We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omakau Commercial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omakau
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Last year a group us stayed for 1 night when we biked the rail trail.We enjoyed it so much we returned a few months later for 2 nights and went curling at Naseby. Last weekend some of that group plus a few "newbies" stayed for 2 nights and went curling again. Everybody was so impressed it was agreed to make this an annual outing. Stacey, Mike, Matt and Jordan greeted us like long lost friends and treated us very well. The decor is lovely and in keeping with the age of the hotel, the meals are superb,the wine list features Central Otago wines and the lovely fireplace just adds to the ambience. Well done team, see you next year if not sooner.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We loved having your group stay with us and liven the place up a bit!! We look forward to seeing you all again next year - until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in a twin room with my brother. We arrived in the late afternoon after just getting absolutely saturated on the bike ride from Clyde. Ran into the pub to find a roaring fire and super friendly staff which was bliss. They quickly took us to our room which are all on the second floor. The furniture is all pretty old stuff, in keeping with the hotel. It's nothing flash at all but certainly not bad. There were old mirrors and hairbrushes etc on the bedside table along with a booklet describing the history of the hotel, town and surrounding area. Was a great wee read!

We went down to the pub for dinner. It's definitely the local pub and there's plenty of the locals there any night for a few cold ones. Everyone seemed to know everyone which was cute. Had the nachos which were huge! Both meals were actually really big. Breakfast the next morning was pretty standard, cereal and milk. Out back of the pub they have the old stone sheds that were in the Speights TV ads.

All in all, the hotel is standard but ties in a lot of the history which was great. The pub was roomy, busy and had a roaring fireplace. Best of all, the staff were excellent. Matt needs to be singled out especially for superior service. Not sure of the other fella's name but he is a total babe which is good too ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there! Just a quick line to say thanks very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and can see what we have tried to create here at the hotel, which is also the "local pub". We have been working our way through refurbishments slowly, and year by year, the "to do" list is getting smaller. (When we took it over, everything inside was pink.....!!) Once again, thank you very much, and we look forward to meeting you again when you are in our area again. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

......because the servings are HUGE. We ate there on our Rail trail cycle trip.... all of us had selections from the 'Light Meal' menu ... and we were all full, and they were excellent. We saw the size of the main meals and wondered how anyone could get through them.
Add to that great beer and a good wine selection and it makes for a great evening.
Tip.... when you order you're first beer, book your table for the evening meal as it is about the only place in town to eat and can be crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and particulary enjoyed your meals as well. We are lucky with our quality Chefs (one is hubby so don't say I said that!) and do try to provide good hearty portions as appetites vary - we think there is nothing worse dining somewhere and still being hungry afterwards! Thanks again, and I look forward to meeting you again when you are in the Omakau vicinity. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

As it was duck hunting season, the pub was full of locals and we had a ball.

For dinner we had pork cutlets and they were HUGE. Which was good as we were hungry from the rail trail.

Atmosphere was great. We found out that good sheep sheerers sheer up to 700 in a day but then need a few days off and a few bottles of tui... the facts were endless.


Highly recommend. Also there is good wifi out the front for 5 bucks.... the range allpws it to work in the pub. Bargain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves a good fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. You certainly came to stay on a very traditional "local" weekend - Duckshooting is an institution in itself down here! I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and talking to our great locals. We look forward to meeting you again next time you are in Omakau. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights on a family holiday thru central otago. 2 things made our stay unforgettable :) 1 The host were the most welcoming and helpful people all holiday, we were unfortunately running late but nothing was a problem. 2 The food is something I would have expected at a 5 star hotel, absolutely superb! An awesome hotel smack in the middle of nowhere, we will spread the word and be back, thanks for making our trip away so special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback - it makes our hard efforts all the more worthwhile! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in our neck of the woods. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
467 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Unexpectedly good food, with extensive menu and top service from friendly and helpful staff. Be warned though, not only quality but quantity - these are servings for the seriously hungry, as most are of course from cycling etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi there. I just wanted to drop a quick line to say thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This friendly pub was our first night on the Rail Trail and what a corker! The staff were friendly and helpful, the accommodation excellent (except for the last two couples in our group who had the outside cabins down the back next to noisy caravanners - but we were a group of 14) and the food was excellent. Loved the decor and the collections of everything from whiskey jugs, salt and pepper shakers, old suitcases...... Will recommend.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have ensuite, but are priced accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauCommercial, Owner at Omakau Commercial Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate that your group enjoyed their time with us. I had "growly" words with the person that stayed in their caravan the next morning. He apologised and said he had fallen asleep with is surround sound on, so I am sorry about that. I look forward to seeing you again when you are in Omakau again. Until then, take care. Kindest Regards, Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
19.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
4.1 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
15.3 mi away
Antique Lodge Motel
Antique Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Clyde
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omakau Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omakau Commercial Hotel

Property: Omakau Commercial Hotel
Address: 1 Harvey Street, Omakau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Omakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omakau's first homestead then accommodation house for weary travellers. It is now an ideal stop for the new type of traveller that passes through Omakau –Rail Trailers, Curling and Fishing Enthusiasts, and visitors to the Central Otago area who can explore the area using the hotel as their base.The Hotel is available for any of your dining requirements, whether it is Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner or that special function - 364 days a year. Our Chefs pride themselves on their flavour and presentation – we invite you to look at our Dining page for some mouth watering temptations. We have a wonderful selection of Central Otago wines and Ales available from our bar to quench your thirst, and/or to compliment your meal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing