We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australian Couple in UK”
Review of Down Ende

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Down Ende
Ranked #1 of 2 Widegates B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a wonderful find!! Travelling the length and breathe of GB we happened upon Down Ende Farm we were warmly welcomed by hosts Teresa & Andy.A very comfortable clean room with a very comfortable bed & bathroom roomy with great views from upper storey room. Breakfast was sensational (cooked by Chef Teresa) no problems with requests. Afternoon tea in their lounge with Andy's Victoria sponge/cream/jam and macaroons! Every assistance given with places to see and eat,although Teresa very willing to cook an evening meal on request.Teresa & Andy were sensational hosts and have renovated rooms with the "Laura Ashley" look. We have no hesitation in recommending this superb B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Down Ende
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

What a pleasant greeting we received on arrival at Down Ende Farm!! Our fabulous hosts Teresa & Andy showed us to our room with lovely views of farm fields and their beautiful garden. We stayed 2 nights and had a extremely comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. We were invited to have coffee,tea or a glass of wine in the downstairs bar/loungeroom. We settled on coffee and freshly made Victoria sponge loaded with cream and jam..(also some home made macaroons) from Andy's fine hand. Breakfast was sensational cooked by chef Teresa, a full Cornish and Smoked salmon scrambled eggs! These people are fantastic hosts and nothing was a problem. Rooms very comfortable and decorated with Laura Ashley printed papers. We thoroughly recomend this friendly and stylish B&B to all. (Try food, from these 2 talented chefs if want a dinner sitting, but on request) Great stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us- we enjoyed your company too! Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were booked into a different B&B nearby but when we arrived there was no-one home! After another fruitless visit to it, a delightful girl at the local pub rang around and, at 8.30 p.m., found us a bed at Down Ende House. Well - were we pleased she did! Despite having their 'emergency' room, we were made really welcome and had a lovely evening in the bar, chatting to the owners and other guests, before a good night's sleep and delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed two nights in May 2012. Support all the positive reviews, of premises and hosts. One minor point for tall people (like us) is that our room (in fact we suspect most rooms) was in the roof of the house, and had sloping ceilings. Hence the effective size of the room (and especially the bathroom) was very small. However all very comfortable. Superb breakfast in scenic conservatory.

Room Tip: Check the height of ceilings in your roomif you are tall!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournetraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Manager at Down Ende, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for posting a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - only some of our rooms have the sloping roofs but good point that we shall take on board - hope you had a good rest of holiday and a safe trip back to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this great B & B !!
If your looking for a very good B & B nr Looe give this place a try !!!
Teresa & Andy many thanks for a great weekend, the Breakfast was great and Dinner on Friday night was super !!
We will be back !!
Steve & Liz Greve

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevegreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - hope you have a great "birthday summer"! and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's difficult to find something original to write about Down Ende House and Teresa and Andy, all the very true and nice things have been written!!
In January we booked a holiday there with our daughter and husband so of course the weather was a gamble! How lucky we were as our week in May was superb!! Not far from Looe and Polperro it's also ideally situated for a visit to the Eden Project.There was nothing to have even the smallest complaint about and as has already been written...... the breakfasts were superb!!
Teresa and Andy are probably the most charming and helpful hosts that we have ever met and they even insisted on filling our flask for the return journey! (Very gratefully consumed on Plymouth Hoe!!)
We all hope to return there in the future and will certainly recommend this lovely B&B to all our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us . Really glad you all had such a good few days - lets hope the weather comes back as well as yourselves !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

As a rule we don't stay in B&B's. We like the anonymity of hotels, being an insular middle aged married couple. But this Place was excellent. The owner was friendly without being intrusive, the place was big enough to be a small hotel, rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely. Location is beautiful and very close to looe. It offers value for money, and we were only going to stay one night but stayed two in the end and we will definitely return again.
We recommend this B&B strongly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Commodus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaJG01, Owner at Down Ende, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for writing a review - we were only to pleased to help with your lovely niece and my daughter will be writng to her via your address - we hope to see you again sometime, book with us direct on your return as we offer a returning guest rate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widegates
1.1 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
259 reviews
5.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
873 reviews
4.0 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
2.5 mi away
The Smugglers Inn
The Smugglers Inn
#1 of 1 in Seaton
145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down Ende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Ende

Address: Widegates | Looe, Widegates PL13 1QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Widegates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Widegates
Price Range: $104 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down Ende 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential,Family run, B&B Peaceful and relaxing set in the Cornish countryside near Looe. We offer you a warm and friendly welcome to our home, fresh modern en-suite bed rooms good old fashioned hospitality, . We use only local & home-grown produce and fair trade products and offer great value for money. Within easy reach of Cornwall's south east coast,poldark country!,Dartmoor and the Eden project, makes us a great base for touring Cornwall. Approximately 30-40 minutes drive from Eden, Heligan and Padstow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Down Ende reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing