We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday”
Review of Six Senses Laamu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Six Senses Laamu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Como, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Six Senses Laamu in April for our honeymoon.
The trip to the actual island was long but very much worth the effort.
We were greeted by our GEM Auzim (not sure if spelled correctly) and he made sure we had a fantastic time. We stayed in an overwater bungalow with amazing views, the room was really well designed with an amazing outdoor bathroom, glass floor in toilet & beautiful deck with uninterrupted views. The only con: there is not much coral life left in front of the bungalow (at least at Jetty C as the hotel is still very new) but it didn't really matter as there is a very nice house reef in front of chill bar, perfect for snorkelling.
The food was amazing, we had absolutely no complaints. It's worth to book a wine tasting at the cellar and book the dolphin cruise, we saw around 20 of them. The spa treatments are great (although pricey) but in a very special location. Six senses Laamu is a real paradise and worth the $$ and long trip!

Room Tip: Book a overwaterbungalow at Jetty C (we had room 74)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamStam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixSensesLaamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear TamStam,

Warmest greetings from Six Senses Laamu!

We are extremely happy that we were able to provide you a fantastic and most memorable experience and we are truly grateful for you for taking the time to post such very pleasant TripAdvisor review regarding your stay at our resort.

Auzam indeed is one of our best GEMs and he is truly appreciative of your compliments for him.

It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our food and wine offerings, our resort experiences and services and our Spa treatments. We value your feedback a lot and thank you for helping our travelers have an insight on how memorable and unique their holiday in Six Senses Laamu can be.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thanks again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    105
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
217
823
20
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubby and I planned this trip a while ago and believe me, we were not disappointed! The resort is a bit of a drag to get to, but i't so secluded and private and beautiful, it's worth the extra effort! It's basically a no shoe, relaxing, gorgeous resort. Attention to detail in everything!
We stayed at one of the last bungalows on Jetty B, number 45 Ocean Villa. Superb! So quite and the amazing blue waters of the Indian Ocean made us jump out of bed each morning straight into the ocean! The outdoor shower was fantastic! We celebrated our 10th anniversary and renewal of our vows on the sand bank. It was quite an experience! Staff is so friendly it hurts! ;) The food is excellent in all of the restaurants, although not quite a lot of food, since all the restaurants are gourmet, but delicious! Leaf Restaurant was our favorite. Chill Bar is a nice hang out place for after dinner and for snorkeling. Ice cream bar is a nice treat , simply delicious and very original flavors of sorbets! And free! This is a nice place for couples, very romantic indeed. The afternoon we had our renewal of vows, was simply fantastic. We arranged a dinner on the beach, delicious! When we finally went back to our room, we found our bikes with the plates Just Married, and it was a nice touch. Also, when we came inside the room, our bed was made beautifully by our Housekeeper, Jameel with hearts of flowers. There was also a very pretty chocolate cake, all set up for us, a very nice touch! I did not want to leave the place. I would go back tomorrow! The only thing I got to say was a negative was the price for manicure/pedicure. I booked for myself but did not ask the price. When I finally realized they charged $ 125 for a mani and
$ 125 for a pedicure I canceled on the spot! Ridiculous overpriced and I refuse to pay this much. Needless to say I got re-married without one! I recommend Six Senses Laamu to all lovebirds out there. Nothing to do except walk barefoot, ride your bike, eat good food, gaze at the stars with your significant other, snorkel, dive, kayak and spend a lot of alone time with your honey. Our GEM Ali was the best. I want to go back one day!
One more thing. We lucked out in a couple of occasions to see so many dolphins jumping out of the water, turtles and manta rays. The bats on the island are HUGE! We never used our nets on our beds. Just opened everything and let the nice breeze in!

Room Tip: Jetty B is nicer than the others because they have clear blue waters and not much coral reef. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gattalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our first visit to Maldives and we had quite a high expectation. Unfortunately this place really did fail to deliver. Six senses Laamu is located on a atoll with very limited marine life. Only place that could be considered ok for snokelling is in front of the reef resturant. We had booked an over water ocean villa and had specially requested one of the ones at the end of jetty A facing the left side. However we we allotted a villa facing the right side of Jetty A which was really not much different to a lagoon water Villa.

The service is ok but not quite up to five star standard that you will find from places like Grand Hyatt. TV in the Villa broke down three times during our stay and our GEM Arif had told us one day prior to our departure that since our flight was quite late the next day we could check out and use the showers in one of the Villas prior to boarding our speed boat to the airport. Unfortunately upon check out we were informed that there was only one shower available and it was all booked out for the late afternoon time slots.

We plan to travel to Maldives again but will stay at other much nicer resorts that this part of the world has to offer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank RupP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This resort really delivers the dream of the Maldives. The setting is absolutely gorgeous with long, sandy beaches, chrystal clear, turquoise waters and lush green vegetation. Not only is the strong ecological mission of Six Senses and Evason clearly stated but also seems to be embraced by all the staff at this resort. We experienced that it was a mission lived, really true at heart and well managed!

The different kitchens all serve local foods like the catch of the day (warning, reef fish can be a bit tough), with greens and herbs from their own garden, and you can find restaurants from all corners of the world here. We fell in love with the restaurant "Leaf" (on the beach) with its Vietnamese lunch that we came back for over again! The "Leaf" restaurant was often empty which was strange - so perhaps the resort needs to advertise it more? The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant was truly fantastic, with an abundance of coffees, teas, fresh fruits, home made marmelades, nuts, and fresh crepes a la minute! I just missed really good croissants...the baker needs to work on that. It's all about the flour and the butter! The cold rooms offered chocolates, cheeses and cold cuts which delivered an outstanding feeling of freshness. The lunches were also great and the chefs were extremely nice and helpful to accomodate our wishes for something extra! We felt like VIPs the whole week!

In general, the staff was truly wonderful, always smiling, speaking perfectly good English and offered us the helpful kindness and service mindedness that we all are longing for on our holidays. The Maldivians in general seem to be at great harmony with life, we have hardly ever met such nice staff all in one place!

The resort's architecture is really harmonising with nature, lots of untreated wood and natural materials everywhere. No laquered fake mahogany anywhere to be seen, thank goodness! The style is sort of rustic, tasteful and relaxed Robinson Crusoe luxe! In general the interior decoration is very natural, and the colors of blue, turquoise and green cotton materials on pillows and sofas blend in with nature. The only thing plastic that we saw during our week's stay was the bright white straw in our drinks in the bar and they really stood out! All in all it felt truly breathtaking and the whole resort seems to have been created with the guests' experience prioritized. This was really barefoot luxury for us!

We stayed in a Water Villa and living right above the light blue and clear ocean with glass "holes" in the floor was quite an experience for us. Our villa was so nice and cosy that we just loved to hang out there. It was very private and we could probably have walked around naked without ever being spotted! The beach villas that we saw also looked really lovely and must be perfect if you want direct beach access to the clear and shallow waters. Very kids friendly.

All in all the resort seems to attract couples and families with kids from about eight years old and upwards. The nationalities of the other guests were mainly Northern European and from different parts of Asia like Japan. Several couples we met came from Australia.

You get around the small area on a bike, and if it rains you can be picked up with a golf car. You have your personal "butler" called G.E.M and he or she takes care of your bookings, unpacking, arrangements of all kinds. Our G.E.M for the week was Saddam and I am still thankful that he both unpacked and packed all my luggage with great care and professionalism. What a treat!

Diving and snorkeling is some of the best and most easily accessed that we have experienced, the "house reef" offers a lot! It suits both experienced divers and unexperienced/beginners who wants to just snorkle. The diving school is great and one of us overcame the fear of scuba diving in the shallow clear waters thanks to the patience and kindness of David, one of the diving instructors. For more experienced divers the resort offers fantastic trips as well with a coral reef quality that is unique and an abundance of life under water that is not easily found anywhere else.

The spa is truly amazing, a special thanks to yoga and meditation teacher Emily who made our stay even better. We enjoyed daily yoga and meditation that soothed our stressed out minds and bodies. The couples yoga was great fun! The Ayurvedic Treatment I recommend with Bundi as an expert! The gym itself is quite small but modern, and definitely enough for this type of resort and we did daily visits there to work off a few calories. It was never full.

Six Senses Laamu is quite new (about two years old, we understand) and of course there will always be room for improvement. One thing that would benefit the ambience among guests at Six Senses Laamu would be a few natural meeting places, like a casually arranged after beach each evening at 6 PM, (on the beach next to Leaf for example) with a dj who is allowed to take some space and get people spontaneously dancing in the sand. The bar in the main restaurant is very vast and not so cosy, it was actually empty every night. The poor DJ played mainly for the bartenders. Why invest in a great DJ if you do not offer him a venue with a bit of a crowd?

Also, the sommeliers were really knowledgable and great but we felt like they did not have the easiest job on the planet at Six Senses. Even though the wine cellar is extenisve and expensive -there is little access to good and price worthy wines by the glass. The chocolate cold room is fantastic, one of the chefs must LOVE chocolate! However, only one dessert wine is available by the glass. It became a bit boring after a few evenings. Travelling as a couple we could not share a bottle at each meal... ;). Six Senses Laamu's somewhat "restricitive" attitude towards it's own winelist just felt a bit over-prestigeous and not in line with the otherwise relaxed and modern take on life that the resort offers. Loosen up - encourage some easy wine tastings and more good wines on the glass...an easy step towards a more fun way to experience wine and food together.

All in all we would love to come back to Six Senses Laamu and we highly recommend this resort to families, couples and anyone who wishes some time for themselves or their travel companions. Also, if you are ecologically aware and wish to see the eco mission put into reality - come here. This is a place to enjoy nature, each other, great service and to find some peace of mind. We left happy, tanned and relaxed. And a pound or two heavier from all the great food.

Thank you Six Senses and Travel Beyond in Stockholm who arranged it all for us so well!

Room Tip: If you wish to be a bit far away ask for pier C and D. If you wish to be close to the main area ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaStockholm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here in early March 2013. It's a protracted journey, but worth it, IF you get what is advertised. On arrival at the resort the Resort Manager greets all visitors and gives a short brief, thereafter you are handed over to your GEM. Sadly, one of the first things visible on arrival is the EROSION that is evident and clearly detrimental to the first impressions of the resort. Another reviewer has covered this subject superbly (Feb 2013), please read and digest as this is something that is NOT pictured on the official blurb but is a serious detraction and problem. I labour this point as a stay at this resort is by no means cheap and I feel selling this island (either by Travel Agent or Operator) without mention of this problem is clearly disingenuous.

Having visited the Maldives on numerous occasions, this is the first resort that I can honestly say left me with no 'vibe' or feeling of inclusion. The central area (akin to Waterworld) was unimpressive, the erosion in this area and around Jetty C was most unimpressive and ugly attempts to stem the removal of the sand was totally inadequate.

The service by all staff was indeed very good and our GEM was most helpful. Leaf Restaurant was our favourite place, food and service extremely good. I was astounded to find out that this resort has only been in operation for 2 years. I would be very surprised if there was anything left of the place in another 3 years! A number of Beach Villas have been rendered unusable due to the disappearance of the beach already.

If it's your first visit to the Maldives, it will be a wonderful experience, for others, then perhaps not.

Overall, I would not recommend this resort, there are plenty of other islands that are less expensive and offer a much more personal and attentive service, for me, it was an expensive mistake.

Room Tip: Choose a Beach Villa if your budget can stretch to this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Solarsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was at Chill bar yesterday night and it was a great experience after a rainy wash out. The music selection and all collection by DJ Barel was outstanding, made us to stay right from evening drink till late night dinner. good work DJ Barel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear KT,

Thank you for your great feedback on DJ Bare'l and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed Bare'l sounds and extensive music collection. It was indeed a pity that the weather did not cooperate but happy to hear this did not prevent you from enjoying Bare'l music and the cocktails at Chill.

Your evening at Chill having been a great experience, with an outstanding music selection and good work by DJ Bare'l, I would be keen to find out what further improvements you would recommend in order for your rating to go from 4 to 5. Please do let me know; we very much welcome your feedback and suggestions.

Thank you again KT for your great feedback on DJ Bare'l.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and i went to SSL last March and decided that we wanted to return, so we returned for a longer stay this year and have just returned.

As returning guests we were treated even better than our first stay, we were fast-tracked through the check-in procedure and taken straight to the Water Villa, 90% of the staff recognised us as well and it was nice to see them again.

SSL is the perfect place to get away from a busy fast paced Life, where you can lie in the sun and read and if you get too hot jump into the lagoon, and then if you fancy any activities there are plenty to do.

The food was also another reason to return, the price is quite high but the food is of world class standard in each restaurant.

People seem to slate the fact that the resort is in the south and it takes longer to get too, but it is the only resort in the south Laamu atoll which means the snorkelling and diving sites are not busy and there are no planes flying over...alot of the North atolls near Male are close to the airport! - I prefer no planes near me!

Room Tip: Water Villa only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear MrSAKelly,

Thank you so very much for your great review which means a lot to us coming from one of our repeaters.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your second visit as much as, if not more, than your first! And we are thrilled to know that we achieved our aim to have our guests feel 'at home' yet 'very much on vacation' and the away from their normal busy faced paced lives.

The Chef and his culinary team thank you for your very positive endorsement of their efforts and it is feedback like yours that inspires them to keep up their good and hard work. The Chef and his team will try and surprise you even further with their culinary talents during your next visit!

Thank you also very much for highlighting the advantages of our more remote location. The only resort currently in the southern Laamu Atoll, we indeed offer the unique advantage of having beautiful dive and snorkel sites all to our own without other boats or guests on the same site. And it is still one of the few sites where one can see dolphins swim along the sandy shoreline virtually almost daily.

MrSAKelly, again, thank you for your great feedback. It is greatly appreciated by us all and we hope you will help us spread the word about this beautiful destination and your experience to your friends and family.

We very much are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time in the near future!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
11.3 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Gan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
12.5 mi away
Reveries Diving Village
Reveries Diving Village
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.9 mi away
Nazaki Residences Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pallazo Laamu
Pallazo Laamu
#1 of 3 in Gan Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Laamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Laamu

Property: Six Senses Laamu
Address: Laamu Atoll, 20015
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Laamu Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Laamu 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins spin all along the shores of Six Senses Laamu, located in the pristine Laamu Atoll. From Male’ Airport, it is just a forty minute flight along the beautiful Maldivian coastline followed by a short speed boat trip. Offering 97 villas, both overwater and on the beach, and an abundance of dining options, water sports, spa and other great activities. Service is second to none with your butler overseeing every need from arrival to departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Six Senses Laamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Senses Laamu Hotel Olhuveli Island
6 Senses Laamu
Six Senses Laamu Laamu Atoll, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing