We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphins View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachview
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphins View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Beachview B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I visited this guesthouse again on my trip to South Africa and I wasn't disappointed. Elaine has kept up the same standards as I found on my previous visit. Dolphinsview is situated on the beachfront and is certainly aptly named as we saw dophins frolicking in the sea everyday, we also saw whales. The rooms are very clean and comfortable furnished with all the amenities that you need for a pleasant stay. Elaine is very friendly and makes sure that you have everything that you need. I will certainly stay here again on my next holiday in SA,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
33
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have traveled every 3 days to different locations in and around the country, for the last 36 months and I feel it imperative, to write a review, for Dolphins View Guest House, as I have yet to stay at a venue,where the hostess is more friendly, and accommodating,

The view is spectacular, the crisp clean sea breeze making you feel like you have just soared above the heavens for a while.

Throughout my many travels, for work, it is almost with a feeling of angst that we get to the places that was booked for us, but what a pleasant surprise was it, being met by a lovely hostess, welcoming us with such open arms.

You cannot help but feel like part of the family, 5 minutes after you've stepped into your unit.

All units are immaculately clean, and a lot of care is taken that everything one should need, is in the unit,
There is not a guest house that I have stayed in for the last 36 months, that has surprised me more.

It is with an open heart that I can recommend this Guest House to anyone needing to travel to Port Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Choose a place where you are welcome and feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Its very difficult to balance, value, hospitality and with a geat sea view, Elaine has managed this.
well done. my stay of about a month was superb throughout. You will see dolphins on most days, and parking is very safe in a quite location, 20 odd km's out of town is not far and is definitely worth the ride. The rooms are neat and functional and well maintained by friendly staff. there are a couple of good resturants within a 7 km radius. I can def. recommend the Guest House.
thank you
Douglas

Room Tip: most of the rooms have great sea views I enjoyed the bigger room no. 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoemansdal, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I couldn't have been more pleased with this guest house. When I showed up at Elaine's door at 9 pm, I hadn't had dinner yet and was exhausted from an entire day of travel. She took me in and got me sorted with no problems whatsoever.

The next morning, I awoke to see the dolphins just offshore, slowly making their way across the ocean. I had a lovely run along the beach, took a hot shower, and enjoyed my coffee and rusks.

I would have liked to have stayed longer, but this Guest House gets high marks across the board. Elaine was lovely and I really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stay at Dolphin's View (DV) on and off for the last 4 years whenever I visit South Africa from London (usually about three times a year) and will continue to do so whenever I am in PE, every-time I have found the suites (have stayed in all) to be perfect for a holiday this close to the coast, its hard to get closer and have such a stunning vista at the same time. The value for money and quality of the rooms, are partly the reasons for return visits, however, the absolute winner for me every time is the location and the opportunity to have sundowners at the pub. The hospitality, with a nothing is too much trouble attitude, makes for a wonderful and relaxing stay every-time. My last visit in June 2012 was with my young daughter (10) who felt very much at home and felt secure to the extent of being happy for me to go out sans a baby sitter, an offer I chose to turn down. I cannot recommend staying at DV highly enough and strongly encourage anyone heading to that part of South Africa to add at least one night at DV, which I am sure will lead to a few more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amos123london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Dolphin's view guest house is marvellous. Excellent location and facilities. Dolphin's aplenty. Elaine the owner is marvellous. Very enthusiastic and proud of Dolphin's VIew. It's very spacious and clean. We stayed there for 3 days before heading inland. Lots of dolphins too..

Room Tip: 5 star location!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

As we had been there before we used Dolphin's View as a bolthole for our visit to ZA this year. Elaine always has the establishment spick and span and her enthusiasm never changes. We spent a few days there before flying up to Durban for a week and then returned. On this visit we saw dolphins every day practically. Lots of them. Dolphin's View location is stunning especially the sunset's. Really it 's worth while reading the web page. Although the guest house is about 20 minutes drive from PE it is worth the drive. It's like something out of the Californian coastline... absolutely stunning!!!!

Keep up the good work Elaine....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beachview
0.2 mi away
16 Beach Music
16 Beach Music
#1 of 5 in Beachview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murphys
Murphys
#2 of 5 in Beachview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.4 mi away
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Blue Horizon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Otters Lodge
Sea Otters Lodge
#15 of 66 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
18.5 mi away
Summer Blue Guest House
Summer Blue Guest House
#12 of 43 in Summerstrand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins View Guest House

Property: Dolphins View Guest House
Address: 4 Seestrand Way, Beachview, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Beachview
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beachview
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering suites with the option of meals (with notice). All accommodation is sea facing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing