We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumba Ruins Monsoons Restaurant”

Jumba Ruins Monsoons
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Mtwapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Monsoons restaurant stand on an empty pristine beach with views out to sea or back towards the beauty of the Jumba ruins and botanical park themselves. The restaurant offers a delightful range of fresh seafood as well as Italian pasta dishes. It is a place where you want to spend the day with friends, drinking in the views with a glass of wine and a dressed crab or two. An incredible haven only seconds from the chaos of the beaches closer to Mombasa,a wonderful place for families,couples and special occasions Monsoons is to be savored, not rushed.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jumba Ruins Monsoons Restaurant”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We, a family party of 10, have recently returned from a fortnight’s holiday in Kenya, staying at the Voyager Hotel. We booked our somewhat complicated excursion arrangements in advance with Julius Nzumbi of Julius Tact Safaris and we could not have been better served. This is the 3rd holiday that we have dealt with Julius and have never had any problems and all his arrangements have been considerably less expensive than if booked through the travel company or the hotel.
Included in our travel arrangements was a day at this excellent seafood restaurant. About 15km from our Mombasa Hotel (The Voyager) JT provided a minibus to take 5 adults and 5 children to the Jumba Ruins. The beach restaurant is approached through a museum and the old ruins, less than a 5-minute walk from the car park.
It is very informal and only serves in the evenings by prior arrangement - it is always worth phoning before a visit anyway.
The menu (see the website) is seafood or Italian. The food is fresh and tasty, the seafood very often still swimming in the tank before it is cooked over a charcoal fire! After an excellent lunch we lazed on the deserted beach, swam in the sea and generally chilled out until it was time to go back to our hotel.
Excellent food, reasonable prices and a most memorable day.

JT - we cannot thank you enough for helping to make our holiday such a memorable one - Asanti Sana and we hope to say “Jambo” again next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    24
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
world
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great surprise and excellent seafood”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We didn't know about this fantastic place till we decided to visit the archaeological site of Jumba Ruins in Mtwapa, the beach is still untouched by the fast uncontrolled developments nearby, the restaurant is pretty cozy, well matching the surrounding environment, the seafood excellent and homemade Italian ravioli with spinach could have competed with any of the best restaurants in Italy, a good selection of international wines, Italian gelati and relaxing atmosphere by the sea completed our journey. A great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucrezia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food was fresh and tasty. The experience would have been a lot better if the staff were more attentive

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Another great lunch...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had another nice lunch at Monsoon's. As it was mid week at around 4pm, there was only one other table there and the service and food were very good.

Right at the beach, simple, elegant and homely. Monsoon's is a great place.

We were served by Atiliio's daughter and she's delightful. Reserved yet courteous and helpful. Atilio himself is a proper hotelier, cheerful, loud and welcoming.

I was disappointed as crab was out of the season but that is of no fault to anyone. I understand the seafood seasons. I had a really very nice prwans cocktail for starters and my companions had a Greek salad. The prawns were really very good with a delightful sauce. The Greek salad was a master piece, beautifully presented and delicious.

For mains I had a whole grilled parrot fish with Swahili sauce, and others had grilled red snapper fillet with Swahili sauce and grilled octopus. The red snapper fillet and the octopus were excellent, extremely fresh. My whole parrot fish was slightly under done but I was simply pleased enough to get fresh fish, as I live in landlocked Switzerland. The Swahili sauce is really authentic, coconutty, infused with spices and relatively mild. It went very well with the fish without overpowering it.

Next time I hope they have crab. My 2 favourite dishes are steamed crab followed by char-grilled lobster.

We'll be back soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely and quiet”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

was a very quiet location nice to look round then go on the beach where there isnt many people at all the beach is so peaceful and clean

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zarawestyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumba Ruins Monsoons also viewed

Mtwapa, Coast Province
Mtwapa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Jumba Ruins Monsoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing