We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Weekend away.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed this weekend...four generations of our family have been coming ( to the original Country Club and the current):)
Our stay was pleasant but there were cheap detractions..
The Unit must be the budget model..loo roll thin..towels not replaced...lifts out of order..LONG wait with my elderly father in the yucky looking car park..
Shame as it was his birthday too hence the weekend away..
Will definitely return but don't want that unit again.
Val

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangela75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear vangela75,

We are glad to hear that you and your family have been coming to the Resort over the years and still returning.

We are unsure of what apartment you were staying in during your stay. From what we can gather it would be either our Zenith Apartments or our Barrington Apartments. However if you could please provide us with more information such as your last name, room number and date of your stay to feedback@shoalbayresort.com we would be able to look into this a bit further to make sure that your next stay with us is more pleasant.

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon

Kind Regards
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    286
    219
    128
    110
See reviews for
302
418
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the weekend of 14th sept for 2 nites in a heritage beachfront apartment which had a balcony. We had a 18 month old with us. The apartment was big and clean with the balcony looking onto the beach. They should put extra toiletries in the bathroom as the ones provided are tiny and not really for 2 ppl. Bed was too hard for me, didn't sleep well for 2 nites. Also our apartment was opposite the lift and with the bedroom being at the front of the apartment it was a bit noisy. But overall I would recommend the beachfront heritage as restaurants, pool, beach and reception are in the same building so you won't have far to walk. The car park is also close. Housekeeping were late and didn't arrive till 430pm.
The resort pool is a joke for a resort this size. It is tiny. There is a adult pool and a kids pool ring next to each other, the kids pool has fountains and a little sand play area which is nice and our little one enjoyed the pool and fountain a lot. There were a handful of beach chairs scattered around and you can borrow pool towels from reception. They do have an indoor lap pool and some smaller pools in the aqua spa which is 18+ so they mite be nicer but we didn't use them as kids are not allowed there.
We had dinner at the resort's sea rock bistro which was pretty average pub food. We had all other meals including breakfast at cafes and restaurants around the area. Recommended is Gillian's cafe, the fish and chip shop around the corner of the resort and the mod Thai place. Stay clear of the Italian restaurant giovanis which is the worst food we have had.
Location wise the resort is great, shoal bay is pretty small and the resort is the main accommodations here. All restaurants are on the same strip of road as the resort and the beach is just across the street. Beach was a long narrow strip of sand but clean and pretty and not crowded. Nelson bay is less then 10min drive away for more options to eat as shoal bay is limited to 3-4 places outside of the resorts restaurants.
Service was friendly and if the weather is good I think it's a great place to stay. However we were in the top level rooms they provide and i recommend the resort based on that. Also I think in bad weather kids should be allowed in the aqua spa as I don't think it is fair for families to miss out on pool fun just because its raining, which is what happened to us on Sunday when we couldn't use the pool or beach due to rain. I have given them a lower rating based on their rigid policies. They apparently have a 25m indoor heated lap pool plus 3 indoor mineral pools in the aqua spa which should be open to families with kids during bad weather.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhakti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Bhakti_11,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked the size, cleanliness and views within our Heritage Apartments. We are also happy to hear that our staff were able to assist you during your stay. We would also like to thank you for your recommendation of our Heritage Beachfront Apartments.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the comfort of the mattress in your room during your stay. However we do offer adjustments to mattress such as mattress toppers on request. Had we been made aware of this during your stay we would have been more than happy to provide you with this complimentary service. We would have also been able to provide you and your family with more complimentary toiletries on request.

We are saddened to receive the comments regarding the pool and the size. Here at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa we do encourage a strong family environment beside the pool. We are pleased however to hear that your children enjoyed the pool. In regards to the Aqua Spa facility this is an adult’s only sanctuary for guests to escape and relax. Shoal Bay Resort & Spa has guests that come away for these reasons in particular and we are obliged to provide that environment as stated in our booking confirmation and policies.

We are surprised to hear that you were not happy with SeaRock @ Shoal Bay, as we have just recently received Silver for Restaurant & Caterings within the Hunter and Central Coast region. This includes our Catch Restaurant at Shoal Bay, SeaRock @ Shoal Bay, Promenade Room and Sandyfoot Café & Bar.

Thank you again for your feedback if you would like to provide us with some more information to feedback@shoalbayresort.com regarding your stay such as your last name, date of booking and room number we will be able to investigate this matter further.
We do hope to see you again at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I slipped up to this lovely resort for a few days break from the city . We deliberately chose mid week outside school holidays to enjoy the peace and quiet . Our room was in the Heritage wing on the beachfront and was very well appointed with comfortable bed, good size lounge and dining area and full kitchen . View gorgeous. Could a bit noisy in peak season as is above restaurant and bar but at this time of year it was no problem . The pool area is lovely and was very impressed with spa area with its 25metre indoor pool,3 spa pools ( 1 freshwater,1 mineralised water and 1 salt water.) .gym more than adequate with free weights and basic machines. Great resort shop. Parking good . Perhaps our only suggestion would be the use of a cobwebber on outdoor furniture and balcony railings, otherwise would definitely return !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear jenny_hyde,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Heritage Apartment’s and the Resort’s facilities, especially your comments on the Aqua Spa sanctuary for adults. We do hope that you and your husband manage to spoil yourselves in both the Aqua Spa and the Resort Store while you were with us.
We will take your feedback on board regarding the outdoor furniture and railings.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa.
Kind Regards,
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a one bedroom apartment in the zenith complex. A cheap room but would pay an extra $50 to stay somewhere much nicer. I got a phone call at 12:30 asking me time of arrival. Asked if we could arrive later as room wasn't going to be ready. Then talked me out of staying in the one bedroom apartment as sofabed is uncomfortable. I thought that was nice of them. Until we arrived. Our room wasn't ready 3:30pm. Was given a day pass to get into the complex to use pool. Was a yucky day so couldn't go and have a drink at a Resturant / cafe. Wanted to take my 20 month old daughter in the indoor heated pool but was unable to. Against their policy. Finally our room was ready so we moved our car thinking we were staying in a nice resort. That wasn't the case. We had to drive a block away to a horrible block of apartments. Room was dark and mould growing on the curtains and blind - which we could only open half way as broken. So little day light could b let in. I took my 86 year old grandma away with us and for us to get into the resort we had to walk through car parks and many metal stairs. Not a very easy or pleasant experience for my family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruicky9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Cruicky9182,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy during stay with us just recently.

Here at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa we offer 26 different room types and styles to suit most budgets. These rooms are spread out over 180 different apartments, studios and villas which are located across 7 different buildings. Zenith apartments and studios are our budget conscious traveller style of accommodation. At time of booking our reservations team communicates the access and location of our Zenith apartments to all guest’s who wish to book these rooms. This is also communicated throughout all of the Resort’s marketing material for this building. If you could also please provide us with further detail in regards to your stay such as last name, date of your stay, room number and even method of booking to feedback@shoalbayresort.com it would help us to investigate the matter further to see if we could have resolved any issues that may have been brought to our attention during the time of your stay.

We are sorry to hear that your were unhappy with your check-in time. We do communicate our check-in time from 2pm through all our marketing material and our reservations team upon booking. This check-in time is in line with our industry competitors and if possible we would have been more than happy to check-in you in earlier if available.

In regards to the Aqua Spa facility this is an adult’s only sanctuary for guests to escape and relax. Shoal Bay Resort & Spa has guests that come away for these reasons in particular and we are obliged to provide that environment as stated in our booking confirmation and policies. It is however unfortunate about the weather during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here in preference to Nelson Bay as I was looking for somewhere to access the beach that was reasonably flat as I was travelling with my elderly father. Arrived without a booking and was given a discounted price of just over $800 for a three night stay in a side water view unit in Barrington tower.
The view was fantastic, the location great with a few cafes etc within a couple of minutes stroll, but the unit itself disappointing for the price. It was small enough that I had to rearrange furniture for my father to navigate with his walking frame, the kitchen was fully equipped with microwave, full oven and dishwasher, but had only very basic utensils, and most strangely, the second bedroom had no window. I couldn't imagine a family with a couple of kids, or two couples sharing, staying here comfortably.
There was a basic housekeeping service daily, that made beds and emptied bins, but this didn't happen until late afternoon, so I really don't think it's a useful service. However, I found all the staff friendly and helpful, and couldn't fault this aspect.
Overall, a great location, but I can't recommend a stay here at the prices charged.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear One D,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that the Resort was able to provide you and your father with the location you were after at such short notice. We are also glad to hear that our staff were able to make your stay that little bit more enjoyable.

In regards to the price and size of your room, we would like to assist you for any future stays with us. Here at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa we have over 180 different rooms which includes over 25 different styles and sizes to suit most budgets and guest types. Our rates are seasonal and dependant upon room type and view. If you would be kind enough to provide us with further information to feedback@shoalbayresort.com such as date of your stay, last name and room number as we would like to look further into your comment.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice now. The Seaspray villa is a lot nicer than the apartment. The place is well run. The heated resort pool is very pleasant and the buffet breakfast is lovely. The beds are nice and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. It struck me overall as well run and clean. Most recently it was great to get somewhere that would accommodate you for a single night at the weekend.

Room Tip: Seaspray Villa the go for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Louise W,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa, in particular that you were pleased with your Seaspray Villa. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Resort lagoon pool and buffet breakfast.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great Location, Large Rooms with Fabulous views. Our kids loved the pool and sand area by the pool. Unfortunately the spa has seen better days and the 2 shower cubicles in the spa were old & dirty. The food too is overpriced & not particularly good quality we had dinner in Catch & Breakfast at Sandyfood. Check out time is 10am we were given a day pass to use the pool. We asked if there was somewhere we could shower the kids (6yrs & 14mths). We were told to use the public showers down the road @ the beach! As kids under 16 are not allowed in the spa nor do they have any other showers facilities. We were not offered access to a room that had not been made up either despite the hotel being dead quiet. The pool does not have an outdoor shower for us to wash the chlorine off. The toilets by the pool where we were advised to change were filthy, there was even blood stain on the door and inside the toilet! What sort of a resort & spa is this if kids have no where to showers? (Despite having a kids club over the holidays and our room prices was over $300 a nite)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bel1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Bel1a,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear the you were satisfied with the size and location of your room. We are also pleased to hear that your children enjoyed the outdoor pool.

We are surprised to hear that you felt your meals were average in Catch at Shoal Bay and Sandyfoot Café & Bar as in August this year we were awarded Silver for Restaurants & Catering within the Hunter and Central Coast regions.

In relation to the matter of your children not being allowed access to the Aqua Spa, this facility is a sanctuary for adult’s to relax in peace. At the Resort we have guests that come away for these reasons in particular. Due to this children below the age of 16 years are unable to enter the spa.

Within your confirmation correspondence that you would have received upon making your booking it states the 10am check-out and we do offer late check out’s subject to availability. We understand that 10am was a little inconvenient for you and your family at this time, which is why we were happy to provide you with free day passes for continued use of the Resort facilities after your check out.

We are sorry to hear that the bathroom facilities were not up to standard at the particular time. According to our cleaning logs these facilities were cleaned regularly throughout the day. Unfortunately it would seem that the incident you have previously mentioned has fallen between our regular routine checks.

We would like to see you at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa again. Please feel free to contact us at feedback@shoalbayresort.com so we can make your next stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Rod Hearn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing