We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Senses Laamu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,394)
Filter reviews
1,394 results
Traveler rating
1,240
116
31
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
116
31
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonfishdomestic flightmale airportwater sportshalf boardother resortsmarine lifeparadise on earththe general managerlaamu atollindian oceanspecial thankseagle raysevery mealworld classbeautiful island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
871 - 876 of 1,394 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Was at Chill bar yesterday night and it was a great experience after a rainy wash out. The music selection and all collection by DJ Barel was outstanding, made us to stay right from evening drink till late night dinner. good work DJ Barel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear KT,

Thank you for your great feedback on DJ Bare'l and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed Bare'l sounds and extensive music collection. It was indeed a pity that the weather did not cooperate but happy to hear this did not prevent you from enjoying Bare'l music and the cocktails at Chill.

Your evening at Chill having been a great experience, with an outstanding music selection and good work by DJ Bare'l, I would be keen to find out what further improvements you would recommend in order for your rating to go from 4 to 5. Please do let me know; we very much welcome your feedback and suggestions.

Thank you again KT for your great feedback on DJ Bare'l.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and i went to SSL last March and decided that we wanted to return, so we returned for a longer stay this year and have just returned.

As returning guests we were treated even better than our first stay, we were fast-tracked through the check-in procedure and taken straight to the Water Villa, 90% of the staff recognised us as well and it was nice to see them again.

SSL is the perfect place to get away from a busy fast paced Life, where you can lie in the sun and read and if you get too hot jump into the lagoon, and then if you fancy any activities there are plenty to do.

The food was also another reason to return, the price is quite high but the food is of world class standard in each restaurant.

People seem to slate the fact that the resort is in the south and it takes longer to get too, but it is the only resort in the south Laamu atoll which means the snorkelling and diving sites are not busy and there are no planes flying over...alot of the North atolls near Male are close to the airport! - I prefer no planes near me!

Room Tip: Water Villa only
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrSAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear MrSAKelly,

Thank you so very much for your great review which means a lot to us coming from one of our repeaters.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your second visit as much as, if not more, than your first! And we are thrilled to know that we achieved our aim to have our guests feel 'at home' yet 'very much on vacation' and the away from their normal busy faced paced lives.

The Chef and his culinary team thank you for your very positive endorsement of their efforts and it is feedback like yours that inspires them to keep up their good and hard work. The Chef and his team will try and surprise you even further with their culinary talents during your next visit!

Thank you also very much for highlighting the advantages of our more remote location. The only resort currently in the southern Laamu Atoll, we indeed offer the unique advantage of having beautiful dive and snorkel sites all to our own without other boats or guests on the same site. And it is still one of the few sites where one can see dolphins swim along the sandy shoreline virtually almost daily.

MrSAKelly, again, thank you for your great feedback. It is greatly appreciated by us all and we hope you will help us spread the word about this beautiful destination and your experience to your friends and family.

We very much are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time in the near future!

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've just stayed 7 nights on OWB 72 on jetty C and overall the stay was excellent. I must say that it wasn't a pure 5 stars rating, trying to nail it here:

The amazing stuff:

a) the service - top notch, you just don't get what you want if you really don't want to (or you just can't afford it). The staff is pure perfection.

b) The villas, the overall slow life concept, the materials used on the island are stunning

c) the outdoor cinema, the food (I strongly recommend the chilli table at Leaf), the star gazing, the spa are a must and give the property that extra special atmosphere

The lows

d) the island is suffering from severe erosion and there are some unpleasant settings where you just think "this doesn't look promising" - I wonder how much of this is due to the overwater villas... high density also doesn't help

e) the house reef could be much better even though I've managed to see 1 shark, 2 turtles and loads of diverse fish in a couple of hours of snorkelling. It seems to be regenerating and building up though

f) I felt more towards the end of my stay the service, by some reason, that it didn't keep the same level. The room was not being tidy up with the same quality

g) (on this one there's nothing the resort could do as this is just my preference) too many japanese groups who tend to be really noisy.. too many families as well. Nonetheless, guests are overall quite mixed, friendly and what you'd expect on a paradise island

In sum: you cant wrong, go there as soon as you can before it's too late. The lows is just me being really picky and because I've been to French Polynesia recently..

Room Tip: end of jetty A sunrise for lagoon, sunset for snorkelling. Jetty C for privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Nuno M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. It is great to see you mention 'top notch service' and the staff being 'pure perfection'. We place great value on our hosts (staff) and their training so as to ensure our guests have most enjoyable and memorable experiences and it great to see that you felt our efforts have great results.

It is also fantastic to read that you much appreciated the villas, Six Senses Hotels Resorts and Spas overall concept and the materials used on the island. We share your feedback on our Jungle Cinema (or dinner and a movie under the stars for those wishing for a more private experience), the special F&B experiences like our Chili table at LEAF, the Spa and the Star Gazing with our in-house astronomer; these are among the team favorite experiences on offer.

Our beach erosion is indeed an unfortunate challenge we are tackling at the moment. There is an extensive beach management plan which has been implemented and once seasons change and prevailing winds change their direction we are hoping to make substantial impact on the current erosion.

The house reef is indeed regenerating and the team at the resort, with help from our in-house Marine Biologist, is taking steps to graft corals at various sites around the resort. Additionally we organize weekly reef cleans around the resort and take steps to educate our guests on importance of the care and protection of the marine environment. The resort suffered some impact on the reef during its construction stage and this takes time and efforts to heal. The resort being relatively new (we will be celebrating our second anniversary in a few days on April 2nd), you will be pleased to know though that efforts are showing very positive results and the house reef around the resort is showing great signs of growth and restoration.

Thank you also for sharing your concern about the consistency of the service your experienced in your villa towards the end of your stay. I apologize for this and know that we have taken your comments on board and shall renew a focus on this in our trainings.

Thank you again Nuno M and I sincerely hope the team and I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our little paradise island soon!

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was the 2nd of our 2 resorts that we visited for our honemoon and it just completely blew us away. Much has been written about how amazing the place is and all of it is true. Our trip was not as perfect as we would have liked it to be considering the exhorbitant price. Ill elaborate below.

The perfect part of the trip was the place itself, the ocean water villa, the food, everything. Despite the perfection in almost everything, 3 things deserve special mention:
1. the fabulous music at the Chill bar by Bar'el who made our evenings, unbelievably even more perfect and
2. the photographer that we hired from the resort. She kept us extremely comfortable throughout the photo shoot at the sand bank and the photographs were perfect.
3. the fantastic dolphin cruise at sunset.

The not so perfect part of the trip was entirely due to the horrible service given by the Guest Experience Manager, or the GEM Firshan. He was worse than many of the worst places we have ever been to and is shocking that he works at this resort. Simple and small issues were made huge and instead of resolving them, he just made them worse. He then had the audacity to be rude. Thankfully, the manager Johnathan made quick amends and mitigated and resolved the issues and changed our GEM.

If you're going here expecting great scuba diving, the place is not as great as other locations. I am an advanced diver and have dived many places in the world. However, the Manta's made the diving worth it.
If you do dive, please ask for the German older lady (forgotten the name), who makes a special effort to ensure that you have a fulfilling trip. If you're diving with the French guy, cancel your trip, he'll just make sure he ruins it with the rudeness and disinterest in making it a great dive. He is another person that has no place in Laamu and shouldn't be a dive guide.

Other than these 2 specific people, it was a fabulous trip and I highly recommend it to anyone who is able to afford it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marteyne, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Faraan,

Greetings from Six Senses Laamu and thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay in November '12 on TripAdvisor this month.

I was naturally pleased to see that your stay with us was outstanding overall, perfection in almost everything, a fabulous trip and that you highly recommend the resort. It is great to read that the resort itself, the food on offer, the Ocean Water Villa you stayed in, the music at Chill and DJ Bare'l, our in-house photographer and the dolphin cruise were all highlighted and contributed to your overall outstanding experience.

However, I was very saddened to read your comments on our GEM and our Dive Instructor. Your feedback is very unusual and completely at odds with some of the other TripAdvisor reviews as well as feedback received from hundreds of guests who have completed our guest comment card at departure. Both hosts regularly receive excellent guest comments, are frequently recognized, and rate amongst the highest in their respective teams in monthly guest appreciation scores. I am sorry that you did not experience this with these hosts but am happy to read that Jonathan, our LIFE Manager, quickly resolved your issues.

Thank you again Faraan for your posting and I am delighted that your felt your trip overall was fabulous. We hope you will have opportunity to return in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We recently returned from two weeks in a Lagoon Beach Villa at Six Senses Laamu. This was our seventh visit to a 5 star resort in the Maldives.

The holiday was very good, really relaxing, loved the no shoes laid back approach, the island vegetation and the fantastic looking and sandy bottomed lagoon. Snorkelling around the island we saw Turtles, Eagle Ray, Moray Eel, Octopus and large numbers of fish, some quite large although the colour of the corals are muted.

The staff in the resort are great and contributed significantly to our stay with their friendly, happy and efficient manner. I think it helps having local islands where a lot of the families live and the management have obviously built a great team. In particular our GEM Judy, Housekeeping Shamen and especially Chef Yaseed made the holiday special. My other half also took a number of sessions with Emily in the Gym who was excellent.

Although we had a great holiday and really enjoyed our stay there were a number of things that we would comment on.

The villas are fabulous in their design, spacious and provide fantastic views out the front and again especially from the second story seating areas, lovely for morning and evening coffee. However the side air vents that you cannot fully close do cause more of a problem with beach villas than with water villas due to the significant number of mosquitoes that appear to be on the island. The air con is obviously also compromised by the inability to seal the room, although it was still effective in reducing the temperature in the room when required. There was also no option provided to have more than a sheet on the bed which reduced our sleep quality. Also for a reason I could not determine I personally did not find the bed as comfortable as I expected.

In our opinion a significant amount of the aesthetics of the island have also been compromised by the pure number of water villas and the 3 jettys required. The number of villas and the fact that most of the restaurants etc are at the same point on the island also meant that if you walked to the restaurants, as we preferred to do, you were in danger of being run over by a large number of bicycles, again not really what you expect on a deserted island.

Erosion - The island has suffered significantly from erosion....where we were (room 51, which apparently used to have a great beach into the lagoon ) there is no longer much of a beach but a large rocky outcrop over which you have to climb to get into the lagoon. Additionally they can no longer use for safety issues lagoon villas 56,57,58,59, 80 and 81 as the erosion is now at the villa bases. There are sandbags and scaffolding in this area. Villas 54 or 55 also have no easy access beach side at any state of tide.

In some ways our holiday was enhanced by the issues above as we enjoyed the "isolation" that it created. We were often the only ones swimming in the Lagoon and on that side of the island. Also as we had the remains of a small amount of beach even at high tide we could at least get out via the beach side at all times. Also as we also both had beach shoes (no shoes policy ?....) we were able to climb over the rocky outcrop to go swimming which could be difficult at high tide.

By building all the services on stilts, which we got used to calling "water world" (not sure if the two storey set-up fits the Maldives) there is no longer a beach and the admin building was therefore in danger of being lost in the water. During our time there was often a "chain gang" of people filling sandbags and transporting them to be laid by this area to save the building and the staff jetty to the restaurants. Not a good view when you first arrive on the island! Most of this erosion is thought to be caused by the building in the water, i.e. "water world" and the 3 villa jetties. These erosion issues will take some effort and significant investment to resolve.

"Maldives Experience" - The loss of revenue from the rooms above may be causing problems indirectly as I got the feeling that there is a need to maximise the revenue in all other areas to the detriment of creating "that special feeling".
There were no "nice little touches" that have previously defined our stays and items such as towels were often frayed at the edges and or stained. For example, we had a fruit bowl in the room when we arrived and 3 apples on a tray. The fruit bowl eventually disappeared and was not replaced and the 3 apples stayed with us for almost the whole two weeks and were never replaced or refreshed, the postage for 3 postcards was also added to the bill. All little things in isolation but differences when compared to previous experiences.

The food was good in all the restaurants but expensive, which was to be expected however there was also portion control in place, which meant I would question the value for money of the meals, even in the Maldives. The Japanese restaurant in particular served the portion of sticky rice for the main course in a dipping sauce bowl. That meal was approx £100 per person and was no where near as good as teppanyaki we have had in other resorts. Water with the food was also quite costly in comparison and considering it was the same as provided free in the rooms.

The highlight with regards to the food was again due to the friendliness of the staff and having chatted with one of the chefs he cooked us a number of maldivian meals both traditional and fine dining which were both fresh and tasty using local ingredients. These were the best meals we had with the exception of breakfast which had a large choice, great juice and fantastic pastries, although they didn't have an egg station that meant you had to order eggs and then go to the buffet separately once the eggs arrived.

All the trips available were also, I considered expensive and the spa pricing was 3 or 4 times what you would expect to pay in London. We were told that less than 20% of people who visit the island use the Spa.

The comments above may lead you to believe that we did not enjoy the resort but most points are relatively minor or to be expected to some degree and are only able to be commented on as we have been lucky enough to be able to compare our experience this year with other fantastic resorts in past years.

In summary we had a great holiday and enjoyed immensely our time on the island and I am sure anyone who visits the resort will also have a great time. If I could award 4.5 stars I would have done so, even allowing for the comments above.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews