We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply awful - do NOT stay at this revolting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply awful - do NOT stay at this revolting hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a 3-day stay at this sub-standard hotel. We were booked in for 4 nights but ended up leaving early as we couldn't bear to stay the last night. We booked a 1 bedroom Whitesands beachfront apartment. When we arrived from Sydney on Friday night, we soon discovered that the apartment had a fault with the air-conditioning. We rang through to reception who sent somebody to investigate. The fault could not be fixed and so we were subsequently moved at 10p.m. (with 2 exhausted young children in tow) to another apartment 2 doors down (no apology given). The apartment was dirty (the inside of the sanitary bin in the bathroom was a disgrace). The apartment had been advertised as having a 'full kitchen' - this was not the case. There was no hob and only the tiniest fridge and microwave. We soon also discovered that the toilet did not stop running and that the fridge door did not shut properly. Unbelievable considering the price. The pool was great - the kids loved swimming, the views were lovely although he road was a little noisy at night (our apartment was right above the bus stop). The breakfast was fine (if you don't look down at the baked beans trodden into the multicoloured carpet). However, the service was appalling - we kept saying, what would the Americans think?! Seriously, the service was DREADFUL - rude and arrogant beyond belief. There are many other things I could mention but please take it from me, this place does not deserve your hard earned money - go to Peppers instead. FAR more classy - and the same price.

Room Tip: Do NOT chose the Whitesands Beachfront apartments. Very noisy road. Small and DIRTY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    286
    220
    128
    110
See reviews for
302
419
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a couple of days in Shoal Bay this year and more than what other reviews commented on the rooms and overrating of the hotel, the rude behaviour of the personnel was bothering us. They were not helpful in any aspect and were very arrogant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laleh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shoal Bay hotels

Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We are long term visitors to the area but have never stayed at the resort before. Staff were excellent, check in and check out nice and quick. We arrived 1.5 hours before standard check in but this wan't an issue. Fully self contained apartment and was spotless with a great view over the beach. Perhaps an apartment further away from the pub would be a good move. Was a little noisy at times. Breakfast at the Sandy Foot also included and was first rate. Overall a very nice break away and we'll be back for our 30th next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyJim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After paying a good deal of money to stay at this "resort", we were greeted by staff that would best be described as nonchalant. After pointing that our "doublebed" was in fact two singles pushed together, we were told that this was standard practice not only in their resort, but happens everywhere else too. Additionally, the wifi that came free with the room did not work, and our towels were more stained that a chain smokers roof.

I'm not saying you shouldn't stay here, I just think that sleeping in the ditch outside would be a better option...

Room Tip: sleep in previously mentioned gutter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wisey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in the Barrington Towers. This place is lovely and maintained to a good standard. The room is comfortable with a great view. Good access to the beach - across the road. The apartment is self contained and has all the basics you need.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here on a whimsical decision. We were offered a pool room. The room itself was spotless. I was also impressed with the King size bed. The bathroom was absolutely huge but I felt it needed at least a small foot stool or something to put feet on when drying. The room was also very quiet at night, whether that was due to the time we stayed (mid week) so not sure what it is like during the busy period (Xmas - January)
However I would definately stay here again.
I loved the lap pool & 3 different spas.

Room Tip: We were in the pool room downstairs - it was facing West, but the room has a good curtain to block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedancer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Breakwater, great view of sea and beach. Spacious two-bed apartment with balcony. Reasonable dining options close by but be careful - main eve restaurant (Catch) booked both nights we were there for weddings. Spa also fully booked so make sure you book well ahead. Wi-fi not inc although feel it should be, given high rates.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shoal Bay
0.9 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Shoal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Shoal Bay

Property: Ramada Resort Shoal Bay
Address: 35-45 Shoal Bay Rd, Shoal Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Shoal Bay Resort & Spa)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Shoal Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shoal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Resort Shoal Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoal Bay Resort & Spa is the ultimate beachfront Resort perfect for romantic escapes, family holidays, pamper weekends, beach getaways, weddings, special events and meetings and business. Shoal Bay lays by the entrance to Port Stephens, overlooking the white sands and the magnificent volcanic Tomaree headlands. Boasting crystal clear waterways and extensive National Park with unspoiled bushland, Shoal Bay is certainly one of New South Wales most stunning destinations. Just 2.5 hr drive north of Sydney and 30mins from Newcastle, this award winning Resort offers a diverse range of accommodation styles and options to suit a variety of budgets and can accommodate up to 700 guests. Accommodation ranges from Standard Studios through to Waterview, Beachfront and Bayview rooms with a choice of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments located across 7 accommodation buildings. The Resort features 4 restaurants including the award winning Catch at Shoal Bay, 5 bars, the iconic Country Club Hotel, Occie’s Kids Club (operating throughout NSW School Holidays periods), Shoal Bay Resort Store, Whitesands Conference Centre, an outdoor heated Resort pool with children’s wading area and complimentary secure undercover parking. Relax at the Aqua Spa wellbeing sanctuary for adults (min 16 yrs+) offering a true Thalassotherapy experience for guests through the 3 mineral spa pools and 25m heated lap pool. Take yourself on a journey to revive your mind, body and soul, indulge in a range of menu treatments that enhance the total well being and surrender to the experience of products that will relax, de-stress and energise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Resort Shoal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoal Bay Hotel Shoal Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing