We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced substandard accommodation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blinman Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blinman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blinman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Blinman B&B and Inns
Orange
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced substandard accommodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

$155 for a double room. Threadbare towels, sheets with holes, plus the 'resident' mouse. Mouldy shower and no exhaust fan in bathroom which came with inbuilt unpleasant odour. Mud wasp nest on the curtains. Wasn't advised that a booking was required the night before for breakfast so a nice breakfast was had at the general store, thanks guys. General store also has self contained accommodation which we will use on our next trip to the beautiful Flinders.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
15
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,348 reviews
376 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,975 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We finally arrived in Blinman for morning coffee & found the local pub had the best coffee ever! The town is very interesting as it used to be a thriving mining town with a population of 1500 but today there are only 22.

The town began with the discovery of copper in 1859 and commencement of mining in 1862. The Blinman Mine is today a popular visitor attraction & there are tours available at the mining tin shed. The 4WD’s lined up against the Blinman Hotel made a fabulous opportunity for a great shot of an Australian Outback scene.

After our little coffee break we head towards Parachilna for lunch but after seeing all the 4WD’s let’s hope not everyone has the same idea about lunch.

We didn't stay here as we used Rawnsley Park Station as our base for exploring the Flinders Ranges & they have amazing luxury villas if one wants to spoil themselves.

Blinman makes a perfect stop for lunch or coffee if heading to Parachilna.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

What more could you want, a bed, food in your belly, a beer and a beautiful view. To see the Flinders is a must do and this is a great place for a night or 2 stop. The staff do a good job with the resources they have, they are hours away from towns etc and they do a fab job to keep it all going!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our experience in whole in the Flinders Rangers was a great short get away and we were taken there by a travel voucher needing to be used. Due to the travel voucher we paid a great price for accommodation and the rooms we stayed in had been updated although i think we may have stayed in the largest and maybe most updated room due to traveling in the quiet season (Jan 2012). Not 5 star standard but nor was that standard expected by us from an outback pub.

The locals were friendly and happy to share information and the food was brilliant, Tony the owner is a fantastic chef and if you are lucky enough to be there on a Friday night - the pizzas are a must!

The service in general however was a bit lacking, we often found ourselves lingering around the bar for 5 or more mins waiting to be served when there was noone else in the bar and we were told breakfast would be available however the first morning we went to have it, none had been served up (continental style) and the second morning, at 9am, everything was still locked up with noone else in sight. Luckily there was a nice little cafe - Wild Lime Cafe just next door which does fresh coffee and breakfasts.

All in all a great experience, the owners are kind, friendly and happy to help - just a bit slow off the ball and could have easily welcomed us to spend much more time there than we did.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you call painting over cracks and fittings as newly updated heritage you might be happy but when you move the cubart to look for the power point to make a cuppa and see the months of dead flys and then you see dirty tissues under the bed you start to know you have made a big mistake there where 3 of the 4 I will not go on
The food was excellent

Room Tip: Dont go unless you are desparate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Choice is limited in and around the pound, particularly if you do not want to camp! This was an average sort of a place, nothing to write home about. The food was good though, as was the ice cold beer, the stars, sunrise and the location. That's really what it's all about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Roof of entire building leaks in minimum rain. When a downpour came we were on our own to move from a fully flooded room where electric wires were now submerged. The location has no mobile ph coverage and no landline was supplied anywhere for guests use in an emergency. We found skeleton keys on cleaning trolley in open cleaning room. Water flood was the least of our worries.
A safety & security nightmare. No apology after more than 24hrs since leaving.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blahnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blinman
17.0 mi away
Prairie Hotel
Prairie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Parachilna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blinman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinman Hotel

Property: Blinman Hotel
Address: Mine Rd | Blinman, Blinman, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5730, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park > Blinman
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blinman
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing