We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
22
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are hugehuge amountswimming poolsurf boardsplace to stayvenusalongltowelsguyssurfingsiargaoisland
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 25 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Very elegant and comfortable place to stay. located on a beautiful hill Overlooking a breathtaking panoramic view of the island.
The rooms are big and well designed.
The staff was proffessional and kind.
The owner is a pro surfer and can help you find the perfect hidden surfspots arround.
They also serve really good Food and in decent prices, and even if your not staying there, come enjoy the great food.
Very nice experience!!!

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank shandiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2015

We came as a group of 3 families with 6 kids and took over the 3 rooms of the Villa Maya. Beautiful place up on a hill, nicely removed (10-15 walk or less than 5 mins/50 pesos moto-taxi ride) from Cloud 9 strip of resorts/cafes/shops. Large pool and deck with lovely view over the rice paddies and small golf course, which was a nice break from beach/ocean activities for both adults & kids.
Hosts Alon & Venus (& their team) are lovely and extremely helpful in organizing activities and providing inputs on plans. Villa Maya restaurant, where we did half board, was excellent on everything we ate, and provided a nice mix of local, international, fresh seafood and Arabic dishes. Venus was helpful to suggest and cater to different options based on fresh availability in the markets.

highly recommend this for couples or families looking for a relaxing stay, with easy access to but not in the middle of the Cloud 9 resorts/shops/noise.

we look forward to coming back with friends/family again in future years!

Room Tip: all rooms have own veranda/patio space. upper floors have private balcony, elevated view
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2014

We've been to Maya Villa a couple of times and we liked the place so much we decided to book all their 3 rooms over the Halloween holiday. Alon & Venus, along with their staff, were very friendly and accommodating. We loved their pool and the view was just gorgeous! Food was great (their Israeli breakfast is a must-try!).

We had a little issue with the AC, but overall it was a superb stay. Thank you Maya Villa, and see you again soon!

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd largest room with its own balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wandertoes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014

We were 1 week there that looked like 2 or 3 days. It's a very nice and peaceful place with nice people always ready to help. They help also to organize tours to visit the best places in the Island. Cloud 9 is close to the hotel. We had some difficulties with the access to the internet.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here with 2 small kids for around 18 days - great trip.
Alon and his wife Venus (and their extended family) our excellent hosts.
Alon knows all the surf spots and we were lucky enough to surf a couple of perfect 4-6ft line ups. You can see all the main breaks from the top floor of the house. We surfed great stimpy's a few times and also a couple of other breaks which Alon will recommend depending on the conditions.
Venus helped us to get a full time nanny for the whole trip and she was very reliable and a big help for us parents to relax and enjoy the holiday.
The food is good and the fish in particular is the best - we had daily offerings of bluefin tuna or Blue Marlin.
Alon is personally building a Par 3 golf course and its great! very convenient when the surf is down or to hit a few balls with the wife.
We also liked the swimming pool and we gave the kids swimming classes every day.

Apart from the surf, we also recommend:
- Kalinaw - wood fire oven pizzas
- La Luna - cheap cocktails and good tropical chicken curry
- the boulevard area in GL for local style bbq - you can bring your own fish from the market.

Ask Venus to buy speciality seafood like Lobsters, Jumbo Prawns or crab which either they can cook up or you can bring to the local BBQ restaurants. They cooked up an excellent meal of garlic crab and great value price.

Alon hooked us up with a rental scooter (highly recommended) on day 1 and a surfboard. Venus can arrange surf lessons with ex-local champions which is great for the family or novice surfer.

Room Tip: The second floor room has a great big balcony with hammock = good choice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChinaStevosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews