since when you go to any bar in the world - they do not tell you to pay extra for mixers.

Staff:

-Head Chef Charmindar Rohan : Simply an asset to the hotel - A gentleman who went out of his way whether we were in our room (He called) or he would come and meet us at the table we dined it. No request was turned out but every craving satisfied to our taste buds. It's people like him that add value to the service industry.

- F&B Manager Promo (Chill BAR): Please get to know this fine gentleman. We had some small hiccups at the start when we went and he truly went above and beyond to take care of us. We found him to be friendly and not to be a typical resort Manager driven by how much customer spends but by their satisfaction. Under him also works a very nice waiter called Ibrahim (They call him BIG MAN for pet name) - He is truly a star. I never had to chase him to refill ice, nuts etc. He was on top of everything.

- Gary (DJ at CHILL Bar): We have been to several top notch resorts in Maldives and by far he has got to be the best DJ. He is ALOT OF FUN, friendly, spontaneous, accommodating and best of all - a DJ always armed with a charming and smiling personality! He tried to fill in my requests and really got couples dancing by their tables with his moves and grooves.

- GEM: I cannot say much for him - He came across as cold, unfeeling and I found his manner of speech to be aloof and cold. I think he sensed our disinterest in him after but given that it was our anniversary etc (We filled form) he didn't try to do anything and he seemed to be more concerned with chasing other guests which he was in charge of taking care of.

Overall - it is a nice hotel but I have been to other hotels in Maldives with a more luxurious feel across the board. For those looking for Robinson Crusoe experience - you will definitely like this hotel :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poojie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear poojie21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Six Senses Laamu and for giving such a detailed feedback about your stay.

A big thank you as well for your great comments to Chef Chaminda, Promo, DJ Gary and Ibrahim, who you so kindly refer to as "our Big Man in Chill". Please know that your kind words have been shared with them and are much appreciated.

However, your feedback regarding your GEM is quite concerning and we have taken immediately steps to look into this through a comprehensive review their scope of work and areas of responsibility. With this we will certainly ensure that our continuous training of our GEM's and other hosts at the resort matches their needs and allows all member of the team the tools and training to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectation. Your detailed feedback is enormously appreciated and of great help in this. Know that it has been shared with the various teams and we shall look at improving is all areas highlighted.

Thank you again for your feedback and should you need any assistance on your next reservation, please do not hesitate to get in touch directly. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Six Senses Laamu!

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I spent just over a week here for our honeymoon in late April. We loved our time in the Maldives, and we would definitely come back not just to the country, but also the Six Senses.

All the airport transfers were arranged by our travel agent (but can also be arranged by the hotel). On arrival into Male we were escorted by staff to a lounge, and then a couple of hours later we were on a flight to another domestic airport, before finally put on a boat for 20 minutes when we finally arrived at the Six Senses. The whole experience was flawless and well rehearsed with some nice touches along the way.

We were met by our GEM and management on arrival, given a tour and escorted to our over water accomodation. We found the whole place very high quality.

We mixed up the food, not always going to buffet for dinner. At times we found some of the food to be over cooked (fish and meats), but there is always a large variety of food and the quality is quite good so you will never be without choice. I recommend sometimes going ala-carte, after 2-3 days you will be so full that you will want to skip a meal just to give your body a chance to catch up.

We found ZEN (japanese) to be good food (although my wifes fish was too over cooked and hard), but very expensive. The Leaf restaurant was really nice for lunch and we went there 3 times.

We were given a room on pier A, this is the best and closest pier to be on. All the other rooms are too far away.

I went on 3 scuba dives whilst at the resort, great fun and you will see a lot of marine life (turtles, sharks, rays, dolphins, eels etc). At breakfast one morning 3 rays came swimming under the eating area, and on another occasion when we were snorkeling a turtle surfaced right beside me and I rubbed its shell, awesome!

The staff were very good, the whole experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: - Pier A has the closest rooms and will make your experience better
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank machaltcrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear machaltcrz,

We are truly grateful for your review on Six Senses Laamu and for sharing your wonderful experience with our TripAdvisor readers. It is a pleasure to know that you had an amazing stay with us and your overall experience was truly memorable! And we agree..... Maldives should definitely be on everyone's bucket list!

However, it is a bit disappointing to know that we have failed to be more attentive on your cooking preferences and please accept our sincere apologies for this shortfall. The F&B Team has taken your comments on board and shall be reviewing their focus on these important details in the regular trainings. Thank you for pointing this out so we may improve upon it.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back again to our little paradise in the not too distant future.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited Laamu in April with my girlfriend and overall we had an extremely relaxing stay and were quite sad to leave. I would say the high points were the location itself, by which I mean the beautiful tropical foliage, the beach and clear waters, fish swimming by your villa, wonderful bike paths, and the lovely Chill Bar with its semi-circular lounge area facing the water and sunset. Contrary to a previous review I did not feel as if the resort was an overbuilt Waterworld, but maybe this is just because I haven't been to any other Maldives resorts. You will not see many guests out walking around during the day, which lends a relaxed feel to the place. It really does allow you to slow down and just enjoy the surroundings. Beware of walking on the hot wooden decking at midday! There are water stations to cool your feet, but it's still painful for tender city feet. One of the best things was the near-absence of biting insects, which can be a real torment on beach holidays in other parts of the world. We were greeted at arrival by Martine, the general manager. Although we never saw her again during our stay, we didn't really need to. Our experience overall was a very good one, but there is definitely room for improvement as described below.

Beach villa versus water villa
We began our stay in a beach villa which had the benefit of beautiful tropical shade trees surrounding the villa and giving a sense of privacy. We had scheduled to switch to a water villa after a few nights, but soon began to wonder whether the beach villa isn't actually better than the water villa. Because of the shade trees, the beach villa tends to be cooler than the water villa. In addition, the presence of the tropical trees with beautiful broad leaves gives a relaxing feel. The water villas, in contrast, look as if they are really baking in the summer sun. We also had a resident chameleon at the beach deck, and could hear the interesting call of the local birds, so I enjoyed the feeling of being in "nature." The snack bar area is much larger in the beach villa, as is the outdoor bathroom area. The upstairs lounge area is also large enough to house a table and lounge chairs with a view of the ocean, whereas the water villa has a very small upstairs lounge, which isn't good for much.

After switching to a water villa, we did appreciate the benefit of being right on the water for snorkelling, and sitting in the hammocks over the water. Our water villa also had the benefit of a small coral reef directly in front, with a variety of fish hanging out by it, so we could go for a very quick snorkel whenever we wanted. In the end, I would say each type of villa has its benefits, and neither is clearly better. You should try both.

Service
Our experience with the service was overall quite good. Our Guest Experience Maker (GEM) was very quick in responding when we asked him to inflate the water loungers we brought with us. He brought them back in a flash! Probably less than 30 minutes. Also, when my girlfriend requested that she switch from a bicycle to a tricycle, this was done very quickly. We had only just spoken of it at breakfast, and by the time we went to the bike parking area after breakfast, the change was done. When we needed a repair done to the tricycle, that was also done on the spot. When we were considering an extra night in the beach villa instead of the water villa, our GEM was very understanding and investigated the options for us, although in the end we decided to move to the water villa according to our originally planned schedule. So overall the service was very efficient and always performed with a smile. The only time we thought that it could have been better was before checkout. We were told that we would be notified of travel arrangements the day before checkout, and presented with an itemised bill for extras. However, by 6pm we had not heard from our GEM. Only after calling and arranging to meet with our GEM at 8pm did we finally get the bill settled and find out about our departure time the next day. While most of the staff were generally very cheerful, we found that the ice cream lady seemed to be moody at times and schizophrenic - sometimes cheerful and other times didn't even say hello and looked sort of unfriendly. This didn't deter us from going for ice cream often, however, since the ice cream is provided at no additional charge.

Food
This is the one point where we felt the resort really fell down in the guest experience, in regards to lunch and dinner. Breakfast is an exception, however, and is by far the best meal to be had on the island. Don't make the mistake of sleeping in and skipping breakfast as we did the first morning! The breakfast buffet was fabulous, with excellent fresh-cut mango, bircher muesli, pancakes, waffles and eggs made to order, and an assortment of excellent breakfast juice cocktails and smoothies from the menu. The Asian dishes at breakfast are also good, with fried noodles and curries with rice. However, lunch and dinner options were less than spectacular, and service was invariably slow at all restaurants. In fact, some dinners took close to 2-1/2 or 3 hours to complete, which of course some people might appreciate as they want to enjoy a leisurely meal. But the quality of the food was an especial concern given the high prices at some of the restaurants (Leaf in particular). At Leaf I had the grilled jack fish, which was dry and monotonous, and my girlfriend had the beef roll, neither of which were great considering the $250 bill total for two. As a starter we had the lobster risotto, though, which was much better than the mains. At Longitude, we found the menu to be rather limited and again, the fish was again not very tasty. I would suggest some other types of fish rather than tuna and jack, even if these are imported and not local. After all, the beef and lamb are imported from Australia and New Zealand so it's not as if they have a policy not to import food (although this would detract from their eco-credentials I suppose). The sushi platter at Longitude was substandard for the way the fish was cut (roughly hewn slices which included a bit of white connective tissue that was difficult to chew). The pizza at the Chill Bar was acceptable but far from a gourmet experience, given that the crust seemed to be a premade-then-baked variety rather than made fresh on the spot. The burger I had through the In Villa Dining option was strangely un-beeflike in its texture and flavour (not sure what was added to the meat patty) and the bun had been soaked to sogginess in some places by moisture from the lettuce. Certainly the food isn't the main reason why people visit the Maldives, so it's not a dealbreaker, but since food can be one of the most enjoyable dimensions of the guest experience and is something to look forward to during the day, I do feel that the resort is missing out on its potential here. I did not try the Japanese restaurant, Zen, so cannot pass judgment in that area. Our GEM also recommended the Vietnamese lunch at Leaf, but we also did not try this as we tended to wake up late and have breakfast late.

As room for improvement I could suggest that a live band be brought in perhaps a few times a week either at Chill Bar or at one of the restaurants to complement the DJ offering at Chill Bar.

Activities
The boat snorkelling trip for $45 per person is a good deal, as they take you to two locations and you guide you to swim from one coral outcrop to another. This was probably the best activity we participated in. We saw a spotted eagle ray and a turtle or two. We took advantage of the catamaran that is available for no additional charge (if you already know how to sail), which was a nice touch. Also, riding the bikes through the island pathways covered by tropical foliage is quite a pleasant experience in itself. Snorkelling the house reef in front of the Chill Bar was decent if not amazing (and snorkelling gear is provided at no additional charge). The Sunset Dolphin Cruise was a bit of a disappointment, however, as I was expecting dolphins to be jumping the bow wave while the boat is moving, as most of us have seen on television. However, the dolphins in this case were just lolling about lazily while the boat was standing still. The dolphins swam slowly and just broke the surface without jumping, while the boatman was blowing a whistle lackadaisically in an attempt to excite the dolphins. The upside to the cruise was that we did get to see the Yin Yang wave where a few people were out surfing at sunset (not from Laamu but from a liveaboard).

Also, there are DVDs and books which can be borrowed from the library, which can give you something to do if you get bored during a longer stay. However, the selection of DVDs leaves something to be desired as the movies on the list are mostly rather dated.

Overall I give the experience four stars. A much better food experience could push it to five stars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Michael H,

Thank you very much for choosing Six Senses Laamu as your first holiday destination in Maldives and we greatly appreciate your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our resort.

While naturally very pleased that you generally you had a wonderful experience and highlighted many positive experiences at the resort, I was disappointed to read that you also had experiences which did not meet with your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the perceived flaws and know that your contructive feedback is helpful in our quest to contineously improve our services and offerings.

The sunset Dolphin watching cruise is one of the main highlights of our guest experiences and activities, and as such, we make sure that we do it in a sustainable way by following certain norms of conduct. This includes guidelines to watch the dolphins from the boat at a certain distance so viewers do not disturb or alter the dolphin’s natural ways. In fact, Six Senses Laamu is very proud to be the first resort in the Maldives to establish and implement an internationally respected Code of Conduct for dolphin watching and our boat crews are well-briefed to ensure we strictly adhere to these policies and procedures. I am sorry though that seeing the dolphin comfortable in their natural settings and surroundings did not meet your expectation based on television programs but I am happy the cruise allowed you to visit the Ying Yang.

My apologies also for the delay you experienced in receiving your departure flight details and know that this has been addressed with the team. As you know, our domestic flight transfers are arranged by our airline partner Island Aviation and flight timings generally become available by 6pm on day prior to departure. While there occassionally are delays in obtaining flight timings due to Maldivian Aviation autority delays, we certainly should have communicated this delay proactively to you so as to avoid setting a wrong expectation resulting in your disappointment.

Our Culinary Team, often very much valued by our guests and TripAdvisor reviews, shall take your detailed feedback on board. The multi talented team tries its utmost to consistently meet and exceed the expectations of all of our guests, catering to a multicultural clientele, and the Chef and his team aim to deliver the best food offerings possible to the taste and preferences of each and every of our guests. The entire Culinary Team is available daily at all of our restaurants and you should not hesitate in future to share your feedback and special preferences to them as they welcome the opportunity to accommodate any special request. Again, the team takes on board your feedback and looks forward to your return visit confident they can raise your star rating from 4 to 5.

Thank you again Michael for sharing your experience with Six Senses Laamu. While I regret that I was unable to meet you during your stay due to my departure off island for an urgent medical situation, I am very pleased though that you felt in good hands with the rest of the team. Thank you again for your detailed constructive feedback and please do not hesitate to reach out anytime if I can assist you with your next reservation, be it at Six Senses Laamu or at any of our other Six Senses resorts; it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just arrived back from our holiday at six senses. It was our first time in Maldives and we found our stay there was just not long enough (10 nights).
On arrival to Male airport you will be met by six senses reps who escort you to the lounge to await your next short haul flight. The lounge is great just to freshen up and recharge before you board. After the 40 mins flight you will be met again by another six senses rep then escorted to the speedboat. (it took us roughly 20/25 mins) to the resort. On arrival at six senses we was met by the management team who welcomed us + we was introduced to our gem properly.
Our arrival was roughly around 7 pm so we missed a full day of sun and activities, therefore I would advise for you to arrange your itinerary carefully so you don't miss out.
Due to the late arrival our gem walked us through the resort quite quickly explaining where everything was and then took us to our villa in the buggy.
We stayed in a water villa with ocean views on jetty c, it was amazing to wake up every morning seeing the shine shine +listening to the waves. Jetty c is the furthest away from the hub of the resort so you will need to be fit and healthy to ride your bike there everyday. The villa was carefully designed and wonderful to stay in. I loved the fact you can open all the doors and windows during the day and truly enjoy the Maldivian sunshine.
The pillows were a little too soft for my preference, i asked my gem for harder ones and he advised they do not have other options, however he would try to get me a small travel pillow that you normally use on planes to support my neck. I never received this pillow and did not bug him for it + he never mentioned or even say that it was not available, I actually ended up using one of the pillows on the couch to sleep during the night.
We stayed on a full board basis so it included 3 meals a day with a credit allowance for each excluding drinks. Breakfast was a large extensive buffet (longitude) including coffee, teas and juices, if you choose to have in villa breakfast you are giving $40 credit allowance so if you go over you pay. Lunch allowance is $51- A la carte or buffet at chill bar or Vietnamese at leaf restaurant. Dinner allowance is $78 which can be used in all resort based dining options, so if you choose to dine at Zen restaurant which is $125 ++ you will pay the difference in your final invoice.
During our stay we tried Mediterranean, Zen, lobster BBQ, Seafood buffet, Asian buffet, chill bar, Vietnamese, longitude set menus + A la Carte. we wanted to try as much dining options as possible but passed on the zero carbon dinner on the deck a dence tables in longitude as I can not eat raw food. we was not keen on the champagne menu dinner and did want to try the chilli table dining option but did not get round to booking it.
I would advise for you on arrival to look through the weekly activities sheet in your villa and speak to your gem straight away to make bookings. As I mentioned earlier we arrived in the evening and was so tired and just wanted a quick meal + get into bed that we did not talk extensively with our gem about booking anything. To make matters worse our gem was off on the next day!! we did say to him that we would wait and book any activities with him but had we known that its best to book things as early as possible we would have booked everything on our arrival. Personally we felt our gem did not really push to inform us on the need to have things booked asap to ensure we did not lose out or even suggest certain activities. We ended up having recommendations from other members of staff and even other gems something which our own gem should have done.
Riding through the resort we was always greeted by any staff members which was lovely.
The staff at the resort were generally fantastic but there were some little things that did annoy us during our stay. for example the ice cream server rolled her eyes one time because we was indecisive when picking a flavour (not 5 star service!!!) our room attendant left his set of keys in our door one night, so anyone could have walked in and taken our belongings, we decided not to report it as we did not want to get him in trouble but on another occasion we came back from dinner to find our door was left unlocked!!! again left our belongings vulnerable. at first I thought it was the man that came earlier in the day to fix our air con but it must have been the room attendant that came in to do the evening clean. This was reported to our gem and he apologised but brushed it off really quickly. I did not feel that he took it seriously and he definitely did not reassure us, that it would not happen again!!! so we was disappointed with the handling of the situation. We did not want to kick up a fuss and speak to management so we left it as that.
On the night before check out day we was approached by our gem with our check out literary + provisional invoice at dinner. whilst we said it was okay for him to interrupt our dinner because he was already there, this was definitely not OK. the provisional invoice could have been posted to us through our door with the proposed itinerary. Again we did not want to cause a fuss so did not mention this to management as we was leaving the next day anyway. we was however grateful to our gem for arranging to have our room for an extra 2 hours after standard check out.
On the plus side there were certain members of staff that MADE our holiday so much better. BM + Hola from chill bar. manju bar manager, Ishmet from longitude and jarri the manager at longitude. They all went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They was always so happy to serve and very friendly.
Make sure you eat Ishmets freshly made pancakes and waffles in the morning it was just so delicious he even remembered the size i liked my pancakes!! the pastries at breakfast was to die for and so fresh. We loved the Vietnamese beef salad at leaf for lunch, amazing flavours, and book for the Lobster BBQ it was truly wonderful.
I have to say the food at the resort was amazing, the different choices and dishes were all carefully put together. I can honestly say that the quality of the food served was definitely 5 stars and all the chefs deserve a pay rise!!
snorkelling off chill bar was great but I would advise renting a private speed boat for a snorkelling trip just to experience different reefs, luckily we had our gem come along with us. which was great. Our diving trip was fantastic and the service from the boat crew was again impeccable. we saw a array of fishes, turtles and a ray!!
The spa treatments are a little pricey but worth the money so make sure you book a massage.
The beach was a joy, sand was so soft and the water so turquoise it was just amazing, the resort supplies fresh towels on the sun beds so no need to carry a towel around with you. Make sure you book a trip to the sandbank it was just magical.
we very much enjoyed our stay at six senses and would recommend the resort. If there was an option for 4.5 stars that is what I would haven given in this review. For it to get a full 5 star the resort would need to iron out a few minor issues with certain staff members and especially the process of booking activities. My advice is make sure your gem knows all your request on your arrival they can arrange it for you and confirm the weekly activities. We winged it as we went along and because there was an apparent "bug" with the system our request was changed and created a huge upset and this time we did speak to management. at times we did feel our gem lied to us about certain things and make up excuses instead of telling us the truth. we at one point was told our booking for an activity was changed because management had asked him to do it, then he changed it and said some owners were coming and that is we could not have our original allocated slot so they had priority over us the paying customers!!!! hard to believe!!!! then the manager Jonathan came and explained that there was this "bug" on their systems and he was giving us the choice and priority for the booking and to smooth it over offered complimentary drinks. we chose to go with original day but as soon as Jonathan left, we were left feeling guilty that we made our gem life more difficult because now he would have to move things around so we could get what we originally booked anyway!! so in turn we decided to let him change our activity day so we could put the situation behind us. we are not unreasonable people -had he just informed us that he needed to move our activity over to another day because there was someone else that desperately wanted our slot for whatever reason we would have agreed. Instead we were fed little white lies so it made us feel less appreciated as customers compared to other people.
Another recommendation would be to print off menu dining experiences and leave it as reading materials in the villa so that it is easier to choose + book rather then having to go to reception and ask for information or be surprised when you are there. (we didn't particular like the Mediterranean menu but felt obligated to stay as we had already been served drinks)
In summery this is an incredible part of the world so I would advise booking your stay there asap and just kicking back and enjoy the sun sea and sand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hols02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Hols02,

Greetings from SIx Senses Laamu.

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback as shared here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for sharing the many positive highlights such as the food being amazing, the appreciation you expressed for the villa itself, its location and the careful design, your fantastic experience on the sandbank, the pastries that are "to die for", the lobster BBQ experience, the Spa, the impeccable service our of boat crew and of course your memorable snorkelling experience. It is also fantastic to see you mention the various members of the team who helped make your stay more memorable and went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Your recognition of these hosts means a lot and has been shared with the entire team.

I was naturally disappointed to see that there were also experiences and interactions during your stay which you felt were less positive. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall in services your experienced. Your detailed feedback on the activity booking processes and your interaction with your GEM are very helpful to us in our quest to improve. Your feedback has been taken on board and shall be used in our continuous review of areas with room for improvement.

You as a guest, your experiences and your feedback are very important to us and I regret that you felt that it may have been unnecessary to flag concerns during your stay with the Management Team. While the entire team is certainly empowered to do all possible to meet and exceed our guests expectations, in the unfortunate event something does go wrong, know that all members of our Management Team and myself are certainly available at all times and welcome any feedback. Only by understanding where we can improve can we excel in our service delivery and please be assured that we make every effort to improve. We greatly value and appreciate feedback, positive and negative, at all times and you should certainly never feel uncomfortable reaching out to Management at any time during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and highlighting the many positive experiences as well as those with room for improvement. Once again please accept my sincere apology for the mentioned shortfalls incurred during your stay, as we truly aspire to surpass your expectations.

It is my sincere hope that you will return to Six Senses Laamu in the near future and I am confident in our team's ability to improve upon your concerns raised and deliver a truly 5 star experience during your next visit.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Reluctantly just arrived back from our perfect honeymoon ! Stayed in an ocean water villa and it was perfect- everything about this place is paradise. And girls, leaves your jimmy choos at home. Dressing up minus shoes really is great!
Came home feeling great after the fabulous food, wine, riding our bikes, relaxing and snorkelling. Didn't get bored once. Food is all fresh, gourmet, no tacky buffets here. Can't believe some people here have moaned about things! Really, writing a review about erosion?? That's just nit picking. Can't understand what you can complain about here.
We are fussy people and we weren't disappointed. Yes it's a long long journey but well worth it :) Book it!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kittenx1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear kittenx1983,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are proud of your 5 star endorsement as a TripAdvisor senior reviewer! Your detailed description will be very helpful for other travelers to have a clearer idea about our resort, its dining destinations and our services. Thank you also for reinforcing the feedback of many of our guests that the unfortunate erosion we experience at the resort does not in any way negatively impact the guest experience.

Your comments have been shared with the team and serves as a strong encouragement to all of us.

Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in future. If ever we can help, here at Six Senses Laamu or at any of our other resorts, please do not hesitate to reach out.

With best regards,

Marteyne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews