We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rusland Pool Restaurant & Bar

Rusland Pool Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We are visiting the Lakes with our family and tonight dined at the excellent Rusland Pool Hotel. From the welcoming blackboard outside the restaurant, through the excellent, warm and genuinely friendly service and atmosphere this was a really excellent restaurant run by Mike and Rachel. The food was excellent and there was something for everyone on the menu. Mike and Rachel were very friendly and concerned about their patrons. Having taken our family (2 adults and 4 children) to many establishments - his rates amongst the best.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We called in on the spur of the moment for Sunday lunch. We arrived very early so were able to sit in the conservatory area. Staff very attentive and friendly. We both had fish and chips which was delicious, food was hot and portions generous. Prices very reasonable too. Very enjoyable first visit and will go back with other family members.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lived up to previous reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Staff were attentive without being annoying. The menu was extensive with several vegetarian options.
Portions were a good size without being out facing.
The only disappointments were that vinegar came in a sachet and the coffee was weak.
We went to this restaurant several years ago and were left unimpressed but after this visit I would happily go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GS157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool,
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

All the staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and the portions very generous. The prices were very reasonable too.
When we were there a bouncy castle was provided for the kids which was great for burning of excess energy.
It is on the main road and really easy to find.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xLeahBx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Second visit in less than a week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit last Tuesday so called again. This restaurant is relatively local to me so am familiar with it over many years. The service is really excellent, The bar is well stocked and had a local ale on draught that I tried. The first meal was conventional Sunday lunch type, the beef was excellent and succulent with all the trimmings. They do a large version which would probably feed a family! I had cod and chips last night which was moist and perfect with the right batter and perfectly done chips.

This restaurant caters mainly for passing trade so the clientele are mixed but all seemed happy. The success can be measured by almost full car parks! Oh did I mention good service and reasonable price? I just did.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusland Pool Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Haverthwaite, Lake District
Backbarrow, Lake District
 
Newby Bridge, Lake District
Ulverston, Cumbria
 

Been to Rusland Pool Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing