We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
2 reviews
“Great destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I loved this place. Right across from an amazing beach, plenty of dining and drinking options, great pool and the aqua spa is amazing. The staff are very friendly and personally, I felt they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. A great destination and a great way to relax. Will be back

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    277
    217
    125
    108
See reviews for
296
410
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in November. Bad service at check in and rooms dirty.. Complained but told there was no other rooms available. Was so looking forward to a nice relaxing weekend and was sadly disappointed. This hotel has gone so downhill over the lat few years... I will never be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smileytraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at shoal bay resort on the 15th January,had side water view in barrington building which was very nice,went to spa which was also good although I think the age should be lowered for children from 14 to 12 with an adult.

Went to country club for dinner & had fish & chips for $18.00.
The meal had salad although the fish was disappointing,cheap shark with a MASSIVE amount
Of batter which you had to carve through to find the fish.
My daughter had kids snizetel which didn't look like fresh chicken breast, something frozen instead?
Also ate at buffet which is a bit pricey,found food cheap & prawns made in Thailand (no sign to state this)being a seaside suburb you would expect fresh local produce.

Save your money & go to Bobs fish & chips across the road a bit expensive but you always get good fish
& won't be disappointed.

Shame such a lovely resort but food quality poor!

Room Tip: Check to make sure waterfront rooms are not on the Main Street otherwise it will be very Noisy espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Jan 2013 but have previously stayed before.

Pros:
Central location in Nelson Bay
Lovely views overlooking sea and Tomaree (mountain)
Rooms serviced daily
Rooms packed with features such as a full kitchen, spa, TV and lounge (dependant on room type)
Spacious
Great facilities (several pools, dedicated spa and gym, pool room/common room)

Cons:
No Wi-Fi in room
Breakwater a little isolated from facilities

Would recommend, value was poor, but expected for the time of year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soniclicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lunch in Promenade Room most disappointing.Paid $80.00 a head plus $25.00 for a window
table in all $425.00 for 5 adults. Sat looking at a wall....Told we had to vacat our table at 2pm
after arriving at 12.30pm ...had no prior knowledge of this .No tableclothes or placemats which
I think is very poor for Xmas lunch. I felt for the price it was below standard and would not
recommend it. We were not the only disgruntled customers on the day either...I only hope they
make their feelings known too.I have tried in vain to contact the events manager but she is not
returning my emails.We had several meals at the Hotel Bistro while in Shoal Bay and found the
food and staff most agreeable,but never again will we do Xmas Lunch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JOE712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked in December 2012 by telefone a "Heritage apartment" which cost 440 Dolar per night. When we arrived we were shocked. It was a noisy, very busy house at the street front with restaurant odors. Our apartment had a living room right above the street (noisy, smelly), a dark bedroom without a window (!!!), in the bathroom was 1 window that could not be opened. We left immediately and went down to Newcastle. although it was already dark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChristianaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked a stay at the Shoal Bay Spa & Resort on the 24th December and the 25th December 2012 First night I stayed was fine, the next day my family and I paid for a Gourmet Lunch Buffet in the amount of $175.00 and once we started to eat the meal we realized how disgusting it was. Firstly, Poultry Meat was mixed in with Dairy Meet, the seafood was not covered and dried up, after a few minutes we could not stomach the food and left, I approached a lady at reception were I told her about the issue and was offered no compensation and that I would have to Speak with the Duty Manager, I did this on the day and Spoke with a Gentleman name Dean (DUTY MANGER) he also said he could not help me with this and that I had to take this up with the General Manager (ROD HEARN) Also that morning, we left our sign outside our room requesting our towels be change.. Upon returning to our room about 1:30pm the towels had not be changed.. I contacted Natalie at reception requesting this be done ASAP, my family left the resort for a couple of hours thinking that it would of been done before our return, this was not the case.. About 5 mins after our return two young ladies entered the room to change the towels, this was inconvenient to us as we had just come from swimming in the pool... Later that day the power went down in our building, this was a great inconvenience as their was no air-conditioning, no lights or anything... The hotel did not call us to inform us of any problems, I went down 6 flights of stairs to ask reception and they told me it was an Energy Australia issue. I spoke with a lady on the phone in reception and told her that this was a real inconvenience to us and she didn't offer any compensation and that they have had this issue before in the complex.. Knowing this problem, they should of offered some kind of compensation. My family and I could not Stay on CHRISTMAS DAY and had to leave..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing