We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service- and haven't even stayed there yet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad service- and haven't even stayed there yet”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a couple nights through hotels.com for the upcoming Xmas season- mostly for it's location. Based on the very mixed reviews we decided to set our expectations VERY low.

Good thing we did because we made the mistake of not clicking we had two children and assumed by booking a 1-bed apartment WITH a sofa bed, meant no charge for an 'extra bed'. WRONG.

I just got off the phone with their reservations people who called because I had not been charged the obligatory $40/night to MAKE UP THE SOFA BED. Seriously. We've never experienced this before- an additional charge to make-up a bed already in a room?! We've travelled extensively with our kids and never had this. Is this an Aus thing, or they do it just to gouge you?

Not a good way to kick-off a first experience with this place- we're not even there yet.

It's not that I really care about the extra charge at this point (I do find it a bit obscene), it was simply the aggressive (though polite I have to say) manner in which the staff pursued this with me- even relating their personal experience with being charged for this at hotels. I'm sorry, but not relevant.

I don't know if they thought I was trying to get away with getting the place cheaper- after flying half-way 'round the world, renting a car for a couple weeks, and planning on driving up and down the coast, an extra $80 is really neither here nor there, but if I took the approach these people do with my customers, I wouldn't have any. We're seriously looking for a different place at this point.

If we still stay here in the end, I will update you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    297
    227
    133
    113
See reviews for
314
432
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travel alot for business and stay at different places in Oz, I must say I stayed at Shoal Bay Resort 6 years ago but things have changed for the worse since then... Firstly this resort is in need of a major renovation.. The staff are not very friendly and you can tell they dont want to be there.. When I had a shower the bath didnt have a shower screen so the water went everywhere and created a swimming pool on the floor... The main reason I stayed over nigth because I was travelling for long hours and needed a good sleep before a major drive the next day, Firstly let me say the matress was thin and uncomfortable. Second the room was full of dust mites, I was left scratching all night. Thirdly there is no room service available, strange for a "quality" establishment. A tent would have been cleaner. the management team should be ashamed of themselves.
To those who contemplate staying here, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorjet_NGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Decided to head up to Shoal Bay for a night away for our 26th wedding anniversary. Given that it can be quite difficult to find nice accommodation for a single night, Shoal Bay resort fit the bill nicely.

I had been on their website and was looking at some of the various room packages that they had available. On calling and inquiring about one of the packages that was available, but not quite what I was after, the girl I spoke to was extremely helpful. I was after a different room to the one on offer with that package. She was most helpful in moving things around in order to give me the upgraded room as part of the package, but not only that, also suggested that I change the package around slightly which provided not only everything I was looking for, but also at a cheaper price. This is very rare these days and goes over and above what most people would expect. I only wish I had her name in order to thank her personally.

The apartment was very spacious and well laid out, with a king size bed, lounge, bathroom with corner spa and a kitchen. Beautiful views over the bay from both the lounge and the balcony off it.

We ate in one of the on site restaurants. We chose the more down market venue as after having had quite a large lunch we were not overly hungry. Good pub comfort food I guess you could call it, and was quite tasty and reasonably priced overall.

Overall a great night away, room great, food great and staff very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Heritage overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the resort last weekend , we had a wedding to go the wedding was fantastic congratulations Justin & Bec
the room was great ,great view of the bay across the road we stayed in (white sands)
I loved the spa after a big day and night in heels it was very relaxing
we took the late check out .the staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us
definatly be back
thank you shoal bay resort for my short stay but enjoyable

Room Tip: White sands Have great Views over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall we had a great time last weekend. The view is amazing, the room was clean and tidy but definately needs a makeover or some more modern furniture. Staff were friendly but not as healpful as i have had at other places. Would go back but would like a nicer room

Room Tip: Get the nicest room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beware people -this is the most disappointing stay in any place to date, and I have just returned from OS where most all accommodation was excellent in many countries.
5 Star .... cost? 2 Star.

This resort is rated HIGHLY but offers very little,and staff have limited knowledge.
Twin Room - tired and shabby -1 set of towels for 2 people, no bath mat, mildew on bathroom tiles, air-con not working properly.
Restaurant (same complex) - most disgusting sea food buffet ever, looked days old (only 5 customers in a room for over 100 diners).
No response from management when offered written constructive criticism.
Travelers' should know this!!.Looks great on the internet, but NOT in reality!!!
2 Star...... cost? 5 Star !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndilooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i stayed in the barrington tower as a gift to ourselves before our baby was born in 2months time. Fantastic room it was everything we thought it would be spectacular views. Staff were very helpful and bubbly (key to great customer service). And services provided were above our expectations. Will be returning again for sure. And will be recommending to all of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing