We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, a little pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location, a little pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the Penthouse in the WhiteSands complex, the view was amazing and the room was clean, it was very pricey though. The breakfast was nice and the location is great. To continue to charge top dollar I would just suggest a bit of money spent on maintenance work around the resort, the spa has tiles missing and the filters were a bit rusted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    286
    220
    128
    110
See reviews for
302
419
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
325 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nice location but huge concrete apartment buildings.
Room was fine but hardly furnished, looked extremely empty. Fine balcony overlooking the bay.
Restaurant was excellent and so was breakfast. Very good service.
Convenient garage

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is without doubt the biggest rip off we have experienced in Australia. $280 for a very substandard one bed apartment at the back end of a very unattractive and poorly designed complex. The restaurants are over-priced, the pool is tiny, the wifi is not free (really??? It's 2014 you mercenaries!) and the room is utilitarian at best - definitely not the luxury that the rating and price indicate. Sort it out Shoal Bay :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I agree that the room and general decor is quite bland but cleanliness was ok for me. My room had no view -- unless you want look down at reception and the driveway. And yes, the low shower head fixture above the spa bathtub was irritating.
The carpark system has an assigned lot for the room -- useful but that means I can't park on the lower floors, but there are lifts.
Didn't use the facilities like the pool or spa so no comment.
What I enjoyed the most were the location and the food. Shoal Bay is just a short drive away from the relative bustle of Nelson Bay and the harbour. We also found that the food at SeaRock -- the bar/bistro -- perfect for our budget and taste = had dinner two nights there two nights in a row instead of driving out to look for somewhere decent to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ml2spin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The most over rated place we have ever stayed. My husband stayed here 1 night through the week. At 6pm his room wasn't made up, so swapped rooms, he told me very poor standards, the water was barely hot. Well on Saturday night I had the displeasure of finding out how poor this place is. We stayed in a 1 bedroom "apartment" over looking the beach. Firstly the carpet in the foyer is dirty and worn. The room it self was grubby and very dated. The walls were dirty and needed a good paint job. Tiles in the bathroom were cracked, dirty and mismatched. The shower over the "spa bath" was ok if you are 4 foot tall, I had to sit in the bath to be able to wash my hair. The overall room was very bland, barely any decor, so drab. I thought we were staying in a 3 star hotel, not one of the resorts of the Port Stephens area.
We had a drink in one of the bars on Saturday night, again, outdated, drab no decor, no atmosphere.
A self serviced apartment would be a much better idea.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was a treat for us and the most expensive rooms we booked in Australia. A great location. The room was beautiful and had a view out along the beach to the northwest. Considering the cost it was disappointing that WiFi was extra in this day and age. Spa was unmanned, and had suffered a power cut. We enjoyed our stay, a real treat, but some small niggles.

Room Tip: You need a view. Top floor level 8 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here after being caught in a mini cyclone and having trouble finding other cheaper accommodation. We went for the more expensive unit with the view. It was great. Perfect location, looking out on the bay. The bedroom was a bit disappointing, as at the back and no exterior windows, so a little closed in. Girl on reception was very friendly. After a bit of a mix-up with our room, we were given a bottle of wine, which was a nice touch for something that could have been a nuisance. Really enjoyed it here. We don't though usually go for places as expensive as this, so was a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciao2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing