We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa for girls weekend away. We stayed in room 506 which had a great balcony with ocean views. Our room was very clean and spacious. It had everything we needed plus the stunning views. Shoal Bay is quaint and resort is across the road from the beach! The strip of shops and restaurants have all you need. We also enjoyed time using spa facilities (included in stay).

Room Tip: Room 506 had great balcony with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Simone B,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you loved your Barrington apartment (506), especially the magnificent views that are available from this room type. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the beach, shops, restaurants and cafés within Shoal Bay and able to offer this to all of our guests. We are also very glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves in the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary and its facilities during your stay.

We look forward to you returning to Shoal Bay Resort & Spa and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards
Rod Hearn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

737 - 743 of 997 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Me and some friends stayed at Shoal Bay resort for a few days, we went up there mainly for a fishing trip so it was awesome staying so close to the beach/fishing spots. The staff were always polite and helpful and our rooms were nice and tidy. Also had alot of fun nights at the pub right next door, would definitely go again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here, this time we happened to have a work function. I am so amazed at some of these reviews, because once again, my time here was great. We were greeted by friendly staff who were only too happy to help my colleagues and , and are clearly so proud of the area (once you see the beach you will see why). Our rooms were great, catch restaurant was perfect (again) and nothing was a bother from the moment we started organising our function from the time we left. I would highly recommend this place to any family wanting a great location, any business looking to mix work with pleasure and anyone who may just want to unwind. Thank you shoal bay resort and spa for looking after my colleagues and I . From what I hear they will all be back, I know I will !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodHearn, General Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Travelpun,
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa. We are very lucky to have you as a returning customer. We are also pleased to hear that you loved your room, Catch restaurant and the service that our staff were able to provide you with.
Thank you for your recommending Shoal Bay Resort & Spa.
We look forward to seeing yourself and your colleagues again soon.

Regards
Rod Hearn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was recently booked to stay here for a work conference.

To be honest I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor, however my expectations were blown out of the water.

The service was 5 star, my colleagues and I were treated like royalty!!

the staff went out of the way to make sure we had everything we needed

The facilities were amazing, especially the spa and gym.

I loved it so much that I extended 3 days and had my wife come and join me!

All our future conferences will be held here and I cant wait!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here with our daughter for a long weekend away. We have stayed in Shoal Bay before and love the location for a get away. I must say however we were quite disappointed with the accommodation and service for the price. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in the Barrington quarters. The rooms are quite dated and certainly need a bit of a revamp as all the fittings are quite cheap. I also found parts of the room was not cleaned very well (eg. There was still a full ashtray on our balcony upon check in and the robes in the wardrobe had obviously not been replaced as they smelt like a mans aftershave!).
In terms of service, there was no effort to assist from any of the staff to enhance the stay. On checking in, no explanation of the facilities, check in/out, times for breakfast, laundry facilities etc. It was basically like "here is your key and room number". I thought there may be a compendium in the room listing the facilities etc, but there wasn't.

There is certainly a lot of opportunity to improve this resort.

Overall this resort is in a fantastic location but for the quality of accommodation and service in mind of the price, you could definitely find better value!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location everything at hotel don't need your car to go anywhere as everything is located at the hotel beach at your door step staff nice go out of there way for us seafood excellent
Would go again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a couple nights through hotels.com for the upcoming Xmas season- mostly for it's location. Based on the very mixed reviews we decided to set our expectations VERY low.

Good thing we did because we made the mistake of not clicking we had two children and assumed by booking a 1-bed apartment WITH a sofa bed, meant no charge for an 'extra bed'. WRONG.

I just got off the phone with their reservations people who called because I had not been charged the obligatory $40/night to MAKE UP THE SOFA BED. Seriously. We've never experienced this before- an additional charge to make-up a bed already in a room?! We've travelled extensively with our kids and never had this. Is this an Aus thing, or they do it just to gouge you?

Not a good way to kick-off a first experience with this place- we're not even there yet.

It's not that I really care about the extra charge at this point (I do find it a bit obscene), it was simply the aggressive (though polite I have to say) manner in which the staff pursued this with me- even relating their personal experience with being charged for this at hotels. I'm sorry, but not relevant.

I don't know if they thought I was trying to get away with getting the place cheaper- after flying half-way 'round the world, renting a car for a couple weeks, and planning on driving up and down the coast, an extra $80 is really neither here nor there, but if I took the approach these people do with my customers, I wouldn't have any. We're seriously looking for a different place at this point.

If we still stay here in the end, I will update you all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ELV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
330 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range: $121 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing