We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, average resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Forestville, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, average resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I stayed in one of the Zenith apartments...the furniture was below basic..very cheap lounge, even cheaper table, no TV in the bedroom. It was way out the back of the complex. The pool was nice, but the whole resort is turning into a concrete jungle. $100 deposit in case you damage the furniture? It wasn't worth that much! $10 deposit for a pool towel.... Fantastic location...but I won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Zenith apartments...I think there are better parts of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustraliaUnitedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    277
    217
    125
    108
See reviews for
296
410
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Started off in a one bedroom apartment in the Barrington Tower - apartment good but the water never did get hot and as I am not keen on stone cold baths or showers this did not please. The corridors leading from the lift needed much attention - stained carpets and over all presentation looked unkempt - never could get the free wifi - building work being carried out in adjacent building - glad we we there just one night.

However when the family arrived we moved as planned to a three bedroom apartment in the Breakwater building . Wow what a difference - we never looked back and had great time - large spacious apartment with hot hot water too!!! I would certainly go back there - beautiful views - good pool - great balcony - staff very helpful although I felt there could be more of them .

Star rating very much dependent on where in the resort you stay .

Room Tip: Be careful of the Barrington rooms especially at the back !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meatherts12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel is the most positive and supportive way, The location, staff, room and service is outstanding. You will go a long way to get any better. We will be back for sure. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Opposite the beach is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaItaly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a two bedroom apartment in the Barrington tower.
Having stayed here once before in 2006, in the heritage apartments, and enjoying our stay, I expected better.

The pluses:
Great view from balcony and both bedrooms;
Two bathrooms and full kitchen;
Convenient parking;
Good pool (although not heated despite what they reckon) ;
Included 'freebies' including breakfast daily, and two free drinks per day;

The minuses:
Haphazard housekeeping, most days the room wasn't serviced until after 5PM in the afternoon, and on at least two occasions, they had no replacement towels;
Paying for wifi, at an exorbitant rate;
Although bedding configuration was requested at booking, it wasn't honoured and we needed to wait for it to be changed ;
Inability to check in at 2pm, as housekeeping hadn't finished the rooms;

I honestly expected better, and it would appear that the Ramada have bought the resort which was struggling financially, and have cut the important services, such as housekeeping and laundry in order to get the resort back into the black.
It's a pity, as the staff we dealt with and encountered (from housekeeping to reception to day spa to restaurant staff) were so accommodating and helpful, the resort is getting a bad reputation through no fault of the front line staff.

I don't think we will be back unless the standard of service is returned.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MOJO_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Wyndham Hotel Group at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear MOJO_aus,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to hear your stay was not as you previously remembered and experienced. We appreciate all feedback as we strive to continuously improve our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your bedding request not being completed prior to check-in nor housekeeping being up to our usual standard, this is not acceptable and will be addressed as we always strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Please be assured Ramada have, and will continue to offer a high level of service and committment to our guests. Due to the privacy of TripAdvisor we are not able to tell what room or the dates you stayed however I will discuss with the front office and housekeeping teams to avoid this happening again in the future.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our team members accommodating and helpful ways, I too will pass this onto our staff.

We would love to welcome you back so we can show you the true Ramada standard, please feel free to contact us on 1800 18 18 10 and mention you are a returning guest.

Kind regards,
The Team at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is the 2nd time in 6 months we've stayed at the Shoal Bay Resort and Spa (newly renamed the Ramada). Our last stay (Oct 2013) was midweek and though facilities were in the middle of a renovation the location was beautiful and the room perfectly suited to our young family. We stayed in the Seaspray Villas both times though our current stay (Fri - Sun) was considerably unpleasant due to the band music coming from the beachfront pub located in the hotel. The noise really was unacceptable and completely turned us off returning (at least for weekend stays).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the Penthouse in the WhiteSands complex, the view was amazing and the room was clean, it was very pricey though. The breakfast was nice and the location is great. To continue to charge top dollar I would just suggest a bit of money spent on maintenance work around the resort, the spa has tiles missing and the filters were a bit rusted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
318 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nice location but huge concrete apartment buildings.
Room was fine but hardly furnished, looked extremely empty. Fine balcony overlooking the bay.
Restaurant was excellent and so was breakfast. Very good service.
Convenient garage

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing