We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so disapponting. .... again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Newcastle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so disapponting. .... again”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Two nights given as a gift, so returned 5 years since the last time. Location is what this place has going for it, nothing else. It could be so good! Who is managing this place! As a general list of what is wrong, room carpet stained, uncomfortable, lumpy beds, lamps in bedroom don't work, tiles in bathroom cracked, grout dirty, toilet plastic, spa filthy, all quality is cheap quality, balcony chairs broken, lounges have been covered in water proof crypton fabric (for those who don't know what that is it is water proof fabric they use in nursing homes incase someone wees on them...lovely...not,), room was serviced at 4pm, genereally decorating basic, no curtains at window only a lining,, fluro lights in loungeroom which are bright and light, (a table lamp might be good....or but that would meat a side table too. Finally, freedom furniture is not commercial furnitre and might hold up in a domestic situation but not in a commercial situation. Spend some money on the decor, cleaning staff, and select quality. When i go away I like to enjoy where I'm staying and leave wanting to come back. I said I would never return last time and I will say it again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wq9hana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieElvins, Front Office Manager at Ramada Resort Shoal Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi wq9hana,
Thank you for your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ July 20th 2013.
We are saddened to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa in July 2013.
At Shoal Bay Resort & Spa we welcome all feedback positive or negative and would like the opportunity to investigate the concerns you raised in your comment.
You have mentioned that you were not happy with the furnishings in your apartment during your stay; We are curious to know when you stayed and in which room.
Each room at Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is individually furnished and owned. Furthermore many rooms on site are not managed by the Resort directly. Your feedback will allow us to review the room in question and investigate the standards of furnishing and housekeeping.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to hear from you soon.
Kind Regards,
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    295
    223
    130
    112
See reviews for
309
428
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For a winter break. You would think they would look after you considering the place was empty. Two hard single beds pushed together, uneven surface in the middle. No top sheet. Quilt and pillows really worn out and the towels should not even have been used as bath mats. Staff were pleasant enough. Car parking situation would be terrible if raining as you have to go to another building. I cannot think of a reason to go back. Oh..and did I say the price for one night was over $200?

Room Tip: Unless you really want the view, don't pay extra. Rooms are not fantastic. Not 5 star at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Got a bit of a deal via Wofit. Check in was very efficient and informative, covered all the bases. Parking is a bit tight if you have a bigger car but luckily not many guests during our visit. Would have been nice to have a window in the bedroom but the views from the balcony were lovely. Free WiFi in the lobby but you have to pay for it in the rooms. That is really poor. The buffet breakfast included in our deal was ok. The lifts in the accomodation block seemed to really struggle. Shower in room was dreadfully designed. Very hard to shower without getting the whole bathroom soaked. But we loved our break because we got see Whales from nearby Fingal Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Although we found the Resort very nice, Shoal Bay is very small and very quiet with very little happening - it was Autumn. Probably great for families in Summer. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt with water views, in the Whitesands block. The heating wasn't working, we reported it and were soon moved to another room. This was no problem to the staff who came and moved our stuff for us. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. Located directly opposite the beach. Worst thing was the sofas which look OK but weren't that comfy to sit on. Thought the shower in a spa bath was a bit weird, and certainly wouldn't be easy for an old person.

Sandy foots cafe was quite nice, but disappointingly it closes at 2pm. The outdoor area of the pub is very nice and the food is OK. Staff throughout the resort were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

I would certainly go back for a short quiet break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location, oposite beautiful beach! We stay in one bedroom apartment. We stay there three days and place was not serviced. They said they are 4.5 star and I would say more likely 3.5 star. Outdoor pool was cold, restaurants attached to hotel was very average (decor and food) and no concierge available. I wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here last year for 3 nights, and lets just say the bedding was absolutely appaling, it was so uncomfortable so I would never stay again for that reason. The other facilities such as the restaurant and the day spa are really great. So if your looking at going don't stay here but definitely come to and have a meal at their restaurant or a service at their day spa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked a 2 night getaway with my wife for the June long weekend. Selected the Heritage room, beachfront with balcony. Arrived Saturday afternoon and check-in proceeded smoothly. Room consisted of a king-size bedroom just inside the door with an adjoining bathroom with corner spa bath and separate shower. The room also included a neatly hidden cupboard laundry, a small kitchenette with large fridge, cooktop/oven and microwave oven. Furniture included a 4seat round table, a 2 seat leather lounge, and one seat leather chair. Flat screen tv, plus a DVD player. Balcony furniture included two outdoor chairs and a small side table.
Issues: there were inadequate/non-existent instruction manuals for tv operation - found Foxtel by accident. Digital tv coverage of free to air channels fell out frequently. A IPod dock was also in the room, not plugged in, and when plugged in, discovered not to be working.
Bathroom had only one plug, which did not fit any plug hole. Toilet constantly ran, emptying the sisters causing it to be filled-up every 10 minutes - wonderful e sound to have beside a bedroom, all night.
No shower cap.
Supplied toiletries were sufficient for one person, and were of very average quality.
The room was not made up - the hotel has a number of accommodation packages and not all rooms are made up daily. Our rate included daily servicing, which was confirmed with the front desk. We complained over the lack of service when housekeeping had not removed rubbish, made beds etc by 5pm. We were told that this was a busy weekend and other rooms needed to be made up first. We pointed out that the hotel had taken our booking, demanded upfront payment and would not provide cancellation refunds, therefore it was entirely up to the hotel to provide the advertised level of service. They apologized and reiterated that they had been busy. Getting nowhere with the conversation we pointed out that the standard was unacceptable.
Room service - due to the lack of information in the room we sought advice from the front desk that room service was available from the searock cafe which is internal to the hotel. We were assured that as we were in the Heritage room, we could have room service. We placed the order and were called when it was ready - to come and collect the meal. We were advised then that the cafe was too busy to provide room service. My wife is disabled and unable to leave the room to go to another venue for a meal without time consuming preparation there, feeling trapped, I went to collect our 'room service' meal. I was shown the meal at the kitchen but before I could collect it, I was told to go to the bar to sign for it. The queue to order meals was 30 deep. I went back to the kitchen and told them that I was not prepared to wait in a queue to sign for a meal while it went cold. The meal, by the way, was fish, chips and steamed veggies. Sensing my frustration the kitchen staff called the bar staff and arranged for me to go to the front of the queue to sign for the meal.
We met other patrons during our stay who expressed similar frustrations.
WiFi was available - at a premium rate of $5 per hour. Suggest a better alternative is to go to the coffee shop 50m down the road, where WiFi is free and the coffee and service are good.
Breakfast is buffet style and very basic. No option of cooking to order was available. Bacon was cooked in bulk and obviously finished off in an oven where it was then placed in baine-maries as 'bacon slabs' with the outer layers burnt and inner layers uncooked. Table service was good, with frequent removal of used crockery.
Late check-out was available - but at a cost. $30 for a 1200 checkout, $50 for a 2pm checkout.
To be fair, we did not use the spa facilities in the hotel. We did meet a young couple in the lift, shivering while dressed in swimmers, as they had been ordered to return room towels as they were not allowed in the spa area.
Shoal Bay is a lovely place, but the treatment of guests by this hotel is a sad reflection on overall hospitality.

Room Tip: If you book a room with balcony, check that you can actually sit on it - many rooms have balcony sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
144 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing