We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Greenhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in General Luna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenhouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in General Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Greenhouse in Siargao is by far one of my favourite places to visit. The owners are wonderful, the staff is fantastic, the food is delicious and the rooms are beachy and clean. The owners and staff are more than accomodating, organising day trips for you either out at sea or around the island. There's a yummy set menu but you can make requests for changes if you'd like. Fantastic view of the ocean and at night you can hear the waves through the massive screen doors. I learned to surf while staying here the first time I visited Siargao and have been back since! The Greenhouse is really a gem in the Philippines and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Greenhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Simply put, this place is paradise in paradise. However you want to spend your day the greenhouse staff make it possible. Surfing deserted breaks, snorkelling, stand up paddling, take a boat trip and have a picnic and spend the day on a tiny sand island with just you and your friends, explore the island by motorbike, go to the markets, eat amazing food at the greenhouse, play bocce on the greenhouse lawn or simply rancho relax in the hammocks or the super well made greenhouse rooms. The staff are amazing and you will virtually have the greenhouse to yourself. This review sounds too good too be true but the greenhouse is even better than i imagined and i can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great spot to stay for a few days/weeks or months. We stayed for 5 nights in the middle house on the beachfront and woke up to some amazing views each morning. Food served to your house each meal and plenty of surf and sun to fill your days. Not all of my family surfs, and we found a million ways to fill our time. Not a backpakers, but not exactly 5*. It has fridge, free wifi and great speakers to play some tunes.

Great staff, friendly, safe environment and found the locals to be amazingly helpful caring people.

Hardwood bungalows and local materials give the place a handmade feeling. Great spot!

Room Tip: All are beautiful, find which ones will fit right for your group.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The place is incredible, simply put. The owners are wonderfully helpful and accomadating. The surf is fantastic. The staff are great and personable, and the property and housing are first class.

I can't really go on much more. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasisthereason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The cottages at Greenhouse are the best I've seen in the Philippines. All hardwood construction, tall ceilings, and huge verandahs that open right up to the ocean views. It's clear that huge effort has been put into the gardens, which are both lush, beautiful, and do a great job of screening those verandahs, to keep a feeling of privacy. The veggie / herb garden is also great to see.

There's heaps of nice little touches that anyone who has travelled a lot in the Philippines will appreciate... filtered water on tap in your room, so no need to constantly buy plastic bottles; super comfy imported mattresses, bedsheets and fluffy towels; an amazing speaker system better than my one at home; a bar fridge stocked full of cold San Mig; huge, effectively ceiling fans instead of noisy AC; and wifi that actually works, at decent speeds.

It's a small place, and has a great "family" vibe. Breakfasts, lunches and dinners are all ordered when the meal before is served to the table on your verandah. There isn't a hugely extensive menu, but everything was fresh, healthy and delicious. There's a different "special" for every day, and although you could order something else if you wanted, I was always happy with what was offered. One morning a couple of fishermen rocked up on the beach selling squid = fresh calamari for lunch.

There's a couple of greenhouse boats which went out to the surf breaks every day (although I'm not a surfer), and driver Dodong is on hand with his van for land trips and tips on gambling at the cockpit on Sundays. Andrew, Paddy and the staff go out of their way to help you organise fun stuff... without putting any pressure on you to do anything other than lie in a hammock, which was refreshing.

Next time I go back to Siargao I'll definitely be staying at Greenhouse...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Greenhouse is, without a doubt, my "happy place." The best nights of sleep I've ever had have been at the Greenhouse. From the comfortable and cozy bungalows to the friendly staff, one cannot help but feel the stresses of the everyday leave your body the closer you get to Greenhouse from Dapa Pier/Siargao airport -- and I haven't even mentioned the breathtaking ocean views or that all the secret (and not so secret) surf breaks are merely a short boat ride away. I appreciate everything about this place: the beautiful bungalows each with their own verandas (complete with wifi!), the handmade menus and activity offerings with photos of each staff member so you can get to know everyone by name, the amazing jungle-like garden which divides the property and makes each house feel like you're in you're own little world...I could go on and on about this place! Part of me wants to try and keep this place a hidden spot so it never becomes overrun with tourists :)

Room Tip: I'm partial to the 3rd house and 2nd house ("big house"). You can't go wrong with...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shsiao05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've travelled to lots of parts of this globe but the small patch of heaven that is 'Greenhouse' on Siargao has gotta be one of the best places to kick back for a few days, weeks or however long the mood takes you. Truly awesome - beautiful accommodation, delicious food and amazing staff all contributed to one of my best holidays ever - not to mention the boat access to some of the cleanest, hollowest waves around. Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mista C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near General Luna
0.1 mi away
Reef Beach Resort
Reef Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in General Luna
125 reviews
4.2 mi away
DEDON Island Resort
DEDON Island Resort
#4 of 9 in Siargao Island
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
Siargao Paraiso Resort
Siargao Paraiso Resort
#4 of 6 in General Luna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunset Bay Villas
Sunset Bay Villas
#6 of 6 in General Luna
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
Siargao Bleu Resort and Spa
#5 of 6 in General Luna
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buddha's Surf Resort
Buddha's Surf Resort
#3 of 9 in Siargao Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhouse

Address: Catangnan, Siargao, General Luna, Mindanao 8419, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Surigao del Norte Province > Siargao Island > General Luna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in General Luna
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest house in a beachfront setting with world class waves and delicious food on tap! We pride ourselves on providing market fresh and organic meals. We can cater to any food needs or restrictions. Private boats and drivers with Santa Cruz Surfboards available for rent. Siargao caters to all types of travelers and plenty of activity locally, not just limited to surf out here. Let the kids run and play in our private gardens and lounge on your private balcony and take in the spectacular views on offer : We look forward to meeting you out here and showing you around the town : Come join us at Greenhouse : Siargao, Philippines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhouse Siargao Island/General Luna, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing