We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Agriturismo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Melograno
Ranked #1 of 1 Pianello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Elegant Agriturismo”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just visited the restaurant, but would have loved to stay. Beautiful location. Lovely drive up the hillside to the venue. Sat outside and were welcomed by friendly professional staff who really knew their menu and understood their clientele. Truly wonderful, genuinely locally sourced ingredients, prepared and served with passion. A very elegant evening, yet relaxed and good for families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    92
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
224
227
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Il Melograno for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. As we were a bit late to book, we did not stay at the main building, but in the smaller house near the main building. The facilities of the place are excellent - a pool with amazing views, a large playground for the kids, restaurant...There is a vegetable garden and they have sheep, horses and chicken. My son even had a chance to try some horse riding.
The bedroom was very well equipped - bottles of still and sparkling water on arrival, a kettle and a good selection of teas, a mini bar (prices were very reasonable), toiletries in the bathroom, including cotton pads, sewing kit etc.
Dinner in the restaurant was very tasty - 5 courses of delicious local food. The staff was very friendly as well, joking with our kids.
Breakfast is Italian style - mostly sweet. I actually counted 11 different cakes on the table - chocolate cake, marble cake, apple pie and strudel, cheesecake, almond cake... you name it. All home made and absolutely delicious.
We saw many other families there with kids, my kids quickly made friends on the playground. So if you are a family with kids, Il Melograno is the ideal place to stay in Perugia/Assisi region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristi132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is indeed a fabulous place, perched on a hilltop with commanding views over Perugia and the valley which leads to Assisi. The restaurant lives up to all the other reviews, great quality (we had potato soup with honey and coffee... delicious!) And very generous helpings. The staff are very helpful, and the welcome is warm and genuine.
If you come on a bike, keep some energy for the last climb up the hill..!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alastair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DARDAGO
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a wonderful find, though placing it in Perugia is incorrect. It is quite a ways out, in Pianello. You will not soon be climbing the hills of Perugia after walking out the door of the hotel. That said, it is a wonderful place, with beautiful views from its hilltop location. We love "rustic" and this place has it in spades - although all the necessary things - bathroom, etc. - are quite modern. The boss is simply extraordinary. The kitchen was closed our first night there and we opted to make a picnic. He graciously laid out a cutting board, plates, knives, napkins and glasses for us. What class! The 25 Euro meal is a steal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Weekend of January 19-21, 2013 stayed at Il Melograno. Though this is actually low season and the restaurant was closed, the Manager went out of his way to take care of us. They had a wonderful wood pellet stove in the closed restaurant which he opened to us for the evening and allowed us to stay and read, drink some wine and have some amazing desserts Italian style. Their house wine named after the Hotel was scrumptious. Rooms were very comfortable, fabulous pressure in the shower and an amaging view looking out over the valley. Great location in order to see surrounding areas with Gubbio, Assisi, Norcia, Perugia very close by. Summertime would be wonderful there with their pool, outdoor seating areas and hilltop view. Highly recommend and cant wait to go back and try the restaurant in season! Would return even in low season for the wonderful staff, pleasant rooms and the fireplace wood stove!

Room Tip: I didnt spend alot of time in the room but recommend the second floor for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have lived in Italy for nearly 3 years, and when we want to escape to paradise, this is where we go. We've been at least 8-10 times. It's the best food we've ever had - you must eat dinner here every night if you come! 5 course spectacular dinner for 25 Euro! The apetizer plate alone can fill you up with 10 different and creative items to taste! The same meal in the US would easily be $100. Spectacular views. Right between Assisi & Perugia. It's like a dream walking through the beautiful grounds. The kids love visiting the different animals, swimming in the pool, playing on the playground, and of course, riding the pony! The family speaks no English, but they are lovely, and patient, and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but really, we spend very little time in them because being outside here is what's really special. I hate to give away my secret paradise, but these guys deserve as much business as they can take on. We've enjoyed our visits in every season, but our favorite is between November and February when truffles are in season!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyProTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Il Melograno in July. The place is beutifully situated at the top of a hill overlooking the valley below. The buildings are all nicely renovated and are very well kept. The rooms are adequate even though the bathrooms are small (classic room). They are spotless and were cleaned everyday, with new towels in the bathroom also. In fact it was the service and willingness of all the staff to make our stay very enjoyable that made the holiday for us. The food is another aspect. We read good things about the food, here on TA, but it exceeded our hopes. Our five year old daughter was made very welcome and she enjoyed herself a lot, especially with the waiters Fabio and Fillipe, who made it memorable for us all. The new pool is a great addition even though the landscaping was not completed. We hope to return again and enjoy all the facilities and meet all the people at Il Melograno again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerHOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianello
6.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
820 reviews
3.5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
10.7 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Agriturismo La Ginestrella
1.9 mi away
Ripa Relais
Ripa Relais
#6 of 110 in Perugia
443 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tenuta di Forte Sorgnano
Tenuta di Forte Sorgnano
#13 of 110 in Perugia
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Melograno

Property: Agriturismo Il Melograno
Address: Strada Colle Palazzone n. 4, 06134 Pianello, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Pianello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pianello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Agriturism Il Melograno is an ancient and charming farmhouse in the green Umbrian countryside, where hospitality, authenticity and nature mix to create a unique atmosphere for our Guests. From the ancient structure 11 rooms have been created, with a refined taste and comfort, perfectly consistent with its way of being. The Farmhouse Il Melograno will allow you to live a unique experience also for services, recreational activities, aspects of farming life, cooking classes, horse riding for children, panoramic pool and our Wellness Area. Strategically situated among the city of St. Francis Assisi in 15 Kms away, the historic center of Perugia, rich of art and culture or the medieval Gubbio in 20 minutes by car as well as the fascinating Spoleto in 30 ones. For all a chance to share with friends and family any sort of interesting experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Melograno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Melograno Italy/Pianello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing