We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelle1Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Michelle1Newcastle”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the resort last weekend , we had a wedding to go the wedding was fantastic congratulations Justin & Bec
the room was great ,great view of the bay across the road we stayed in (white sands)
I loved the spa after a big day and night in heels it was very relaxing
we took the late check out .the staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us
definatly be back
thank you shoal bay resort for my short stay but enjoyable

Room Tip: White sands Have great Views over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    295
    224
    131
    113
See reviews for
311
428
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall we had a great time last weekend. The view is amazing, the room was clean and tidy but definately needs a makeover or some more modern furniture. Staff were friendly but not as healpful as i have had at other places. Would go back but would like a nicer room

Room Tip: Get the nicest room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beware people -this is the most disappointing stay in any place to date, and I have just returned from OS where most all accommodation was excellent in many countries.
5 Star .... cost? 2 Star.

This resort is rated HIGHLY but offers very little,and staff have limited knowledge.
Twin Room - tired and shabby -1 set of towels for 2 people, no bath mat, mildew on bathroom tiles, air-con not working properly.
Restaurant (same complex) - most disgusting sea food buffet ever, looked days old (only 5 customers in a room for over 100 diners).
No response from management when offered written constructive criticism.
Travelers' should know this!!.Looks great on the internet, but NOT in reality!!!
2 Star...... cost? 5 Star !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndilooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and i stayed in the barrington tower as a gift to ourselves before our baby was born in 2months time. Fantastic room it was everything we thought it would be spectacular views. Staff were very helpful and bubbly (key to great customer service). And services provided were above our expectations. Will be returning again for sure. And will be recommending to all of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are a family with 2 children, ages 5 and 7. We used to go to this resort at least once a year for several years for at least 8 days per visit. We went for the location (it's an easy drive from Sydney), the kids club and the pool. We usually put our kids in kids club every day of our stay.
Our last stay will be our last stay. The resort had obviously offered some kind of deal to the public which really stretched their capabilities during our stay, and it was awful. Too many guests coming and going for cheap short package deal stays.
On weekend evenings, the kids club was filled with people who ?got free vouchers for it and our children could not get in. The only decent restaurant there (is it called catch?) was closed for a wedding one night I wanted to go, the pool was always packed.
The service was appalling. One member of staff was rude to me. Our room cleaner was lazy.
So disappointed about how this resort has gone downhill, we used to love it. After reading a lot of these reviews I can see I'm not alone in my experience.
FYI I had a massage here on one visit and it was a disgrace, more annoying than relaxing. Had a spray tan, which was excellent. The next time we stayed here I went to the spa and requested a deep tissue/remedial massage and they said that they do not offer that anymore. What other kind of massage do guests at a resort want? Unbelievable. We now go to Crowne Plaza at Hunter Valley instead. Unfortunately there is no beach there:( The spa at Crowne Plaza is amazing. The kids club at Crowne is ok but not as good as at shoal bay resort. At shoal bay I found that the staff were excellent in the kids club, they really seemed to enjoy their jobs with the kids. At Crowne they were just less happy to be there, acting like they were really doing us the biggest favour.
I suggest staying here out of school holidays when there are less guests. That might do the trick. Unfortunately our family can't come here out of school holidays, so we won't be coming here at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babbbycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I did not actually stay at the resort but just wanted to give a big thank you to the staff here. We were staying at the other end of Port Stephens in Anna Bay and had some time to kill before we caught our flight up to Queensland so we caught the bus up to Shoal Bay to climb up Tomaree to see the beautiful view. We had a dilemma however that we each had 2 heavy bags with us that would make it difficult to hike up the mountain. We stopped in to the Shoal Bay Resort and they were very kind to allow us to leave our bags there for a few hours while we hiked up the mountain and ate some lunch. When we returned to pick up our bags the staff gave us several helpful tips regarding our next destination(Byron Bay) and would not accept our gratuity that we tried to give them for their kindness. Next time we are around the Port Stephens area we will stay here for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikebTX123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Two nights given as a gift, so returned 5 years since the last time. Location is what this place has going for it, nothing else. It could be so good! Who is managing this place! As a general list of what is wrong, room carpet stained, uncomfortable, lumpy beds, lamps in bedroom don't work, tiles in bathroom cracked, grout dirty, toilet plastic, spa filthy, all quality is cheap quality, balcony chairs broken, lounges have been covered in water proof crypton fabric (for those who don't know what that is it is water proof fabric they use in nursing homes incase someone wees on them...lovely...not,), room was serviced at 4pm, genereally decorating basic, no curtains at window only a lining,, fluro lights in loungeroom which are bright and light, (a table lamp might be good....or but that would meat a side table too. Finally, freedom furniture is not commercial furnitre and might hold up in a domestic situation but not in a commercial situation. Spend some money on the decor, cleaning staff, and select quality. When i go away I like to enjoy where I'm staying and leave wanting to come back. I said I would never return last time and I will say it again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wq9hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieElvins, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi wq9hana,
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ July 20th 2013.
We are saddened to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa in July 2013.
At Shoal Bay Resort & Spa we welcome all feedback positive or negative and would like the opportunity to investigate the concerns you raised in your comment.
You have mentioned that you were not happy with the furnishings in your apartment during your stay; We are curious to know when you stayed and in which room.
Each room at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is individually furnished and owned. Furthermore many rooms on site are not managed by the Resort directly. Your feedback will allow us to review the room in question and investigate the standards of furnishing and housekeeping.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to hear from you soon.
Kind Regards,
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
318 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing