We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahhh This Was Nice”
Review of Tiger Hill Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tiger Hill Lodge
Sunshine Coast BC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Ahhh This Was Nice”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was the first night accommodation for us on our trip along the Central Otago Rail Trail.

It was beautiful to cycle in and find this lodge that was so peaceful and quiet and full of light. The kitchen is gorgeous and has all you need to prepare a lovely breakfast before you begin the next day. There are also drinks in the fridge (paid on the honor system) should you wish a cool beverage when you arrive. Tea and coffee of course area always available.

Gwenyth is delightful and makes you feel so at home.

There is a place to store your bikes overnight so if it does rain you can start out with a dry bike.

We went into the Omakau Commerical Hotel for dinner, walking there from the Lodge, and had a great meal there too. It is good to book this meal a number of weeks before you leave on your adventure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Gwenyth literally is the trail blazer! This lodge had enormous appeal after the first day of cycling the rail trail...it is viewed as you recover from the steepest uphill climb of the trail like a mirage oasis in a desert. It is purpose built for either a large group or for individual couples to share with well separated spaces, such as the large lounge, a smaller lounge/TV area and peaceful en suited double bedrooms.
Gwenyth has thought of everything, from dry storage space for the bikes, to the spa pool and massage chair - necessary for the shocked muscles of the less fit after 40 KMs on a bike. Wine and beer in the fridge and lovely home made cookies welcome you.i would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our accomodation for the first night of our cycle trail and it set the precendent for the rest of our journey, some were close but none were as good as Tiger Hill Lodge. Lovely clean rooms with ensuites and a nice comfy bed after a long ride. Not only was there a lovely selection of goodies to have for breakfast with home preserved apricots but also freshly home baked cookies to greet you. As a bonus there was fresh snow on the mountains around us and I managed to get some lovely photos of the surrounding sceneary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A group of us stayed at the lodge while cycling the rail trail.What a great setup,four kingsize ensuite bedrooms ,two lounges with comfy chairs,even a massaging chair for those weary muscles.
The showers had good pressure and plenty of hot water ,even with them all going at once.Our host Gwynn left tasty muesli and home made apricot preserves for breakfast.....yummy !!
While we had all gone to the pub,Gwynn thought it might rain ,so she got the washing in and left it folded up ,a nice touch.
The fridge was filled with wines and beers ,and an honesty box ! Can you believe that in today's age ??
Sadly we only spent one night here,but would like to return at some stage.
The lodge is also right across the road from the golf course,making it an ideal base for a golfing holiday around some of the central Otago courses.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whakatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omakau, Public Relations Manager at Tiger Hill Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks Whakatony

We are always here to go that little extra for our guests. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruakaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at Lodge in the first week of May. We came off the Rail trail at Omakau and there it was!! in the middle of a large lawn bathed in sunshine. Our names were on the door with the instruction that our room was open. We walked in to this amazing house and found our room with ensuite then wandered out to a large lounge area with modern kitchen.... there was another lounge with fire place set ready to light. Large panoramic windows over looked the beautiful views, perk coffee, cookies, breakfast provisions and an honesty system for the cold beer and wine sitting in the fridge - true bliss, particularly as we had the place to ourselves!! We didn't even use the spa, unbelievably!!, the sun was too enticing. Gwyn popped over to light the diesel fire as it chilled off and welcomed us. We walked down to the pub for dinner. A memorable stay for our 1st night on the trail.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was my first stop when recently riding the Otago Trail. It is right on the track so the location is great, and easy walking distace to Omakau if going to the pub for dinner is your thing (it was for me). The owner Gwynneth met me at the Otago track exit, showed me all around the property and made it very easy to stay. The accomodation itself is spotless and has lots of space. Simple continental breakfast was alo included in the price. Nice place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

As you cycle off the top of Tiger Hill the Welcome mat is out at Tiger Hill Lodge. Fires were
burning and the rooms cosy & spacious with gorgeous views out over the range. It has large open plan living with 5 individual double rooms to relax in after a good 4 hours biking
into a chilly head wind . You can self cater in the lovely new kitchen or dine in Omakau only
5 minutes by road. The perfect stop over from Clyde. Great for a group of 8 as we were.
Continental Breakfast supplied.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hatherly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
1.0 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hill Lodge

Property: Tiger Hill Lodge
Address: On the Rail Trail | 20 Alton St., Omakau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Omakau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiger Hill LodgeGreater level comfort right on the trail. Great for for a weekend or those looking for something a little nicer on the trail.Tiger Hill WilsonsGreat for families and groups in a classic retro style house, straight out of the 70sTiger Hill Kilarney cottage. Rustic and beautiful wee cottage to compliment Tiger Hill. Very quaint! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing