We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese restaurant in the area”
Review of The Rickshaw

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rickshaw
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Mayland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mayland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant in the area”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been having takeaway's from the rickshaw since 2002 and have never had a duff meal and I have recommend this as a takeaway ever since. I have only eaten in the restaurant a few times but again the quality has been amazing. From the outside being a petrol station you would not realise this was a top eating place but you will never forget it once you have eaten there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for reviews!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Without having read the reviews we would not have spotted this restaurant as it is tucked away down the side of a petrol station.Food and service were both excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Chinese on the Dengie Peninsular”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Yes it's rather rural, yes it's next to a service station but ignore that. It's well worth a drive to get there. The staff and service can not be faulted. We have been there on numerous occassions. As a couple, with friends and the last visit was with a club and we booked the entire venue for a Sunday lunch. The staff were amazing having to deal with 70 of us sitting down to a 4 course set menu. The food was fantastic and lots of it! This is a lovely friendly restaurant and we will continue to enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great service both eat in and take away. Great food.
As previous reviews state it is situated next to a service station but don't be put off by this, it really is a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Coast
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A well kept local secret!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I am amazed that this restaurant has only one other review at the time of writing. I have frequented it since it first opened about 25 years ago. The owner is a charming and urbane Hong Kong Chinese gentleman and the staff are superb; all very friendly and efficient. Delightful quality decor which belies its unprepossessing location next to a petrol station (which is also an excellent family run concern with no connection with the restaurant).

The fact that it has survived all these years speaks for itself. Extensive a la carte menu and really good set meals. Go for the top of the range range Emperors Banquet. Quality ingredients and good wine list.

The Chinese New Year celebrations are rather special and need to be booked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRiparian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rickshaw also viewed

 

Been to The Rickshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing