We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omakau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omakau Accommodation
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed one night mid march as a part of the central Otago Rail Trail. We stayed in the rear self contained cottage. It was beautifully furnished and well fitted out including full cooking facilities. Our welcome from the owner was warm and helpful. We bought food from the corner shop and cooked our own dinner. Had a great stay, quiet and warm. Cover your bike seat with the covers provided, as the overnight dew is heavy and if it freezes as it did for us, its not pleasant thing riding on a wet frozen bike seat next morning!
Definitely bike round to Ophir... well worth a visit ...a well preserved small gold mining town complete with jail.

Room Tip: There is a range of rooms and prices. All will be quiet. The rear cottage is certainly very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauAccom, Owner at Omakau Accommodation, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
So happy to read you enjoyed my Cottage and made full use of the facilities. The bike seat covers you refer to are now plastic bags which the guests can take with them for the rest of their Rail Trail journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We enjoyed a double room during a rail trail stay. The unit was newish, well furnished, clean and just what one would expect and wish for.

The owner kindly gave us lifts to collect bikes and was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauAccom, Owner at Omakau Accommodation, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your reply, so pleased the room was everything you expected and wished it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our family cycled the Otago Rail Trail recently which included a night at Omakau Accommodation. It is a fairly new complex with 5 x 1 or 2 bedroom units and a 3 bedroom cottage. Being a family of 5 we stayed in the cottage which was very comfortable, with heating, a dishwasher, bike racks (even hats to keep the seats dry!) and a yard with a view of the distant hills. It was very peaceful. Breakfast is included and there is also a laundry for use. Mandy, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. She recommended the local pub for dinner, the Commercial, which was also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmakauAccom, Owner at Omakau Accommodation, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, good to hear you had a very comfortable stay in my 3 bedroom cottage, even though the cottage has full cooking facilities, great to hear you had an excellent meal at the Commercial Hotel, I'm lucky to have such a good dining option only 2 doors down from me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omakau
1.1 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pitches Store
Pitches Store
#1 of 2 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
15.3 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Muddy Creek Cutting Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Omakau Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omakau Accommodation

Property: Omakau Accommodation
Address: 5 Harvey St, Omakau 9352, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Omakau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Omakau
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omakau Accommodation is nestled in a lovely, peaceful location in the heart of the small village of Omakau, in the Central Otago region of New Zealand. We offer 5 up-market ensuite studio units each with private courtyard, and a well appointed cottage with landscaped garden. We are just 100 metres from the famous Otago Central Rail Trail. All accommodation includes free Wi-Fi and a complimentary continental breakfast. Pick ups and drop offs are available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing