We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omakau Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omakau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Every time I have eaten here the food has been absolutely super. No complaints at all, friendly staff, comfortable atmosphere and great locals. If your ever traveling through the area definitely make this a priority stop for dinner.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi there. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoy dining with us - it makes our efforts all the more worthwhile! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are through. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely old hotel with a real feel of nostalgia about it. Warm, cosy rooms and restaurant. Portion sizes are very generous! Our waiter was very friendly. Great place to stop for a meal and/or accomodation on the Otago Rail Trail.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNFWRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello there! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and can see what we have been trying to create. We are going onto our winter hours next week which will give us a chance to carrying on finishing things upstairs. Once again, thank you for your lovely words and we look forward to having you with us again. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our 2nd night on the rail trail was spent at this hotel. We were greeted by Matt who showed us around the hotel and to our rooms. The atmosphere is delightful, all of the staff were so helpful and the meals were outstanding!! The rooms all have some interesting notes about their history and they were presented really well.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a good bathroom :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and can see what we are trying to achieve here. It is a lovely old building that is thankfully getting some money spent on it, and we are always trying to do something every year to finish was started off as a massive "to do" list. Thanks again, and we look forward to you stopping by another time. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It was a busy long weekend. Big thumbs up to our waiter who was the owners son, great service and we told him so. Food was average really and pricey for what it was with a surcharge. Happy to pay to be part of the history and our experience. Worth a stopover for a drink and touch of the local hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed Jordan's service and personality - he really is a natural in his role and prides himself on his service. I am disappointed however that you found our food to be average, as we try to be a bit above that and obviously didn't meet your expectations on this occasion, and for that I am truly sorry. The surcharge... Yes, it is a tricky one. It would almost be cheaper for us to close the Restaurant and Bar on Stat days, however we feel we have an obligation to visitors in the area to provide meals for them. I am pleased that you enjoyed the ambience of our lovely old building and the hospitality we pride ourselves on. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are down this way. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed nearby at the Station Hotel but ate at the Commercial. The atmosphere was warm (log burner) and very welcoming. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The meal was delicious (steak and blue cod) and definitely recommend the sticky date pudding!
Would definitely recommend this as a place to eat and drink in Omakau.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us - we do try hard and lovely comments like yours make our efforts all the more worthwhile! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Central, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in our neck of the woods. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A lovely, quiet old style hotel in Omakau, NZ. Lovely old rooms, en suites, and very friendly, accommodating staff. Great hot showers, protected bike storage, and internet available. We ate dinner here, and it was delicious!

Room Tip: Take room 10 if it's available. It's largest, and looks out on town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can see what our vision has been for this lovely old building - it has been a work in progress, but we are finally getting closer to the end of the "to do" list after 7 years. Thanks again, and I trust that you enjoyed the rest of your journey along the Trail. We look forward to seeing you again should you be passing by. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stumbled across this hotel at 9pm after a long drive. This hotel turned out to be a 'real find’! We walked into a bar full of guys watching the rugby and the owner was very welcoming – showing us to our room and explaining where everything was. Unluckily for us the dining room was closed, so we dropped our bags in our room and headed back to the bar to relieve some of the stress of the past few hours of driving and searching for a place to stay.

The old hotel was very quiet during the night and we had a great sleep. One of the best of our travels! Breakfast the next morning was of cereal, toast, juice, coffee etc. Just what we were after to start the day. (I think you could also order a cooked brekkie).

The owners are currently renovating the hotel to it's original state and it's looking very good.
I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can also see the vision we have for this lovely old building - the "to do" list is slowly getting smaller! Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you when you are in our neck of the woods again. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
19.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
4.1 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
15.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omakau Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omakau Commercial Hotel

Property: Omakau Commercial Hotel
Address: 1 Harvey Street, Omakau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omakau's first homestead then accommodation house for weary travellers. It is now an ideal stop for the new type of traveller that passes through Omakau –Rail Trailers, Curling and Fishing Enthusiasts, and visitors to the Central Otago area who can explore the area using the hotel as their base.The Hotel is available for any of your dining requirements, whether it is Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or that special function - 364 days a year. Our Chefs pride themselves on their flavour and presentation – we invite you to look at our Dining page for some mouth watering temptations. We have a wonderful selection of Central Otago wines and Ales available from our bar to quench your thirst, and/or to compliment your meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing