We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Paggeria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florence La Paggeria B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Montorsoli B&B and Inns
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay here on part of our honeymoon after coming across it online. It was a mostly positive experience, so I don't want to and can't say anything really negative about it, per se. My best advice would be to do yourself a favor and read the positive reviews AND the not-so-positive reviews to get a true idea of what it's all about. While I agreed with what most of the positive reviews had to say about the views and grounds, etc. I also found spot-on much of what the negative reviewers wrote as well. We stayed in the Chalet and the views were, in fact, amazing. If quiet (and I mean QUIET) is what you're looking for, it's perfect. The grounds and the buildings themselves are wonderful. As far as what the 'not-so-positive' reviewers had to say... It's true that the B+B is close to a 30min bus ride away from anything. One reviewer correctly noted that you have to walk up a steep hill on a narrow path to catch the bus. Buying tickets and riding the bus can also be another adventure. The ticket system is very confusing and on one occasion, my wife and I were stopped by an "inspector" and ordered to pay a $50 Euro "fine" -on the spot- because our tickets were not correct. Be VERY careful of the bus/ticket system, it's confusing and not many people seem willing to help. Another thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was the "bill" we were handed the morning we left. As multiple other reviewers on here had stated, you are charged extremely high prices for meals and other services. For example, my wife and I were billed about $80 (US Dollars) for a "lunch" we ate on the first day. We also paid well over $100 for a wine tasting tour that was arranged. Again, it was not like were billed for anything we didn't receive, but in hindsight, I felt like we could have paid half of what we paid if we would have just handled these things ourselves. The B+B itself was beautiful and our hosts seemed like kind people but some of the things I've mentioned prevent me from giving it a higher rating. Hope this helps..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

After having seen the sights in Rome and Venice, arrriving at La Paggeria was a fresh change of pace. We were immediately impressed by the views of Florence. Antonella and Paolo were gracious hosts and the meal we prepared together was a great experience and memory we have brought back to the States to share with friends and family. Breakfasts were different on each of our 4 days at the B&B and we had plenty each day. The bus ride is about 30 minutes, however these experiences were some of the closest to authentic Italian we experienced.
We stayed in the chalet and the privacy and "country" atmosphere were excellent. Our 18 month old son enjoyed the open space, and we were relieved to have a safe haven for him to roam.
Would stay again on our return to Florence!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaandBrianBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Paolo and Antonella are the great hosts of a charming B&B in the hills above Florence. Paolo's dinner menu is excellent and should be tried at least once. The breakfast is also very good. They are extremely helpful and friendly. The accommodation is spacious, especially the stand-alone Superior Double Room, and there are fantastic views over the valley towards Fiesole. It is quiet and relaxed, but only a short bus ride away from Florence.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This couple charge as they please on the credit card without authority. We had a great time in Italy until this 3 night stay. They insist on cash for everything and then charge your credit card without authority. If you have a meal with them be prepared that you are subsidising their meals as well judging by the price at checkout. The rules change as you go along, to what suits them. Very disappointing. They use lack of English as to why some things happen!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirenzeAntonella, Proprietario at Florence La Paggeria B&B, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
To the reviewer: we truly regret you have used TripAdvisor's reviews to vent your disappointment rather than continue communicating through email as we have been doing since your stay in July.

In order for the general public to better understand the review posted above, we will share the events related to the reviewer's stay at La Paggeria.

In the 3 days this person was our guest at our B&B, which is also our home, he caused such kitchen in the suite chalet that repair costs were over 900 euro.
He took responsibility for the damage and said that he would pay for it through insurance he had back home. He said as soon as he returned home, he would file a claim to have the repairs covered.
He left his credit card number with us and his consent to use it if his insurance would not cover the damage.

Since August 10, the guest stopped replying to our emails asking for updates on the claim. We had kept him up to date on the cost of the repairs and were waiting to hear from him. Since it was our understanding that if delays occurred, we had his authorization to charge his card we did so a few days ago. So we don't understand his negative review above, in particular since he failed to mention his own responsibility in the damage to our suite chalet. We should mention we had had to go ahead and pay for the urgent repairs needed as the suite and its kitchen was needed for other guests.

We hope the rest of our other positive reviews on TripAdvisor will speak for themselves so that others will see that the "warning" issued and comments made by the reviewer are not true.

We look forward to welcoming anyone seeking a special place to stay in the hills outside of Florence as they vacation in Tuscany!

- Paolo and Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

la paggeria is simply what it is meant to be:
it's a quiet and peaceful bed & breakfast with charming views in the hills over florence,
owned and managed very cleanly and aesthetically by antonella & paolo.

we stayed in the little romantic chalet cottage with two beautifully unique bathrooms, a small kitchen,
a relaxed living room and a queen size bed in the bedroom - both rooms with sliding doors
going out to a private patio surrounded by trees overlooking the hills of florence and fiesole.

if you are looking for privacy and a place to relax with yourself or with someone special,
it's the perfect place to retreat.

if you need to/are looking to be entertained by others, or are traveling without the mobility of a car
then you should choose a more crowded, commercial or central hotel in florence.

we add lots of hugs to Krug

Rupen and Natalia

Room Tip: garden room with a private entrance is super cute :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

When we were planning our trip to Italy, one goal was to get a taste of living in villa in Tuscany with great food and wine. As we were not renting a car, our options were limited but lucked out in finding this great place only a 20 min busride from Florence. The place is as beautiful as in the pictures, the swimming pool was a big plus for the kids as the days were quite hot. The host Paolo cooks dinner on request, make sure you eat dinner with them at least once.We had two awesome multicourse dinners under the Tuscan sun with, and breakfasts on a Terrace. Our hosts Paolo and Antoniella were most gracious and helpful, made museum recommendations. It was really like being house guests at a wonderful villa .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montorsoli
5.6 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
3,130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
3.0 mi away
Pensione Bencista
Pensione Bencista
#2 of 11 in Fiesole
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Demidoff Country Resort
Demidoff Country Resort
#1 of 1 in Pratolino
432 reviews
2.8 mi away
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
FH Villa Fiesole Hotel
#3 of 11 in Fiesole
479 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eden Rock Resort
Eden Rock Resort
#37 of 675 in Florence
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florence La Paggeria B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florence La Paggeria B&B

Property: Florence La Paggeria B&B
Address: Via di Basciano 130, 50030 Montorsoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montorsoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montorsoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paggeria Bed and Breakfast is a stone villa in the Florence hill, offering stylish and comfortable rooms and suites, swimming pool and Jacuzzi with panoramic view of Florence and Fiesole. La Paggeria is located 9km from the center of Florence, 20 min by bus or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Florence La Paggeria B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence La Paggeria B&B Tuscany/Province Of Florence, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing