We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than 20 years !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel des Dunes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lesconil
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than 20 years !”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I’m going in this hotel for more than 20 years, there are a lot of good reasons for that. Waking up with a great sea-view is absolutely wonderful, the breakfast buffet has everything you want, especially the typical Brittany cakes. Very nice long beaches close to the hotel, ideal to make sport and prepare yourself for the evening dinner…langoustines, grilled lobsters from “Des Dunes” (so nice !), coquilles Saint-Jacques etc. Each time friends are going to Brittany, I give the address and each time, I have the same question “how can you resist during two weeks !?”. Quite simple, I really like it !

Room Tip: take a room with sea-view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    11
    15
    3
See reviews for
27
62
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, North UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were here for three nights, unbooked but relying on the fact that this was a Logis de France chain hotel.

It's an old (30's?) hotel that has had a recent renovation. Our third floor room had a great sea-view, looking out over a dune-y meadow to the beautiful granite rock sculptures that bound the Big and Little coves with their sandy beaches - chilly swimming though! Bed, shower, loos and storage was fine. The price was good, breakfast extensive and with little Breton extras like Far cake. The town is a five minute walk along the coast path.

The restaurant is stylish, spacious and the meal we had was good quality, if a tad on the pricy side. Free parking was extensive, and even shaded if you picked the right spot.

We only had two problems - we wanted somewhere to dry (discreetly) our wet bathing kit and wetsuits. I asked at reception, and was told in no uncertain terms that there was "nowhere".

I understand that hotels do not want their public areas littered with drying clothes, but the enclosed "working area" at the side of the hotel had plenty of space to do this in privacy. I was astonished that a hotel "pieds dan l'eau" - literally a minute's walk from swimming, could not provide this service.

We were also overcharged a hundred euros - an error that we failed to notice till a few hours later. When we returned, our money was returned without quibble, but a little recognition of the trouble we had gone to - a thirty mile round trip - might have been recognised?

So - four stars rather than five, but we would recommend, and return, for the situation and accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkieTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

very expensive petit de jeuner (10 euros in 2010), very basic rooms. Great location, very nice seawalks

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RWRocksOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel could be a real gem, if someone would like to invest in it. It is very run down. Staff is friendly but that is really not enough. The restaurant is far away from any quality at all - not even the basic fish is ,cooked and presented with any care at all - which is really sad.

The room we had was very,very strange,worn and outright dirty. The location of this hotel is wonderful, with colours and scents from the ocean.

We will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Narita9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

A comfortable and relaxing place to stay with the added benefit of a superb restaurant. Easy access to the fishing village and the beaches with a mixture of rocks and sand dunes.

The family and other staff who work in the hotel are friendly and helpful however dont' forget they do not stay on site and if you go out in the evening don't forget to get the door code from reception or find yourself locked out. Fortunately for us some other guests arrived just as we were getting desperate - they had done the same thing the night before!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mariposa060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lesconil
3.1 mi away
Le Poisson d'Avril
Le Poisson d'Avril
#1 of 2 in Guilvinec
101 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Sterenn
3.6 mi away
Hotel la porte des glenan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Abbatiale Benodet
7.2 mi away
Villa Tri Men
Villa Tri Men
#1 of 3 in Combrit
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#1 of 1 in Lesconil
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel des Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel des Dunes

Property: Grand Hotel des Dunes
Address: 17 rue Laennec, 29740 Lesconil, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Lesconil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lesconil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel des Dunes 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel des Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing