We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
travelup.com
Hurb
Prestigia.com
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,831)
Filter reviews
2,831 results
Traveler rating
2,642
141
40
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,642
141
40
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our honeymoon fish domestic flight marine life half board male airport other resorts water sports special thanks private island food was amazing laamu atoll the general manager world class scuba diving eagle rays spa treatments
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,932 - 1,937 of 2,831 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second trip to Laamu, the first in April this year was cut short by illness.

The resort was magnificent the first time and has got even better.

The property epitomises "barefoot luxury" - no shoes were worn or needed from arrival to departure.

ACCOMMODATION

The accommodation, in Six Senses fashion was both quirky and of the highest quality. Rooms, mainly over-water bungalows are spacious and apart from the first 4 or 5 on jetty number one ( which I would avoid) have a high degree of privacy. The in room equipment is as one would expect from a resort of this quality, with high quality soundless air conditioning i pod docks and a flat screen tv though quite why one would come to the Maldives to watch TV is questionable. The bungalow was spotless and this was maintained throughout our stay

FOOD AND DRINK

The food was of the highest quality and with 3 restaurants the variety and choice was very high. The head chefs have worked in top end restaurants around the world and this was very evident. Prices are very high and given there is nowhere else to go it makes sense to have the half board option.
The price of alcohol is significant, no doubt this is to a great extent caused by local taxes, but wine is more expensive than at other resorts in the same league. The wine list is varied with a significant number of bottles costing over US$ 100 and a few reaching into the thousands. The bottom end bottles which were perfectly good cost between US$ 50 and 70. The sommelier was however really good and did not try and push the very expensive options.

STAFF

The staff from the management down were both very friendly and happy and as importantly good at doing what they were supposed to do. The GEM ( basically a personal butler) was always on hand, the rest of the senior management were present whenever they were needed but not obtrusive and in your face. They are clearly very much on top of everything.People remembered your name and where you were from and you were made to feel special .

THE BAR AREA
The resort was designed with an extensive over water bar area which is perhaps too large and impersonal. There is a resident DJ playing background music in the evenings which was good but might not appeal to everyone and the bar area was not zoned so finding quiet spot is not possible.

OTHER GUESTS
In the six months between our visits the age range and nationality of the guests had become much more varied, as initially one might have got the impression that this was a resort focused primarily on honeymooners from South East Asia. There was on our second visit a good mix of people so that no one should have felt uncomfortable.

DIVING
We have been keen scuba divers for over 25 years. The dive operation here is, from a customers perspective the most well run and organised I have ever encountered. The facilities and equipment were pristine, there was not a grain of sand in sight and the dives were faultlessly organised with good informative briefings; guides/instructors who were obviously still loving doing what they were doing nice boats and a relaxed atmosphere. Local dive sites within the atoll are a bit lacking in larger fish but within 3 days we managed to encounter Mantas and other rays, sharks, turtles, big groupers, wrasse. Corals were in good shape with much variety and there were all the usual suspect from morays and stone fish to the increasing numbers of
huge lionfish.

SUMMARY
The telling factor was we did not want to leave and would love to go back , what more can one say

Room tip: Avoid first few bungalows on pier 1. Pier 3 is some distance from the main area.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, such a disappointment after our other Maldive trips. First of all I will say the local resort staff were lovely as always. Shelomi runs the kids club, and this I cannot fault, Shelomi was fun, safe, inspiring and so much fun with the kids. Inti our room guy was again lovely with excellent service. Sadly the resort is let down by the watersports centre. My husband goes to surf and sadly this was so overpriced, charging $160 for a short trip in a dinghy each time to get to a break that sadly was not so good, the watersports centre did not check the surf each day or recommend best time to go out often the surf was not suitable but still charged us thousands of dollars, in fact the watersports manager was overheard saying that our bill for watersports was "racking up nicely". Seemed they were only interested in getting as much money as possible out of us. The local guys who worked in the watersports centre were great and did their best.
Six senses sprayed the island after a week of us being bitten by mosquitos, with some sort of pesticide that caused a dark potent smog, that lasted for a while each day, the staff spraying wore masks and one inhale you could tell why!
The food was good, excellent selection on buffet theme nights...
Sadly no pool on the island was a negative point for the kids so we upgraded to the one villa that had a private pool. This villa was lovely, the kids loved the pool but it was not available for the whole time so we only had it for 5 days.
We did not see one reef shark in the whole two weeks, usually when we visit the Maldives we enjoy seeing them. I believe they only like crystal clear water, perhaps when the resort settles in, they may return when the sediment settles from the change in ecology from all the buildings on stilts... coral quite damaged and we would not return to this island or resort.
When we complained about our extortionate bill the manager said she would contact us, she never did..We came away felling ripped off... Not how we usually feel when we leave the Maldives, our 5th trip this was.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank CornishFamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights at the most gorgeous six senses. After our tour through India. It was so nice to come to the Maldives for its beauty and peacefulnes. We stayed in a beach villa or small house. It was so spacious so many areas to be upstairs, outside, inside on the beach you choose. I loved how we where given bikes as form of transport to get around the island which takes a round 10 mins to do one lap if you are keen. Our Gem he was so lovely any tiny request he would help you out so sweet. Breakfast in the morning was an adventure every day, the choice was amazing considering everything has to be bought in beautifully fresh. We met the head chief one night early in to our stay and mentioned to him I was vegetarian, well that a lucky encounter as from that moment on a got my own special 3 course dinner that I was shown the menu first in the morning to see if I liked it and of course it was amazing. How special is that. We enjoyed speaking to the staff who where so lovely and genuine people. The manager what a hoot Jonathan he had a couple of good stories to tell. What a beautiful location. My husband went out for a couple of surfs but we weren't really there at the right time of the year end of the season. July I understand to be better. I enjoyed snorkelling around the resort in sparklingly clear water. We where also lucky to have a Maldivian local star come and play his music "Shiuz" for a few night so very nice while you enjoy you afternoon bubbles. Thankyou to all the staff you made our stay a very special moment in our journey through life. Thanks

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Six senses Laamu was our second experience in Maldives, after
Baros. We stayed for 6 unforgettable nights in an outstanding Beach villa ocean view. It had a private beach and the whole villa lay out was just amazing. Every single corner is made to feel comfortable for enjoying the wonderful views of the turquoise sea.
The concept of the resort it is "green" and "sustainable" without forgetting total confort and luxury.
The food is very good, especially in the Vietnamese restaurant. I really recommend the romantic beach lobster barbacue.
Breakfast was rich in choices. And the buffet at lunch time at the Cooking hut is also remarkable, with maldivan currys.
The trip to our private island for a day was fun but I expected a cleaner island plus be advised about the hundred mosquitos were sharing the picnic with us. I will recommend taking mosquito repelent.
The reef was good, with plenty of diversity but is located in the main areas and not beside rhe beach hut.
The service generally was outstanding and any request was quickly met with the minimum fuss.
Not cheap, but thats the maldives.
We highly recommend it. You won t be disappointed!

Room tip: Beach villa 83, very private , away from the main area.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julesmateosmenendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have recently honeymooned in Laamu and stayed in one of their luxurious and spacious water bungalows. It is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. Our GEM, Auzam was very pleasant and helpful as were all the staff. The food, chefs and catering staff were all exceptional. The produce was extremely fresh and tasty. Breakfast Buffet awesome. We did the beach BBQ on Sunday night and had the most wonderful lobster and seafood dinner, right on the beach. Prices for the wine, were to be honest, high, but one must understand everything needs to be shipped in. Wine selection was tremendous.

There was a small coral reef right outside our water bungalow which was teeming with several varieties of fish. The outdoor seating area and outdoor shower are unique. Glass panels in the toilet floor and glass bath with turquoise sea beneath is surreal.

Another plus for the service was their handling of our flight changes. We booked through Agoda and notified them of the flight changes. That information was not passed on to the hotel. When I called to verify that all the transfers were booked, they weren't. The Six Senses staff quickly made sure we would be met at Male International and we made it to the hotel with no problems.

A wonderful, romantic place to stay. We will for sure be returning.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews